No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths Court

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
21-27 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL
Smiths Court – set on the clifftop to the east of Margate – is privately owned and family run and, is Margate's only three star premier hotel.
This ‘elegant Victorian’ has all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning traveller, but retains a quintessentially English charm. Offering a quiet attentive service to business and leisure guests, It’s an ideal retreat after a long day exploring Kent’s history, our amazing blue flag beaches, or indeed after a busy day at the office!

43 standard and executive rooms many with sea views or balconies some enjoying superb sea views and spectacular ‘Turner’ sunsets. All rooms are en suite with direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities and hospitality tray. In-room safes have recently been added to all rooms.

Disabled facilities include a fully equipped suite and lift access to most rooms.
Grounds include a sheltered sun patio and private car parking.

The Orangery restaurant, open daily for lunch and dinner, menus are entirely rewritten for each season – with minor tweaks in between to take account of good or poor growing conditions at our major vegetable suppliers, Nash Farm.
Most of our meat is from Monks Hill farm, and our fish from the Margate boat or Romney Marsh fisheries.
Our bread is baked by Giovanni, and our eggs laid by chickens too numerous to name, living at Woodlands Farm!
Fruit now comes from Sunshine growers in Stodmarsh, from which we make our own Jams and preserves – and almost everything else!
Picture of Smiths Court, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location with sea views - shame about the very small single room
Booked two nights over bank holiday weekend. My single room was quite cramped but staff were very helpful and offered me a double room for my second night, at no extra cost, which was much more comfortable, very high ceiling and spacious. Both rooms appeared clean apart from a large coffee stain on the tablecloth on tea/coffee tray. Breakfasts and service was good, although table cloths were stained with coffee or tea. Unfortunately I had not been told that the restaurant was closed on Saturday evening due to a wedding so was unable to dine there - nor was I aware that the restaurant is not open on sunday evenings.

Reviewed by
H McKenzie

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect venue
could have not had better perfect location fendley staff and great service

Reviewed by
malcolm clarke

From newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs a big refresh. There are no personal touches at all.
Bed was clean and comfortable. No personal touches at all. Doors and hallways are scruffy. Rooms are basic with no personal touches. Electric sockeets in short demand. Free wifi a small bonus. Breakfast, I ordered scrambled egg on toast. It was not microwaved. Still not that good.

Reviewed by
Angela B

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome with sea views
We had a pleasant room, with a sea view. All the staff were friendly and professional and we left feeling we had been looked after exceptionally well.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stopover
The room was clean and comfortable and quite adequate for me; and the staff were very friendly and helpful dispite being busy with a wedding..
The bed was comfortable, and I am quite spoilt by having a good bed at home.
My room was not huge but sufficient for one night. There was no wardrobe in the room.
The shower did not seem to work and I thought the tea/coffee making facilities could have been better...just a tiny shelf
I was upgraded to a seaview room at no extra charge because there was going to be a wedding disco at the other side of the hotel that night.
I did not have the breakfast which was included as I had other plans.
Overall I was happy with the accomodation and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing room
Small room, dressing table with mirrors covering the sea view, poor bathing facilities (bath has hole in panel, shower very poor, shower screen broken so fixed shut). Also very shocked to find the duvet was wet and probably hadn't been aired properly since being washed. Very poor standard in all.

Reviewed by
Diana H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super people
lovely staff, food good, but appearance of rooms/doors a bit shabby or in need of a facelift. I travelled with my sister who has mobility problems and the hotel was a bit too far from local attractions for us.

Reviewed by
Elaine P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms were large and airy

Reviewed by
Ann F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a wedding taking place when we stayed, consequently the hotel was very busy with the potential for a small family group to get ignored. Fortunately the staff were excellent and did everything to ensure our stay was a good one.

Reviewed by
Eddie West-Burnham

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good VfM
A one night stay - had booked a single en-suite room, on arrival I was upgraded to a double room overlooking the green and the sea at the front of the hotel.
Nice comfy bed, plenty of hot water nice fresh cooked breakfast (plus coffee & toast).
Excellent VfM for just £40....

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next