No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highcroft Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
65 Barras Lane, Coundon, , Coventry, CV1 4AQ
At Highcroft Guesthouse make yourself at home; the guesthouse offers an inviting modern yet homely family feeling to it. We offer a friendly helpful service at budget prices which are unparrarell in Coventry offered by other guesthouses and hotels. The guesthouse is perfectly located for business or leisure, situated on main Coventry to Birmingham road. Guesthouse offers the finest menu for breakfast ranging from world renowned full English to continental and health options. The guesthouse is perfect place to unwind for a weekend away for just to get away from everyday life. The guesthouse rooms are fully furnished to hotel standards we boast a 3 Star rating from Heart of England Tourist Board. Rooms have en-suite facilities as well as tea and coffee making facilities, remote control TV with sky. Our rooms and premises are non smoking promoting a healthy environment. All the rooms benefit from double glazing and out car parking is free and secure Highcroft guesthouse is friendly helpful at budget prices in comparison to leading hotels. Most of all our rooms offer high speed wireless internet making your experience more enjoyable. Being situated right near next to historically famous Coventry cathedral and the historic city. The Coventry city centre and is right next to your doorstep or you could soak up all the night life the sky dome complex has to offer. Coventry's famous landmarks and attractions are just a short walk from the Guest House's front steps. From here you can also travel swiftly into the heart of Birmingham. The tourist attractions of Warwick and Stratford are nearby, such as Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and Cadbury's World. The National Exhibition Centre is only 13 minutes drive away, making the hotel an ideal base for either business or pleasure. Further, the Flight-link service, available from Birmingham International Airport, stops just adjacent the guesthouse.
Picture of Highcroft Guest House, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable, attentive hosts

Reviewed by
Christine B

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent but disappointed with the bathroom! The comfiest bed in the world made up for it though!

Reviewed by
Rose H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple Guesthouse with Not So Simple Welcome
Good Points: Near city centre - around 10mins casual walking. Clean & Tidy. Secure doors. Clean (not en suite) bathroom - shower, toilet and sink. Communal fridge in hallway. Free tea/coffee. Free hairdryer use.
Points Requiring Improvement: Service - the lady that "welcomed" us wasn't equipped for the job - she was also the lady who answered the phone calls but as her English was really poor and I don't speak her native tongue, communication was difficult. However, once we sorted payment and convinced her of our identities, she was pleasant enough, even though it really is a stress customers do not need. In the room, we were pleasantly surprised especially since we didn't expect much. It was small but perfectly formed, tidy and orderly with all the basic amenities: small double bed, clean sheets, wardrobe, lamps, kettle/teacups/tea/coffee, sink, TV, mirror, window, curtains, and even "artwork" on the walls. The communal bathroom was clean and sufficient but when we stayed there, the guesthouse was quiet so I can't say it will always be clean if the house is full.
Overall, it was a good stay and if this guesthouse came up as the cheapest option for any future visits to Coventry then I will be happy to book it again.

Reviewed by
s tong

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highcroft Guest House
The hotel was really lovely to stay at. Upon arrival the owners were extremely pleasant and welcoming. The room was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable, I had a wonderful nights sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
L Morris

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly family, basic guest house
Lovely, welcoming, family run guest house. Breakfast was delicious and great value for money. Room however was not en suite as expected and the facilities were somewhat basic - really what you expect for such cheap prices so close to the city centre.

Reviewed by
A Whitefield

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Pleasant stay indeed.

Reviewed by
N Seshadri

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything was a burden.
landlady rude and ignorant,did not speak,food thumped on table even when not ready for it.food very sparse in its content.no parking as advertised.room the cleanliness of the room was of a poor standard.Manager helpful but staff need more training in our to deal with their customers properly.

Reviewed by
clive p

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Experience at Highcroft Guesthouse, Coventry!
I had a horrendous start to what was supposed to be a pleasant weekend away to attend my friends wedding.
Having booked the room online using laterooms.com at a price of £29.00, i then received a call from the hotel owner, a lady demanding that i pay her £35.00 for the room and to pay it on arrival. I explained that i had booked at £29.00 and have the confirmation receipt to hand but she would not have any of it. As the owner was unwilling to reason, i lodged a complaint with LateRooms who had to make several calls to the hotel and no doubt an element of pressure applied before the owner agreed to honour the booking which hasten to say was only agreed at the last minute.
Overall this was an experience i could have done without and has left a sour taste in my mouth for what should have been a straightforward enjoyable weekend away.

Reviewed by
S Malik

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right
Very pleasant, comfortable and clean. I would stay again if I am going that way.

Reviewed by
k Bull

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price but misleading information on line.
Advertised as B&B yet breakfast is not included in the internet price. Advertised as with parking yet there is no adequate on-site parking. Difficult to find even with satellite navigation.

Reviewed by
S Moyo

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next