No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Deer Park Country Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Weston , HONITON, EX14 3PG
Deer Park Country Hotel is set in 80 acres overlooking classic Devon countryside and the meandering River Otter. A quintessential Country House Hotel, offering a relaxed haven with individually designed guest rooms. Excellent service and exquisite food awaits you, making this a truly unique and memorable destination.

Ideal for a perfect romantic getaway, to a relaxed family break, a business trip or even a action filled holiday; the Deer Park has the ability to meet every persons needs.

Stay in one of the 15 individually styled guest rooms in the main house. The Deer Park also offers a further 10 rooms in the mews, which is a stone throw away from the main house.
Picture of Deer Park Country Hotel, HONITON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Hotel!
We stayed just one night on our way to visit friends and we were very impressed by this lovely hotel. It's a bit like visiting a large family-run country house - the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. Our room was very pleasant and comfortable, while the Lounge, Dining Room and Conservatory were all very welcoming places. We enjoyed our evening meal which was beautifully prepared and presented. We would certainly stay again - perhaps for longer next time!

Reviewed by
M Napier

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and staff but just lacking that special something. BEWARE of the late check out fee!
We have stayed here before and will do again, however lovely the staff and fine the accomodation is there are just a few niggles that just take the shine off the whole experience. When you arrrive you can no longer park infront of the hotel as they have coned off the front and it is set out with a classic car and some trees in pots, which looks nice but you end up parking in a small rutted car park to the side and carrying the luggage. The place has a lovely country house hotel feel and wonderful grounds. There has been a recent refurbishment and everything was fresh and the sporting pictures returned to the hall and stairs. The bedroom was large with a REALLY comfortable bed. It was our anniversary and they had given us a complimentary bottle of Cava, Thank you. It was a lovely touch. There is now a traditional restaurant or a lighter conservatory with more modern tables and chairs. The breakfast was good my only gripe was the orange juice is from concentrate and limited in quantity. Dinner was a set menu of 2 or 3 courses. It was fine, well cooked Hotel food. There was a large party infront of us and this had an effect on the service which was just ok but the staff were very apologetic and polite about the delay. My wife's creme brule was over burnt and the top therefore too bitter which we brought to the attention of the staff but don't know if this was passed on as we had no feedback. One thing to be aware of is that in the room they have notices saying it may be possible to have a late check out the following morning. We asked and were told we didn't have to book out till 12. Lovely! However on leaving we were charged a further £15 for this privilige which when I queried was told that it was a standard charge! NO mention had been made of it on asking for it the previous night or on the room notice! Because of the Cava I didn't query this, normally I would have challenged it more. As I say a perfectly fine hotel but not quite great.

Reviewed by
N Pain

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and pleasant experience at the Deer Park
Stuart and his team provided a warm welcome and supportive, attentive service throughout our stay.
I had stayed at the Deer Park a few years ago and Stuart gave us a tour of the changes recently made since my last visit.
A room upgrade was also provided without asking and at no additional cost enhancing the visit.
Thank you to the team for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
B Whalley

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely break
The accommodation was second to none! The grounds are superb, and it was such a joy to wander through the trees and across the lawns. So relaxing; we were only there for a weekend, but felt as though we had had a much longer break! Thank you!

Reviewed by
michael b

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby chic
A nice country hotel, lovely grounds and lovely ground floor. It's definitely shabby chic. Our room was nice but in need of some TLC.

Reviewed by
Steve Orford

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We were made to feel very welcome during our stay. We had to stay in Exeter sadly for a funeral. On chatting with the staff we were upgraded without asking to a lovely room. We would love to stay again with our little dog next time as the Hotel is very pet friendly. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Reviewed by
D wraight

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellence
We had one night at this hotel - absolutely fabulous - very relaxing, excellent staff and overall a very good experience.

Reviewed by
L Gamble

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay at the deer park hotel
wonderful hotel in a lovely setting. Food and dining experience were excellent. Staff were helpful and pleasant.Would stay again only for longer next time.

Reviewed by
C Tilley

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
My partner and i only stayed one night as a half way point on our way to Cornwall but we didn,t want to leave !!! The hotel, grounds and location could not have been better and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was clean, tastefully furnished and very comfortable.. Overall our stay was fabulous and we would give it 12 out of 10 every time..

Reviewed by
Margaret C

From Abbots Langley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the Money
A very expensive hotel. Accomodation wassurpsoed tob a superior room it was of a very poor standard: Shower was atttached to taps on bath and had no pressure, coffee and tea facilities were similar to that of a 2 star accommodation. when requesting room service we were informed there was a function on in the hotel and that it was not possible - eventually it was agreed that they would provide it. This consisted of 4 tiny triangles of sandwich and 9 chips = £25. Very poor.
Breakfast was lovey Dinner was expensinve.

Reviewed by
Meryl E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next