No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths Court

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
21-27 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL
Smiths Court – set on the clifftop to the east of Margate – is privately owned and family run and, is Margate's only three star premier hotel.
This ‘elegant Victorian’ has all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning traveller, but retains a quintessentially English charm. Offering a quiet attentive service to business and leisure guests, It’s an ideal retreat after a long day exploring Kent’s history, our amazing blue flag beaches, or indeed after a busy day at the office!

43 standard and executive rooms many with sea views or balconies some enjoying superb sea views and spectacular ‘Turner’ sunsets. All rooms are en suite with direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities and hospitality tray. In-room safes have recently been added to all rooms.

Disabled facilities include a fully equipped suite and lift access to most rooms.
Grounds include a sheltered sun patio and private car parking.

The Orangery restaurant, open daily for lunch and dinner, menus are entirely rewritten for each season – with minor tweaks in between to take account of good or poor growing conditions at our major vegetable suppliers, Nash Farm.
Most of our meat is from Monks Hill farm, and our fish from the Margate boat or Romney Marsh fisheries.
Our bread is baked by Giovanni, and our eggs laid by chickens too numerous to name, living at Woodlands Farm!
Fruit now comes from Sunshine growers in Stodmarsh, from which we make our own Jams and preserves – and almost everything else!
Picture of Smiths Court, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms were large and airy

Reviewed by
Ann F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a wedding taking place when we stayed, consequently the hotel was very busy with the potential for a small family group to get ignored. Fortunately the staff were excellent and did everything to ensure our stay was a good one.

Reviewed by
Eddie West-Burnham

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good VfM
A one night stay - had booked a single en-suite room, on arrival I was upgraded to a double room overlooking the green and the sea at the front of the hotel.
Nice comfy bed, plenty of hot water nice fresh cooked breakfast (plus coffee & toast).
Excellent VfM for just £40....

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Margate
The staff are friendly and efficient - service with a smile. The public areas are clean & tidy and decorated to a good standard. The corridors were in need of some decoration. Our room (22) was very clean. The bathroom, in our case, a shower room was an odd shape. The door had to be fully opened to get in and you had to be right in to get the door closed, although there was sufficient room inside once the door was closed. There was a party at the hotel during our stay, but this did not affect our enjoyment. The breakfast was superb. All local produce (from within Kent) including bread from the local bakery "Crusty Knob".

Reviewed by
S Eriksson

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient hotel, very helpful staff

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ticks all the boxes for a cheap hotel
Very friendly and welcoming staff.Very helpful - happy to get me more tea bags late at night. Breakfast waiter gave me useful tips about where to go in the Old Town (Greedy Cow was very nice!). Some of the carpets are a bit musty and the bath room could do with a refurb. Hand written and photocopied note about the shower panel not very convincing. Get it fixed! However, the bed was comfy, sheets were clean and the bathroom was very clean so full marks for that. Breakfast cooked to order and fresh. Coffee good.

Reviewed by
Christina H

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girly weekend in Margate
We had an executive room which had the promised lovely sea view but the decor was dated and a bit worn. There wasn't enough lighting. Dirty glasses were taken away but not replaced. However, the reception staff was great and gave the hotel a bit of character. At breakfast we had to ask for jam but the quality of the cooked breakfast was good. There was a poor choice of fruit at the buffet.

Reviewed by
L Bell

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy time
Very comfortable hotel, and very friendly. I was away from home alone on business for 3 nights but felt very at home and happy here. Its not the Ritz but very good value and a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Jane C

From Aldbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable
We found the hotel comfortable, but we were rather perturbed when we checked out the hotels rating for food hygiene to find they had a rating of 0, which was given after an inspection in August 2013, therefore despite being comfortable I would not stay here again or recommend it until the hygiene rating is greatly improved!

Reviewed by
N Defries

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok hotel in ok location
We booked a last minute stay at this hotel at a fairly decent price over the bank holiday weekend. Having never been to margate before we didn't know what to expect. The town was pretty but rough in certain areas and the hotel bordered one of these areas. Someone previously commented that it takes 30 mins to get to the centre and I didn't believe them...unfortunately they were right!
The room itself was fine although a little overpriced, but I guess that's to be expected during bank hol. The lobby area was underwhelming and in need of a refresh.
The most disappointing bit of the stay was arriving at 5.30pm to find the room wasn't ready with the excuse that there'd been a wedding the night before. Apparently there was only one cleaner doing all 40 rooms, but that was hardly the point. We waited for 30 mins and in the end I asked for a complimentary drink - but that should have come from them. They just seemed a little disorgnised if I'm being honest. It was a little like that at breakfast too - not enough people serving and a long wait. The breakfast was nice.
In summary I'd only stay here again if there was no other option.

Reviewed by
N Paul

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next