No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Forresters Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Square, Kilburn, Nr. Thirsk, York, YO61 4AH
The bed and breakfast accommodation was recently acquired by Nigel and Dawn Pattinson, who until recently also ran ‘the Dog and Gun’ public house at nearby Carlton Miniott. Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for, not discounting the nine guestrooms, which are now all en-suite with television, tea/coffee, bath and/or shower facilities. Next door to the B&B accommodation is the famous Robert ‘Mousey’ Thompson workshops, which is situated very close to the visitor centre. Both of our bars are furnished with some fine examples of his early work, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and will appeal to all ages. The bars are still staunchly supported by the locals, who welcome visitors, and are more than happy to wile away the nights recounting many a local tale! Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce. This is the heart of James Herriot Country, within the North York Moors National Park. The Forresters is well recomended as a touring base having outstsnding accomodation.
Picture of Forresters Arms Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wind down weekend
Lovely place to stay. Friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. If we were to stay again I think I would ask for a room at the back of the pub as it was a bit noisy but then it was very warm and we had the windows open. Handy for York and not too far away from Scarborough.

Reviewed by
lynn p

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

forresters arms kilburn... hidden gem
On arrival we were met by a friendly lady working behind the bar who checked us in ,we were shown to our room but when opening the door we were met by a double bed ,which started a panic as we were two guys down for the racing and had booked a family room with a single bed also.
I went downstairs to complain and the matter was sorted in no time
The food was excellent ,large portions and well priced. Breakfast in the morning 8.30 - 9.30 was fresh well cooked local produce and a good selection.
The village itself is very very very quite .HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Reviewed by
j morton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable accommodation, staff very friendly and helpful. Foot very good. Well located for visiting local attractions.

Reviewed by
E Croyle

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant accommodation, comfortable in a peaceful location.
Enjoyable short walks on doorstep.
Staff very helpful and attentive.

Reviewed by
W Young

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay, friendly an homely.

Reviewed by
jane b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, simple check in and helpful staff. The evening meal was well presented and very enjoyable. Hearty breakfasts set you up for the day. Ideal place to stay, central to most places you may want to visit.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accommodation
Stayed for a night at the Forresters Arms Hotel, Kilburn with family and thoroughly enjoyed the stay from start to finish. Great pub full of character, with open fire, friendly staff. Set in a really picturesque village, steeped in history, with the famous Mouseman museum/gallery. Will definitely recommend to everyone and hope to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Carol R

From Alloa, Scotland
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inn in a lovely village
Very welcoming inn with great food. If you prefer a pub with good drinks, an open fire and great food give it a try. Breakfast was good too!

Reviewed by
david r

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very warm welcome, great food and comfortable room
We will be back as we like the area and the Forresters Arms was just what we wanted

Reviewed by
P T

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub in a lovely area
Stayed just the one night but had a pleasant stay. Was a bit concerned at first as the room was over part of the pub including the entrance and could hear everything that was being said in room below but noise stopped fairly early and I had a good nights sleep (and I'm a light sleeper!). Breakfast was good. Also ate an evening meal which was nice but a bit expensive (but you are out in the sticks). Would happily recommend it and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sue B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next