No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cargo

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
20-22 Oxford Street, , , Southampton, SO14 3DJ
We hope you'll find real magic in your stay at Cargo. From the moment you enter our stunningly designed lounge and bar area, where you will be greeted by our friendly and experienced team, our aim will be to look after you. Our elegant boutique bedrooms are individually designed with luxury and relaxation in mind. An eclectic mix of furnishings combined with high tech comforts provide you with a perfect home from home experience. All our rooms have beautiful beds covered in fine linens, with walk-in power showers, high tech televisions with DVD players, as well as complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water. Breakfast is included for hotel guests and is served from 7.00am every day (except weekends from 8.00am- when we think everyone deserves a lie in!) through to 11.00am for those lazy mornings when you're in no rush. We also have a stunning loft room, which is the perfect place for a getaway or romantic break. This has all of our usual features plus a double sized shower, a television and a large sofa which mean this really is the best room in the house!
Picture of Cargo, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue!
We were so happy with our stay a Cargo - we were welcomed on our arrival and were very impressed with the décor of the hotel in general. Our room was immaculately clean with lovely white bedding and we had a beautiful bathroom. Our room was a little warm but a fan was at hand to keep us cool. The hotel is situated in a busy road with lots of restaurants and we were told it can be noisy at night but we did not experience any problems. The staff were excellent as was the very generous breakfast! We would certainly use Cargo when we visit the Southampton area again.

Reviewed by
Jill H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superior room
Great location. We have stayed at cargo before so knew to expect plenty of noise from oxford st, what we were unsure about is why room 1 is given the title "superior room" when it is nothing of the sort. There is no air conditioning and no bath as requested. The towels need replacing and the carpet looks tired.On the plus side the staff are very friendly and polite and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
M Gong

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay on the way to the Isle of Wight
Welcome genuine and service first class. Excellent breakfast. The location was in the vibrant centre of Southampton's night-life. Superb for the younger generation but to mature soul a little daunting.
Noisy but, unexpectedly, the comfort of the bed soon redeemed the situation.

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay
A very nice stay with welcoming and helpful staff, located just off the city centre about a 5 minute walk. I would definately stay here again

Reviewed by
S Burns

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast - and you dont expect the grosvenor for this money
A bit noisy both from outside (not the fault of Cargo) and inside from the room upstairs. The accommodation was a little tired, with a number of small things but no 'stoppers' (switches not working, Bathroom radiator leaks, shower head not great and some sink lights broken) and the interim cleaning could have been better, but for £85 it was spacious enough, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and great location.
Really friendly staff, very helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Fantastic breakfasts, absolutely enormous! Situated in a great location for nights out and the docks. My room was very nice but I did have a problem with both the shower and the heating. This was dealt with very efficiently though. Bar staff/reception staff were great.

Reviewed by
Amanda e

From solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely and very nicely decorated. The food was also really good.
It was just a tad awkward arriving and not sure whether we had to go through the bar or not to get to the hotel.

Reviewed by
B Maple

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy room
The loft room is a joke because it is very noisy with the water noise coming from the roof
It also has a leaking shower & door.
Apart from that all ok.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Room was clean and tidy and we had no issues at all.
The staff are beyond helpful and made our stay extra special by their customer service.
Breakfast was superb.
Location in a great area.

Reviewed by
Gillian F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room adjoined another which meant at midnight when talking normally we were told to 'shut up ' by the guest next door. We could hear them coughing so wall/ partition not adequate to seperate two rooms. Also, room too hot with no visible means to turn radiator down and we did not feel comfortable with leaving window open as outside there was a flat roof directly leading pn to our room. Staff very freindly and room clean so a shame . Well placed for eateries too

Reviewed by
S Moore

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next