No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Monmouth Street , Bath, BA1 2AP
The Griffin Inn boasts four star accommodation located on the peaceful Beauford Square, adjoining the elegant Queen’s Square. Only a few steps away is the Theatre Royal and the Thermae Spa complex; providing a superb central base for exploring the city of Bath. This quaint, historic Grade II Listed Inn has been completely refurbished in 2009 returning it to its Georgian glory, with five double/twin rooms and three single rooms all of which are en suite. Each room features an oversized bed, flat screen TV, iPod dock, Wi-Fi, desk, comfortable chair, and hot drink making facilities. Rates include VAT and a wholesome breakfast.

The bar prides itself on a selection of real ales, fine wines, provincial malt whiskys, fresh coffee and tea. While the fully equipped kitchen is focused on delivering sandwiches, burgers, salads and other pub classics made using fresh, local, free range, and organic produce.
Picture of The Griffin Inn, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Place to Stay
Pros - Good value for money, Friendly and helpful staff, Fantastic food, Really central location, Large single room which was clean and well equipped, Very comfy bed
.
Cons - Steep and narrow stairs, Stain on carpet in room, Internet connection in room very poor, There was a fair amount of noise from downstairs and outside during the evening, this did usually stop around 11pm. (These issues may bother some people but I didn't particularly bother me.)
I would definitely stay at this accommodation again. Thanks to all at the Griffin Inn.

Reviewed by
G HALL

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Our stay was great and the staff were all so helpful and friendly. Our only disappointment was that the location is quite busy until the early hours and activity starts again at dawn with the dustmen. So it was a tad noisy but it's not the end of the world. Notwithstanding this the location is brilliant as it is 5mins to the centre of Bath and all tourist activities, the breakfast is excellent and the welcome is genuine and heart warming. We will certainly go back to the Griffin Inn.

Reviewed by
R Brown

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover
A nice friendly inn, with plenty of character and very helpfull staff.

Reviewed by
DAVID W

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
I was satisfied with everything! Very friendly customer service, nice, clean, quiet place just what I needed! The only thing is I couldn't use the WiFi and because I didn't have to use it for work I didn't ask the staff for assistance. I am absolute certain they would have helped if I asked! I would recommend The Griffin Inn I had a great time!

Reviewed by
Monika H

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for sightseeing in Bath
The staff were friendly, and the accommodation was perfectly adequate. Single rooms are usually the worst quality in any hotel, but this one was nice. There was a funny smell when I arrived - maybe the cleaning materials. But the window opens, so no real problem.
Be warned - it is noisy on Friday and Saturday nights - not surprising for a pub in a town famous for hen and stag parties.
There was a reasonable choice for breakfast, but the quality was not marvelous.
But I will stay there again because I found it a great location to be in Bath.

Reviewed by
Robyn M

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent city centre situation
This is a quirky old inn which is a great place for visiting city centre attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even though it is a pub it was not very noisy after 11.00 pm. Our room was large with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen but at least it is en suite which you have to expect in a building this age. The breakfast buffet is adequate and the hot food was cooked to order so good quality. The real downside was that the room got unbearably hot even with the window open and the fan on so I did not have a great nights sleep.
It was great for one or two nights though

Reviewed by
Annette H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Jewel
Staff were very helpful and welcoming , location is perfect . The breakfast was very tasty and there was a good choice . My room was very clean and the ensuite was great however if you struggle with stairs it wouldn't be ideal as the stairs are quite steep to get to the room and the room was small . B&B was full of character . Overall a pleasant stay :)

Reviewed by
kerry d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Straight walk to the hotel from the train/bus station. The room was a good size single. It would have been nice to have a small fridge. The only 'bad' thing I found was the bed it was very uncomfortable and the pillows were so insubstantial I had to roll the duvet up and use that instead.

Reviewed by
S Cheevers

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great location, great staff
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Griffin. The staff were very friendly and attentive they couldn't be faulted. We loved the character of the Inn and the location to get into the centre of Bath is ideal. The room could have done with a paint to neaten it up but other than that the room was clean and had good facilities and was perfect for us. The Inn has a lovely unique atmosphere and we plan to make it a regular place to stay when we visit Bath. We had a great time, thank you to all at the Griffin!

Reviewed by
V Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for reasonably priced say in central Bath
Stayed overnight at The Griffin and happy to say it was exactly as expected from the reviews I looked at before. Great location, good price, perfectly comfortable. Breakfast was really good with fresh local ingredients. Enjoyed the games provided in the bar. Would happily return.

Reviewed by
Robert Malyn

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next