No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 28 York Place Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
28 York Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3EP
Located in the heart of Edinburgh's Historic New Town, 28 York Place Hotel is the perfect location for your next trip to Scotland's Capital City.

Each of our well appointed bedrooms has en-suite facilities with shower over bath. Though breakfast isn't served in the hotel our team are on hand to recommend plenty places locally.

Complimentary on site parking is available. This is offered on a first come first served basis and alternatively parking is available in the St James Centre 24 hour monitored multi-storey car park, opposite the hotel.

Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and is complimentary for all guests.
Picture of 28 York Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Very handily located in the city centre , close to Calton Hill , Waverley Station , pubs , restaurants etc. My room was spacious and high ceilinged and comfortable in a fine terrace at the start of Georgian New Town. However the huge window was single glazed and the traffic noise was very loud 24/7. This was a drawback as I found it meant that my sleep was interrupted . Some secondary double glazing would solve this irritation but otherwise a great base for the visitor.

Reviewed by
Dominic Roe

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, lovely room
Thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and clean. If I have to find a flaw it would be the lack of a top sheet on the bed. But this was minor due to the lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
A Maccormick

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel for the price, very polite helpful staff and very clean room and bathroom.
We were only there for an overnight stay but it has very a very central location just across from The National Portrait Gallery, it is slightly noisy due to traffic but that doesn't bother me. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the room was very clean, the bed comfy and the bathroom was obviously new, very clean and had a great shower. There were nice touches that I wasn't expecting such as complementary shortbread and toiletries. No grumbles except maybe traffic noise might bother some people, the walls could do with some pictures and maybe some sort of reception desk as you go in as a focal point would be nice. But we had a very nice stay and would definitely come back again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer H

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room, great location
Good value accommodation only a stone's throw from St Andrew's Square and the bus station.
Fair trade coffee in the room is always a plus point for me.

Reviewed by
Craig M

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
The room was lovely but a bit on the small side, I am over6ft tall and found the bed quite small although my petite wife was alright.The bathroom and shower were superb.

Reviewed by
Derek C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So pleased to see the improvement
Having had a very disappointing stay in June I am delighted to say that the accommodation was much cleaner and more comfortable.
It would have been nice to have had a bottle of water in the room.

Reviewed by
Denise G

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality depends on your room
I booked 2 rooms - when we arrived my friends picked up one key and I had the other. Our room was great and had been refurbished. theirs had not been refurbished and was dirty and the sheets needed changing. My friends complained and were given a £20 per night discount. Also the hotel has 5 parking spaces 2 of which are taken by the management.
There was a big stain on our duvet and the cleaners were not removing the half used bottles or empty bottles of free shower gel. The management did apologise for the issues and offered us a free bottle of wine and a letter of apology. I think it is wrong to charge the same for a refurbished room as for a room in desperate need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
D Fildes

From Glannau Dyfrdwy, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at 28 York Place
We enjoyed our stay here. Check in (in the bar!) was friendly and efficient. The room, although small, was lovely and looked like it had recently been refurbished. Very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Convenient location in the new town, especially if arriving and departing by bus.

Reviewed by
Claire W

From Wales
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Perfectly positioned near to everything happening and good size room. Very good personnel and was looked after. Will definitely stay again. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
R Wilby

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.
A bit shaby no staff at night or early morning, had to let myself out without receipt for stay. then took 3 days to get it emailed over. I guess you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
M Pilgrim

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next