No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cherry Tree

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
33 High Street, Steventon , Abingdon, OX13 6RZ
Whether you are popping in for a quiet drink, a great lunch or looking for somewhere to stay, The Cherry Tree offers a warm, homely welcome. A superb place to spend your time whilst in the Medieval village of Steventon.

The Cherry Tree is a beautiful 18th Century building and is still run as a traditional village pub, serving as the heart of its community. The low ceilings, oak beams and 3 open fireplaces are cosy in the winter whilst the large courtyard with giant umbrellas and heaters are perfect for those warm summer evenings. We are well known in the village and surrounding areas for our diverse selection of real ales, featuring 6 full time Wadworth brews and a further rotating guest ales.

Come and join our regulars for a relaxing drink or bite to eat, or for a more lively visit pop along to our ever popular pub quiz each Monday night.

The Cherry Tree is also a B&B and has 7 Comfortable, En-suite Bedrooms, convenient for The Milton Business Park or Harwell Science Park
Picture of The Cherry Tree, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed for Didcot Railway Centre
The Cherry Tree is an old pub with new [purpose built] accomodation. The room was not particularly big but was spotlessly clean and adequately appointed. Particularly welcome was the ample tea and coffee making facilities which many places scimp on. We had to be away for an early start and missed breakfast but we had dinner the night before. This was standard "pub" food but again we were pleasently suprised- my wifes salad was above average. I had sausage and mash and was pleased to find it was real mashed potato rather than the packet stuff which is so often served. Its small touches like these that make the difference.

Reviewed by
K Pearce

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for a quick break
Clean room & friendly staff.

Reviewed by
David S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B and B in a lovely village
A great B and B in Steventon, perfect for truck.

Reviewed by
Victoria S

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party at the Cherry Tree.
Very friendly and obliging staff.

Reviewed by
W Green

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cherry Tree
The room was clean what expected when I stayed about 2 years ago and the breakfast was very and the staff were friendly enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
John E

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast now starts from 0700.

Reviewed by
Kevin w

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night on business
Nice room/ good food, excellent range of beers. To be recommended.

Reviewed by
N Aird

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eve meal
Not impressed with menu

Reviewed by
Ruth M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
A friendly small hotel with lovely quirky bedrooms some new bedrooms but service and food lovely.
I would use this hotel time after time. Many thanks for another enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
R Lowe

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Room by road but double glazed so not a problem.
Lovely and warm and real cozy feel with beamed low ceiling comfy bed, modern en suite bathroom.
Breakfast was best I've ever had. The Bacon was char grilled hmm nice.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next