Reviews - The Old Stone Trough Country Lodge


Colne Road Kelbrook, Barnoldswick, BB186XY

Price From 94.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lee M

  • November 2015

Yorkshire dales Bargain stay

Nice clean place.

Good value. Recommend the chilli.

  • Malcolm C

  • November 2015

Not up to much

Stayed a few years ago and had poor experience.

Response of management to us (and others who complained) was that a refurbishment was coming that year. Three years later and no change, tiny room, grubby, very hard bed, minute bathroom with outdated shower and nowhere to put toiletries, faulty sliding doors on shower. Could sit on toilet and wash hands in basin at same time. Poor lighting in bedroom (no bedside lamps -actually there was no room for them the room was so small). Tried to overcharge us when we paid by putting wrong price for food on the bill (not the only ones this has happened to).

  • David B

  • November 2015

very good stay was able to check in early, pleasently comfortable

  • Judith A

  • September 2015

convenient for Skipton

Very pleasant stay.

Good breakfast.

  • Nicola B

  • August 2015

Below par

Not impressed that a king sized bed room top range booking for a couple and there was one towel in the shower with a note to ask at reception for more.

Reception was unmanned with a note to go to bar. Having traveled many miles and being tired already,this was an unexpectedly unwelcome end to our journey. The fan in the toilet/shower was intermittent and the white bedding had black stains on it.

  • margaret o

  • August 2015

friendly welcome

We were tired after a long journey and arrived to a warm friendly welcome.

Got checked in to a comfortable room had a lovely shower to freshen up before returning to the bar for something to eat and drink , lots of choice service was excellent . defo going to use this pace again . Breakfast was fab too service quick and so very helpful .

  • damian c

  • July 2015

Room was clean,tidy,everything worked,staff very helpful and friendly,nothing was too much trouble,good value for money.

  • I Dickinson

  • July 2015

Nice out of the way place to spend time

My girlfriend and I decided on the Old Stone Trough to stay overnight as we were in the area and reading the reviews, it was a recommendation.

Overall I would say that it is a great place to stay but with some minor issues. Mind you "issues" is too strong a word really. So the issues. Well it comes down to the room, they are a little smaller than you would expect, and don't have air con.

On the other hand, they are spotless, well appointed and have all the features you would expect. Told you it was minor. As for the rest of the hotel. Well, I cannot fault the staff. They are superb and cannot help you enough. Food. We had the special on the menu, and boy was it hearty and tasty, we were talking about it for days afterwards. Breakfast. Superb. all locally sourced produce and as a result one of the best breakfasts we have tasted in a hotel. So would we recommend the place. But of course. Just don't expect premier inn sized rooms, but what you do get more than compensates for that.

  • d lear

  • July 2015

The Old Stone Trough Country Lodge

could do with a spruce up but everything important top marks

  • T Gunningham

  • November 2014

A very pleasant place to stay which is central to the area. Will definitely stay there again