Reviews - Smiths Court

3

21-27 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL

Price From 81.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • peter woodman

  • February 2016

staff

staff made the hotel , help overlook any small issues

  • N Evans

  • January 2016

Smiths Court

Very good hotel excellent staff nice clean rooms good food sea view in most rooms plenty of parking short walk to shops 👍

  • M S

  • December 2015

Excellent breakfast, low price, in need of a little update

My room was a bit dated, but was clean and comfortable and, at £40 special rate including breakfast, very good value.

Breakfast was excellent and the service great.

  • mark h

  • November 2015

Smiths Court

Hotel was clean and staff very helpful and friendly.

Enjoyed stay and would stay there again. Breakfast was great, cooked to order.

  • Sarah Moore

  • October 2015

Excellent

Staff, facilities and location all great value and made for a great last minute trip.

Free upgrade was a nice bonus from hotel. Will be coming again

  • Z Brockbank

  • October 2015

Worth the money!

Well firstly we had a free upgrade to a sea view room due to a party and the staff did not want our stay to be interrupted by this.

The room itself is standard I mean £65 you can't expect the ritz. We had an iron, hairdryer, tea and coffee supplies and a telephone and a TV nothing wrong with the room bit dusty but apart from that no complaints. The breakfast was very nice fresh fruit and cereal followed by a full fry up only problem for me is I had to ask for ketchup and brown sauce but the staff did bring me some out. If you are looking for a quiet weekend away by the sea this is the place to go. Will be staying here again.

  • J Wise

  • September 2015

Lovely Hotel

Lovely Hotel, very nice stay

  • GILLIAN STEWART

  • September 2015

Smiths Court

Room was a bit dated but all in all it was adequate to my needs.

  • V Baxter

  • August 2015

accommodation

The staff very extremely helpful and friendly.

But we were kept awake till 12.00 by the loud music from the wedding reception. After the music stopped there was a lot of noise from furniture being moved. We were all kept awake till gone 12.00 midnight. Also the door to the children's bedroom was so stiff my son (6) could not open it. There was also a very strong smell in the room which smelt like off milk. We had to open the windows in the morning as it was overpowering. Breakfast was good in the morning again very friendly staff. We did have a nice time overall.

  • Susan W

  • July 2015

Overpriced

We paid £95 for a superior double room and were upgraded to an Executive double.

Room 5B which has a sea view at the front on the top floor of the hotel. The bed was a lovely four poster and the linen was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Towels were very clean. Large TV on the wall at the foot of the bed. The decor in the room was very dark and in one area it was obvious that there had been a damp issue at some stage as the wallpaper was coming away and the area was stained. There was a kitchen off the room which was clean. The first thing we noticed as soon as you opened the door in the bathroom was the cracked bath panel and the silicone around the bath was very black and needed replacing. The lift is very old and a bit creaky - the doors had to be manually opened as they didn't open all the way.

Breakfast is eaten in the Orangery which is lovely and bright. Table cloths were spotless and tables well laid out. This is the only area we could see in the hotel that was recently decorated. Breakfast itself was a full English and was filling and well cooked. We also had toast with jam/marmalade and could have had a selection of fruits and cereals if we wanted.

I feel that the general decor of the room and the hotel in general let it down as all the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. I would say that we would have been happy if we had paid half of what we had paid for our room.