No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 Addington Road, South Croydon, Surrey, CR2 8YA
Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club is within close proximity of East Croydon train station, where it takes just 15 minutes by train to Central London & Gatwick Airport. A complimentary shuttle service runs to and from the station Monday – Friday at selected times.

The Hotel is one of Southern England’s most unique and picturesque country resorts, surrounded by 205 acres of Surrey Countryside.

The hotel has 199 comfortable, fully equipped bedrooms with a choice of Single rooms, Double/ Twin bedded rooms, Executive rooms and Family rooms which can accommodate a family of four.

All residents are invited to use our Spa & Leisure facilities including a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room, Squash Courts and Tennis Courts, with treatments available on request. We also offer residential rates for our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, for those of you feeling more energetic.

Selsdon Park Hotel is located just 15 minutes from the M25 and is ideally situated for Chessington World of Adventures, Hever Castle, Chartwell, Epsom Races, Thorpe Park and Heathrow & Gatwick Airport

We offer Free parking onsite and Broadband and Wireless internet connection (charges will apply)
Picture of Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Reviewed by
s graham

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel.. Love it.

Reviewed by
s curtis

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at the Selsdon Park Hotel on several occasions. My trip was for business purposes, and I stayed for 2 nights. The room was adequate, but although the shower was good, and the water was hot, the water did not flow away and the bath filled up with water. The sink also had this problem. However, this would not prevent me from staying here again.

Reviewed by
Angela Hammond

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing stay
We stayed as it was my partners birthday. We had a lovely and warm welcoming as we checked in the hotel.The room was amazing , very clean and had a nice view. Dinner we had was excellent a lovely 3 course meal. We had a wonderful time and even took advantage of the leisure facilities.
Endover in our essence we will be returning for another occassion.
thank you

Reviewed by
b adjei

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Lovely period building, great views over the golf course. Excellent breakfast choice although if they are offering from 7am they should be ready at this time. I didn't have an evening meal as there was a limited expensive range. Couldn't use the main bar on my first evening as this had been booked for a private party. The room had a comfortable bed, an archaic television that only has 6 channel with a remote that you can't tell which buttons to press. Metal windows which are difficult to close, the shower would have been alright if I was not 6' tall. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tempus Bar awful. Avoid at all costs
Hotel really lovely. Superb grounds. Bed too soft for me but very quiet and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Don't go near the Tempus Bar. Very poor service, cold food.

Reviewed by
S Brock

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room nothing special, leisure facilities disgusting
We stayed at the hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding near by. We thought to make it a romantic weekend.The room was an average double room, nothing like on the picture! It was clean for what it was, but the decor was quite old..again, not like on the picture. The breakfast buffet was ok. Eggs were a bit soggy and didn't taste much.
We used the leisure facilities the next day and have to say that it was not great either. The floors were dirty. I was afraid to put my feet down, as I didn't know what might stick to my feet. The showers were full on limescale and hair in drain. The stairs leading up to the sauna and steam room was awful, a used plaster on the floor was not great. The steam room (if you can call it that) was disgusting. It was just a room with a drain pipe sticking out of the wall and it sounded like it was going to burst any minute. The chairs to lay on by the pool were old. The relaxing music was good though..
Would stay in the hotel if the prices were a bit lower, because paying £110 for one night, breakfast and using the facilities is a bit much considering it really wasn't up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. It might have been a 4 star hotel back in the 80s, but it should really keep up with the times!
Our expectations were higher from the pictures, and it was an okay weekend, but the leisure club really let us down. Would be okay to stay for a few nights, but without the ''spa'' use, because the golf club is lovely and the scenery is really beautiful.

Reviewed by
Heidi Leid

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst visiting friends locally. Our first impression when we approached the hotel was one of quality and nothing was to alter that during our stay.
The receptionist on check in was very helpful and gave us all the information we required, the room was very spacious and clean. We did not eat at the hotel so unable to comment, only downside was that we were one of the first rooms in the East Wing and the hotel were hosting a wedding reception on the second evening, when the guests decided to retire to their rooms they were very noisy after a few celebratory drinks..We will return though as most impressed

Reviewed by
PETER SLINN

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Pleased Excellent Stay
This is the second time we have stayed at the Selsdon Park Hotel. This time we had a family room with two double beds and a fantastic view in the morning across the rolling fields and forests across the golf course with not another property in sight.
We received a very warm welcome when arriving late in the evening at the reception. They also promptly responded to a request for a replacement electric kettle.
We cannot provide a review without mentioning what we feel is an honour to stay in such a fabulous building with such a history. It is everything that you feel a building such as this should be in that it is not the sanitized version with everything replaced with modern equivalents but a building that retains its look and feel reflecting its past. If you prefer modern hotels which all look the same and you cannot tell where you are in the world, we would suggest avoiding The Selsdon it could only be in the UK, please don't change it!
We cannot fault our stay and will happily book again in the future - thank you.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:)
Excellent value for money, friendly staff and a warm and inviting environment. Will certainly be back again!

Reviewed by
C Burke

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next