No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cherry Tree

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
33 High Street, Steventon , Abingdon, OX13 6RZ
Whether you are popping in for a quiet drink, a great lunch or looking for somewhere to stay, The Cherry Tree offers a warm, homely welcome. A superb place to spend your time whilst in the Medieval village of Steventon.

The Cherry Tree is a beautiful 18th Century building and is still run as a traditional village pub, serving as the heart of its community. The low ceilings, oak beams and 3 open fireplaces are cosy in the winter whilst the large courtyard with giant umbrellas and heaters are perfect for those warm summer evenings. We are well known in the village and surrounding areas for our diverse selection of real ales, featuring 6 full time Wadworth brews and a further rotating guest ales.

Come and join our regulars for a relaxing drink or bite to eat, or for a more lively visit pop along to our ever popular pub quiz each Monday night.

The Cherry Tree is also a B&B and has 7 Comfortable, En-suite Bedrooms, convenient for The Milton Business Park or Harwell Science Park
Picture of The Cherry Tree, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would still consider staying again, BUT....
The room was let down by: No heating in bathroom. Hotelier said repairs were awaited but made no mention of this upon our arrival. Curtain against night storage heater was charred as were wall light shades. Probably not dangerous but slightly un-nerving. You have to go outside to reach the bedrooms.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Our break was okay.

Reviewed by
William P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful quirky pub
I stayed here for the weekend and couldn't fault the pub in any way. The room was clean and fresh and had all good quality furnishings. The pub food and beer was excellent and staff were all very friendly. Will most definitely be staying here again soon. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
P Cryer

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cherry Tree
Bed was so comfortable and service excellent, but room was very dark, almost impossible to read. A good, bright bedside light would have made all the difference to the room.

Reviewed by
Jo R

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great take-out breakfast
We stayed here to attend a metal detecting rally in nearby Abingdon. We had to be on the road at 8am and were told that breakfast was not until 10am on a Sunday. Chef made us a good quality cheese and Wiltshire ham baguette, bag of crisps, apple and carton drink to take out for the following day. It was a quality packed lunch, not just that. Would definately recommend this place.

Reviewed by
A REES

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay en route to Winchester
Staff exceedingly helpful, lots of nice touches

Reviewed by
Marie W

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
Great value for money. Lovely room with quality above expectations.

Reviewed by
john g

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub B&B
Stayed there when attending a friend's 50th. The room was well presented, clean and surprisingly better than some so called 4 star hotels, I was impressed. Good and friendly customer service and would recommend as a B&B either on business or pleasure.

Reviewed by
H Cameron

From Wotton Under Edge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed for Didcot Railway Centre
The Cherry Tree is an old pub with new [purpose built] accomodation. The room was not particularly big but was spotlessly clean and adequately appointed. Particularly welcome was the ample tea and coffee making facilities which many places scimp on. We had to be away for an early start and missed breakfast but we had dinner the night before. This was standard "pub" food but again we were pleasently suprised- my wifes salad was above average. I had sausage and mash and was pleased to find it was real mashed potato rather than the packet stuff which is so often served. Its small touches like these that make the difference.

Reviewed by
K Pearce

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for a quick break
Clean room & friendly staff.

Reviewed by
David S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next