Deer Park Country Hotel

4

Weston, HONITON, EX14 3PG

Price From 147.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kenneth T

  • September 2013

A special place

The nicest hotel we've stayed in for years - a lovely, quiet, comfortable room with a fantastic view and friendly staff.

And a great choice of food for breakfast.

  • Derek T

  • September 2013

The hotel receptionist was very welcoming , we were shown around the hotel and to our room.The room was lovely and clean, the bed very comfortable.The breakfast was of a very high standard

  • Adrian Roberts

  • August 2013

Awesome experience

My fiancee is a chef.

We recently had a fabulous experience at the Ivy. Sandra declared that this was better. Wonderful, friendly staff. Great experience. We will be back for a longer stay.

  • Chris A

  • August 2013

Nice country setting, beware the annex rooms

Staff, grounds and especially the food were excellent.

However, we stayed in the Annexe and the room was of very low quality, although clean. I would only return on the basis of staying in the main part of the hotel which was very nice.

  • Dawn H

  • August 2013

Relaxing luxury!

I had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay.

At arrival I was greeted with a smile and told that I had been upgraded. My room was huge and beautiful - such a luxury.

After a fabulous long walk around the beautiful grounds in glorious sunshine I settled down to a few more chapters of my book seated on a comfortable chair on the front of house balcony. And to top off this wonderful day. A most superb meal in the restaurant .... I was only disappointed I couldn't stay for longer!

  • Angus G

  • August 2013

NIce location and setting

I liked a lot about the hotel and the breakfast was lovely.

On the downside the drive up to the hotel is very potholed and although the bath was fine, it wasn't possible to use the shower standing up.

  • S Glanville

  • August 2013

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting.

We stayed at the Deer Park for one night.

We stayed in the "annexe" rooms which were a bit dated but spacious and clean. The receptionist was friendly and showed us to our room. The grounds are really lovely and plenty of places to sit out and relax though the weather was not so kind to us so only wandered about for some photo's. Breakfast was really nice, well cooked and served promptly. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return. The thing we found slightly odd was the waiters "uniform" at breakfast. Brown corduroy trousers and checked shirts did look more as if they were going out to do the garden!!!

  • M Napier

  • August 2013

A Lovely Hotel!

We stayed just one night on our way to visit friends and we were very impressed by this lovely hotel.

It's a bit like visiting a large family-run country house - the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. Our room was very pleasant and comfortable, while the Lounge, Dining Room and Conservatory were all very welcoming places. We enjoyed our evening meal which was beautifully prepared and presented. We would certainly stay again - perhaps for longer next time.

  • N Pain

  • August 2013

Lovely room and staff but just lacking that special something. BEWARE of the late check out fee!

We have stayed here before and will do again, however lovely the staff and fine the accomodation is there are just a few niggles that just take the shine off the whole experience.

When you arrrive you can no longer park infront of the hotel as they have coned off the front and it is set out with a classic car and some trees in pots, which looks nice but you end up parking in a small rutted car park to the side and carrying the luggage. The place has a lovely country house hotel feel and wonderful grounds. There has been a recent refurbishment and everything was fresh and the sporting pictures returned to the hall and stairs. The bedroom was large with a REALLY comfortable bed. It was our anniversary and they had given us a complimentary bottle of Cava, Thank you. It was a lovely touch. There is now a traditional restaurant or a lighter conservatory with more modern tables and chairs. The breakfast was good my only gripe was the orange juice is from concentrate and limited in quantity. Dinner was a set menu of 2 or 3 courses. It was fine, well cooked Hotel food. There was a large party infront of us and this had an effect on the service which was just ok but the staff were very apologetic and polite about the delay. My wife's creme brule was over burnt and the top therefore too bitter which we brought to the attention of the staff but don't know if this was passed on as we had no feedback. One thing to be aware of is that in the room they have notices saying it may be possible to have a late check out the following morning. We asked and were told we didn't have to book out till 12. Lovely. However on leaving we were charged a further £15 for this privilige which when I queried was told that it was a standard charge. NO mention had been made of it on asking for it the previous night or on the room notice. Because of the Cava I didn't query this, normally I would have challenged it more. As I say a perfectly fine hotel but not quite great.

  • michael b

  • July 2013

lovely break

The accommodation was second to none.

The grounds are superb, and it was such a joy to wander through the trees and across the lawns. So relaxing; we were only there for a weekend, but felt as though we had had a much longer break. Thank you!