No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Appledown House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lamerton , TAVISTOCK, PL19 8SD
Appledown House Country Bed and Breakfast is set in a lovely rural location in the heart of the Devon countryside, just about as far away from the every day stresses and strains of your normal life as you want to be, yet less than 10 minutes drive from Tavistock and Dartmoor. Inspected by the Dartmoor Partnership, their assessor David Farrant, said: "Appledown House is a 1st class addition to our membership and is thoroughly recommended. Rooms are comfortable, light and airy, and well-furnished''. The two bedrooms (both en-suite with showers) form the detached ground floor annexe and can be interconnected via an adjoining door (useful for families/friends) and the superior twin/superking has its own conservatory overlooking the heated outdoor pool and fabulous views towards Dartmoor. The double room with its tiny patio garden overlooks the front of the property. Well -behaved children are most welcome. We have ample off road parking for all our guests, together with secure bicycle storage and a drying area. Our heated outdoor swimming pool (open during the summer) is set in its own terrace within the south facing grounds of just under 3 acres. The northeast paddock is home to our free-range chickens who provide you daily with wholesome fresh eggs for your breakfast. There are several inns within 0.5m and a variety of different eating experiences are available in nearby Tavistock. Dartmoor is virtually on the doorstep, yet our country retreat is only 3.5 miles from the Stannary town of Tavistock.

The City of Plymouth, which boasts its own airport and ferry port, lies just 14 miles to the South whilst the M5 motorway and the Cathedral City of Exeter, with its international airport, can easily be accessed via the A30 dual carriageway. Tavistock is in a uniquely central position making visits to the rest of Devon and to most of Cornwall easy e.g Eden, Heligan,Truro and St Austell, Bideford, Bude and Newquay in under an hour, Plymouth and Looe less than 30 mins.

Picture of Appledown House, TAVISTOCK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location. Terrific hospitality. Great value for money. Highly recommend
Very enjoyable stay. Owners very helpful and friendly and full of useful local information. Locally grown produce at breakfast delicious and substantial. Terrific views if the Devon countryside.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, warm welcome
Perfect for a quick stop over, accommodating owners. Room spacious and clean, great shower. Vodafone customer so signal patchy as out in the sticks.
Thank you for a comfortable night.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!

Reviewed by
Y Karrer

From Switzerland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Lovely stay a lovely host a nice place to stay the superior room had fantastic views on a nice day
The only thing I would say negatively, and its NOT a game changer. The superior room has an extension sunroom divided off from bed area by a curtain and when it rained one night the rain on the polycarb roof kept us awake, but to sit in it with the views in the evening with a cuppa and the papers with the view.....Fantastic

Reviewed by
T Osgood

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT!
We booked this B&B at the last minute, as this was a trip to visit a very sick dear friend. It was absolutely lovely, the room was excellent, the bathroom was very modern and very clean, as was the whole of the accommodation. The breakfast was also first class and the host informed us that the bacon was local, and the yogurt and bread was homemade and very delicious. We had full use of the outdoor pool and the hosts were very attentive whilst giving us our privacy. They recommended a fantastic pub/restaurant where we ate that evening. we couldn't wish for more and would recommend to our friends and family. Our stresses and strains were put to one side as soon as we arrived by the hosts who offered us coffee and biscuits on the patio overlooking the pool just to wind down from our long journey, then informed us it was their pool party and would we like to join them and their friends and other guests to drinks around the pool, it was first class. The hosts were very friendly and professional hosts. Would definitely recommend this B&B. Will be booking again soon.

Reviewed by
A Ziarati

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, helpful owners; good, tasty and varied choice breakfasts; bedroom comfortable rather small
We enjoyed our four night stay there. The adjoining bedroom was left open for us to read at the conservatory end when the other guests had left. Bathroom facilities good with good hot shower.

Reviewed by
I Wilson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of bathroom
The only problem with the bathroom was that it was very cold. The radiator wasn't sufficient to take the chill off, even in May. Apart from that, the bathroom was excellent.

ManagementResponse

Oh how awful, if only this couple had mentioned they were cold during their two night stay with us we could easily have adjusted the timer on the electric bathroom radiator to suit them, thus ensuring a snug warm bathroom for them to use. The bedroom itself is centrally heated and we always leave an electric fire for added warmth if necessary, as well as spare bedding. No-one has ever mentioned a cold bathroom to us before but we will be sure to check that our guests are warm enough in the future!

Reviewed by
B McDonald

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended and made to feel very welcome
A lovely place to stay. Very warm welcome from the owners. Great breakfast with really good locally sourced food (eggs were direct from the chickens in the garden) . Nice fluffy towels and Egyptian cotton sheets. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Nigel F

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what is need!
Very welcoming hosts, comfortable room, great breakfast, terrific shower - everything that you need for a quick overnight stay - would definitely return.

Reviewed by
ian murch

From Colchester, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay in sunny Devon
Fantastic hospitality, accommodation and food. Highly recommended and we aim to stay again.

Reviewed by
L Laxton

From Redditch, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.