No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cargo

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
20-22 Oxford Street, , , Southampton, SO14 3DJ
We hope you'll find real magic in your stay at Cargo. From the moment you enter our stunningly designed lounge and bar area, where you will be greeted by our friendly and experienced team, our aim will be to look after you. Our elegant boutique bedrooms are individually designed with luxury and relaxation in mind. An eclectic mix of furnishings combined with high tech comforts provide you with a perfect home from home experience. All our rooms have beautiful beds covered in fine linens, with walk-in power showers, high tech televisions with DVD players, as well as complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water. Breakfast is included for hotel guests and is served from 7.00am every day (except weekends from 8.00am- when we think everyone deserves a lie in!) through to 11.00am for those lazy mornings when you're in no rush. We also have a stunning loft room, which is the perfect place for a getaway or romantic break. This has all of our usual features plus a double sized shower, a television and a large sofa which mean this really is the best room in the house!
Picture of Cargo, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cargo stay
The hotel was bit tired room could have done with some updated furniture but beds and pillows especially comfortable.
The staff were excellent. Very friendly ad very knowledgeable about the area and what to do and where to go.
Breakfast is served up until 12 midday which is excellent if you are out partying the night before which we were
The Cargo is superbly located in Oxford street Southampton. Within a radius of about 200 yards there were about 10 restaurants of all varieties, ie Thai, Chinese, Brazilian, Italian etc. Also several bars and pubs. Also located very near to the London hotel which is brilliant club catering for all ages- didn't at my age feel at all out of place. My friend was equally impressed with the staff, service, location etc and we will definitely be going back in the near future

Reviewed by
PHILLIPA McCARTHY

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent!
We had a wonderful friendly welcome from all the staff and stayed in the loft room which was very large and comfortable. Location is excellent for alll Southampton has to offer. We had an evening meal in the bar which again was excellent. Great selection of breakfast with the eggy bread and eggs benedict choice we were very impressed! Definitely recommend Cargo

Reviewed by
victoria m

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit overpriced and strange set up
Staff were friendly enough but I think the owners need to rethink the check-in process. Guests are asked to check in at the bar facing out to the bar area, will all their details displayed on the screen and being discussed with them in full earshot of the bar. They are then lead up the various flights of stairs by one of the guys at the bar.
Rooms were quirky as per description and although small, they were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast options were good but when food arrived the poached eggs were way too runny and just made the whole dish a bit of a soggy mess.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and staff
Great location, although if you want an early night there is street and bar noise, we had a first floor Main Street room so ask for a room at the back.
The room was spacious quirky and very clean, great breakfast and staff.

Reviewed by
Kevin N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superior room
Great location. We have stayed at cargo before so knew to expect plenty of noise from oxford st, what we were unsure about is why room 1 is given the title "superior room" when it is nothing of the sort. There is no air conditioning and no bath as requested. The towels need replacing and the carpet looks tired.On the plus side the staff are very friendly and polite and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
M Gong

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue!
We were so happy with our stay a Cargo - we were welcomed on our arrival and were very impressed with the décor of the hotel in general. Our room was immaculately clean with lovely white bedding and we had a beautiful bathroom. Our room was a little warm but a fan was at hand to keep us cool. The hotel is situated in a busy road with lots of restaurants and we were told it can be noisy at night but we did not experience any problems. The staff were excellent as was the very generous breakfast! We would certainly use Cargo when we visit the Southampton area again.

Reviewed by
Jill H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay
A very nice stay with welcoming and helpful staff, located just off the city centre about a 5 minute walk. I would definately stay here again

Reviewed by
S Burns

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay on the way to the Isle of Wight
Welcome genuine and service first class. Excellent breakfast. The location was in the vibrant centre of Southampton's night-life. Superb for the younger generation but to mature soul a little daunting.
Noisy but, unexpectedly, the comfort of the bed soon redeemed the situation.

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast - and you dont expect the grosvenor for this money
A bit noisy both from outside (not the fault of Cargo) and inside from the room upstairs. The accommodation was a little tired, with a number of small things but no 'stoppers' (switches not working, Bathroom radiator leaks, shower head not great and some sink lights broken) and the interim cleaning could have been better, but for £85 it was spacious enough, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and great location.
Really friendly staff, very helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Fantastic breakfasts, absolutely enormous! Situated in a great location for nights out and the docks. My room was very nice but I did have a problem with both the shower and the heating. This was dealt with very efficiently though. Bar staff/reception staff were great.

Reviewed by
Amanda e

From solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next