Reviews - Highcroft Guest House


65 Barras Lane, Coundon,, Coventry, CV1 4AQ

Price From 102.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (23)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Justina M

  • July 2015


The place was really clean and tidy for a very good value.

Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone.

  • Barbara Sparling

  • March 2015


The only parking on site was in the owners own garage where you could get boxed in.

Otherwise no parking on a convenient road - double yellow lines and main road. The only parking we found was 150 yards away on a public highway, actually the other end of the road this place was in - across a busy thoroughfare. Alternative was congested residential road behind the property and a good 250 yards walk away. Distance is not a particular concern but both areas were out of sight of guest house. Room not en suite, although I understood from the blurb that it was partially en suite (i.e. with toilet). We spent a very restless first night because of other residents plodding around and periodic door closures. If you booked through Laterooms there was no breakfast included although elsewhere I noted that this was included in the price. We stayed for two nights and on the first morning we were asked for our key because she had forgotten we were staying for another night. We had also discovered she was vacuuming at 8.30 in the morning. The Sunday morning.

The room had ONE chair - or very small settee which was only suitable for two children to sit. The bed was uncomfortable and indeed I spent much of the first night dozing on this settee.

The TV was a joke. Most of the BBC channels had weak or no signal. Many of the ITV channels in general had only a sporadic signal although we could get ITV 1 really well. However, we don't do the ITV reality and prime time viewing rubbish. We only got any reasonable reception when we draped the aerial over the TV. Monday morning when we getting ready to leave we put the radio element of the TV on and within around 10 minutes the whole system cut out completely. No signal, no channels, nothing.

  • p swan

  • February 2015

Highcroft Guest House

All very good for the money but the beds were cheap like child's beds with thin mattresses, so the springs could be felt also very limited parking 1 space.

  • zeenat M

  • February 2015


Parking was a nightmare and hard to find.

The accommodation was very nice.

  • I Morris

  • February 2015

Highcroft Guest House

Very happy with our overnight stay, room was very large, with twin beds, very clean.

Close to Coventry City centre.

  • J Ward

  • November 2014

Brilliant Place to stay perfect for all events based at the university

We stayed here to attend my girlfriends graduation.

The room was immaculate and had a kettle provided with tea and coffee in the room. There was plenty of storage space and hangers were provided so we could hang my suit and her dress out of harms way. Wi-fi was given complimentary so she could easily arrange to meet up with her classmates. The hostess was very friendly and welcoming and did not mind how we were coming and going through the day and night. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • C Mulholland

  • November 2014

Great value for money, reccommended

Great location, price and rooms.

Shared bathrooms between 2 rooms so not really a problem

  • Christine B

  • October 2014

Clean and comfortable, attentive hosts

  • s tong

  • October 2014

Simple Guesthouse with Not So Simple Welcome

Good Points: Near city centre - around 10mins casual walking.

Clean & Tidy. Secure doors. Clean (not en suite) bathroom - shower, toilet and sink. Communal fridge in hallway. Free tea/coffee. Free hairdryer use. Points Requiring Improvement: Service - the lady that "welcomed" us wasn't equipped for the job - she was also the lady who answered the phone calls but as her English was really poor and I don't speak her native tongue, communication was difficult. However, once we sorted payment and convinced her of our identities, she was pleasant enough, even though it really is a stress customers do not need. In the room, we were pleasantly surprised especially since we didn't expect much. It was small but perfectly formed, tidy and orderly with all the basic amenities: small double bed, clean sheets, wardrobe, lamps, kettle/teacups/tea/coffee, sink, TV, mirror, window, curtains, and even "artwork" on the walls. The communal bathroom was clean and sufficient but when we stayed there, the guesthouse was quiet so I can't say it will always be clean if the house is full.

Overall, it was a good stay and if this guesthouse came up as the cheapest option for any future visits to Coventry then I will be happy to book it again.

  • Rose H

  • October 2014

Excellent but disappointed with the bathroom.

The comfiest bed in the world made up for it though.