No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Monmouth Street , Bath, BA1 2AP
The Griffin Inn boasts four star accommodation located on the peaceful Beauford Square, adjoining the elegant Queen’s Square. Only a few steps away is the Theatre Royal and the Thermae Spa complex; providing a superb central base for exploring the city of Bath. This quaint, historic Grade II Listed Inn has been completely refurbished in 2009 returning it to its Georgian glory, with five double/twin rooms and three single rooms all of which are en suite. Each room features an oversized bed, flat screen TV, iPod dock, Wi-Fi, desk, comfortable chair, and hot drink making facilities. Rates include VAT and a wholesome breakfast.

The bar prides itself on a selection of real ales, fine wines, provincial malt whiskys, fresh coffee and tea. While the fully equipped kitchen is focused on delivering sandwiches, burgers, salads and other pub classics made using fresh, local, free range, and organic produce.
Picture of The Griffin Inn, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city centre site
Ideal location for site seeing, however the smelly wardrobe and broken sash window detracted from what was otherwise a convenient place to stay on a first visit to Bath.

Reviewed by
Kervin K

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a superb time here. Stopped last year when going to nephew's wedding in Bath and we were very impressed. We arrived much later that expected but the staff were really helpful and welcoming. Should have done review then but hopefully the fact that we returned can be treated as a review in itself! The rooms are nicely furnished, Marion says (and I agree) the beds sooo comfortable and the breakfast entirely removed the need to eat until the evening - beautifully cooked and plentiful. All the staff we have met are polite and helpful. Even the winding stairs and unexpected turns just add the the charm!

Reviewed by
Keith S

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, friendly people, quiet despite being fairly central

Reviewed by
G Marshall

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Plus
Excellent location for exploring Bath on foot. Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
JOHN KISBEY

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay: centrally located, nice pub, friendly staff and comfortable room!

Reviewed by
B Rockwell

From Netherlands
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming staff and good location
Nice pub, lovely staff, helpful and co-operative, excellent ,location and good food. The room (no 6 ) was fairly small but clean and the bed was great, really comfortable. Quite expensive, but that's Bath, especially on a bank holiday weekend which this was. We were happy with the accommodation, the location and the staff.

Reviewed by
Lynne F

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find. Would recommend and stay again.
Exactly what we needed for our one night stay in Bath. Close to the centre, friendly staff, clean room, comfy beds. We stayed in a top floor room and the ceilings are low but added to the charm and cosy feel. Breakfast good, serving choice of cold and hot food. Would stay away.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Griffin Inn Review
Pub is nice, food is nice also and the staff are very friendly. good Location . and slept well there.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A rare find in Bath
We stayed in the Griffin for the second time, following a number of previous unsatisfactory experiences in Bath. It is located very conveniently near the city centre, close to a long-stay car-park and away from the worst of the utterly confusing one-way system. As on our previous visit the staff were most friendly and went out their way to help us with directions and advice and carrying our bags. Room was spacious, comfortable, nicely presented and well-equipped. Breakfast was exceptionally good - the poached egg with smoked salmon much to be recommended. First choice again for any future visit to Bath.

Reviewed by
M Edmonds

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, friendly pub
The Griffin is a quaint little pub tucked away in the heart of Bath and only a short step from the Theatre (the purpose of our stay). The room was very comfortable - I particularly liked the availability of cafetiere coffee in the room as well as the usual sachet of instant. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.

Reviewed by
Amanda Haylock

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next