No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Monmouth Street , Bath, BA1 2AP
The Griffin Inn boasts four star accommodation located on the peaceful Beauford Square, adjoining the elegant Queen’s Square. Only a few steps away is the Theatre Royal and the Thermae Spa complex; providing a superb central base for exploring the city of Bath. This quaint, historic Grade II Listed Inn has been completely refurbished in 2009 returning it to its Georgian glory, with five double/twin rooms and three single rooms all of which are en suite. Each room features an oversized bed, flat screen TV, iPod dock, Wi-Fi, desk, comfortable chair, and hot drink making facilities. Rates include VAT and a wholesome breakfast.

The bar prides itself on a selection of real ales, fine wines, provincial malt whiskys, fresh coffee and tea. While the fully equipped kitchen is focused on delivering sandwiches, burgers, salads and other pub classics made using fresh, local, free range, and organic produce.
Picture of The Griffin Inn, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
There were a couple of glitches when we first saw the room but everything was put right immediately. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Every one is so friendly. The Inn is very central so we did not need to use the car for the two days we were there.
It would have been perfect if they did evening meals for guests too but there are many eating places near by - some just 2 or 3 mins walk away.
If we had to be picky the stair carpet could do with a clean and a memory foam mattress would be perfect - the one in room 5 is a bit hard and lumpy. The room also slants down to the bathroom which adds to the charm (very old) but maybe some cups on the legs on the 'down' side would help to stop sliding across the bed on the slope.
All in all we had a great time, all of the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely go back.

Reviewed by
M Macintosh

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly atmosphier
Perfect for those looking to stay in central Bath on a budget. This is a very quaint quirky accommodation which offers value for money with a wonderful breakfast & perfect customer service. We would be very happy to suggest this accommodation to others. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Martha B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Our room was at the front of the B&B, and was cold and very noisy, as the old windows were draughty and kept none of the road noise out. The radiator was lukewarm when set at its highest temperature. There was a small portable heater supplied, but I don't expect to have to use that when staying in a four-star accommodation. The room decor was poor. The information booklet in the room smelled very strongly of damp when opened. The biscuits supplied tasted out of date and there was no expiry date on the packet. The bed was comfortable, but we didn't get a lot of sleep due to the temperature and traffic noise. We ordered a full, cooked breakfast and it tasted okay, but they serve a very small portion and it wasn't hot, neither was the tea. All in all, not a good experience and I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avoid room 2
the room has connecting doors to 2 other rooms and i could hear every word from conversations in both of the other rooms.
I have stayed here many times before and every other rooom has been fine.

Reviewed by
Kevin Weir

From Ongar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Place to Stay
Pros - Good value for money, Friendly and helpful staff, Fantastic food, Really central location, Large single room which was clean and well equipped, Very comfy bed
.
Cons - Steep and narrow stairs, Stain on carpet in room, Internet connection in room very poor, There was a fair amount of noise from downstairs and outside during the evening, this did usually stop around 11pm. (These issues may bother some people but I didn't particularly bother me.)
I would definitely stay at this accommodation again. Thanks to all at the Griffin Inn.

Reviewed by
G HALL

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Our stay was great and the staff were all so helpful and friendly. Our only disappointment was that the location is quite busy until the early hours and activity starts again at dawn with the dustmen. So it was a tad noisy but it's not the end of the world. Notwithstanding this the location is brilliant as it is 5mins to the centre of Bath and all tourist activities, the breakfast is excellent and the welcome is genuine and heart warming. We will certainly go back to the Griffin Inn.

Reviewed by
R Brown

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover
A nice friendly inn, with plenty of character and very helpfull staff.

Reviewed by
DAVID W

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
I was satisfied with everything! Very friendly customer service, nice, clean, quiet place just what I needed! The only thing is I couldn't use the WiFi and because I didn't have to use it for work I didn't ask the staff for assistance. I am absolute certain they would have helped if I asked! I would recommend The Griffin Inn I had a great time!

Reviewed by
Monika H

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for sightseeing in Bath
The staff were friendly, and the accommodation was perfectly adequate. Single rooms are usually the worst quality in any hotel, but this one was nice. There was a funny smell when I arrived - maybe the cleaning materials. But the window opens, so no real problem.
Be warned - it is noisy on Friday and Saturday nights - not surprising for a pub in a town famous for hen and stag parties.
There was a reasonable choice for breakfast, but the quality was not marvelous.
But I will stay there again because I found it a great location to be in Bath.

Reviewed by
Robyn M

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent city centre situation
This is a quirky old inn which is a great place for visiting city centre attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even though it is a pub it was not very noisy after 11.00 pm. Our room was large with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen but at least it is en suite which you have to expect in a building this age. The breakfast buffet is adequate and the hot food was cooked to order so good quality. The real downside was that the room got unbearably hot even with the window open and the fan on so I did not have a great nights sleep.
It was great for one or two nights though

Reviewed by
Annette H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next