Reviews - Cargo

0

20-22 Oxford Street , ,, Southampton, SO14 3DJ

Price From 139.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Turner

  • May 2015

Good Hotel in a convenient location

We arrived at the hotel at 1730 and was checked in by a very helpful man in the bar.

He was polite and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean tidy and pretty well turned out. The finishing touch was the Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Breakfast the following morning was really nice with a good choice to cater for all, one thing that did let it down was that it took nearly fifty minutes for it to be presented from our arrival in the restaurant. I'm not sure why the delay was that long as only three tables were ordering at the same time.

Apart from that slight issue if you're in a rush. I would use the hotel again.

  • Simon B

  • March 2015

Tired, top floor room, with intermittent wi-fi, muddled service and dismal service!

Arrived 2015 and 'hotel' check in is same as bar service.

Parking arrangements muddled, eventually got into dark space behind with no signage and with loose slabs up into property, only to wait again for service, as public bar was being served over 'hotel' guests. Very noisy. Wifi very slow and intermittent. Tried to get another drink and had to wait whilst cleaning tables or smoking outside. Reduced height standing space in loft bedroom four flights stairs up past smelly wcs. No bath in ensuite, but had a glow in dark strip around basin, and freezing cold in March with no heating. Shower smallest I've ever seen. Wardrobe didn't open properly. Paint peeling off ceiling. This is not a hotel!

  • M Bell

  • March 2015

Good location excellent breakfast very pleasant helpful staff

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Asked for room away from noise as it is a restaurant downstairs and had room at top of house. I'd walked from station and staff offered to carry my bag which I was grateful for. Separate door to exit and enter so you don't have to go through bar area if you don't want to. Breakfast excellent and available 7.00 to 12.00 so very flexible whatever your plans are.

  • James Cole

  • November 2014

Very poor experience

The room wasn't ready, there were no toiletries, the room was dirty and didn't look like it had been used for some time.

  • PHILLIPA McCARTHY

  • November 2014

Cargo stay

The hotel was bit tired room could have done with some updated furniture but beds and pillows especially comfortable.

The staff were excellent. Very friendly ad very knowledgeable about the area and what to do and where to go. Breakfast is served up until 12 midday which is excellent if you are out partying the night before which we were

The Cargo is superbly located in Oxford street Southampton. Within a radius of about 200 yards there were about 10 restaurants of all varieties, ie Thai, Chinese, Brazilian, Italian etc. Also several bars and pubs. Also located very near to the London hotel which is brilliant club catering for all ages- didn't at my age feel at all out of place. My friend was equally impressed with the staff, service, location etc and we will definitely be going back in the near future

  • victoria m

  • November 2014

excellent!

We had a wonderful friendly welcome from all the staff and stayed in the loft room which was very large and comfortable.

Location is excellent for alll Southampton has to offer. We had an evening meal in the bar which again was excellent. Great selection of breakfast with the eggy bread and eggs benedict choice we were very impressed. Definitely recommend Cargo

  • Kevin N

  • October 2014

Nice hotel and staff

Great location, although if you want an early night there is street and bar noise, we had a first floor Main Street room so ask for a room at the back.

The room was spacious quirky and very clean, great breakfast and staff.

  • Karen S

  • October 2014

Bit overpriced and strange set up

Staff were friendly enough but I think the owners need to rethink the check-in process.

Guests are asked to check in at the bar facing out to the bar area, will all their details displayed on the screen and being discussed with them in full earshot of the bar. They are then lead up the various flights of stairs by one of the guys at the bar. Rooms were quirky as per description and although small, they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast options were good but when food arrived the poached eggs were way too runny and just made the whole dish a bit of a soggy mess.

  • M Gong

  • July 2014

superior room

Great location.

We have stayed at cargo before so knew to expect plenty of noise from oxford st, what we were unsure about is why room 1 is given the title "superior room" when it is nothing of the sort. There is no air conditioning and no bath as requested. The towels need replacing and the carpet looks tired.On the plus side the staff are very friendly and polite and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Jill H

  • July 2014

Perfect venue!

We were so happy with our stay a Cargo - we were welcomed on our arrival and were very impressed with the décor of the hotel in general.

Our room was immaculately clean with lovely white bedding and we had a beautiful bathroom. Our room was a little warm but a fan was at hand to keep us cool. The hotel is situated in a busy road with lots of restaurants and we were told it can be noisy at night but we did not experience any problems. The staff were excellent as was the very generous breakfast. We would certainly use Cargo when we visit the Southampton area again.