No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Forresters Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Square, Kilburn, Nr. Thirsk, York, YO61 4AH
The bed and breakfast accommodation was recently acquired by Nigel and Dawn Pattinson, who until recently also ran ‘the Dog and Gun’ public house at nearby Carlton Miniott. Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for, not discounting the nine guestrooms, which are now all en-suite with television, tea/coffee, bath and/or shower facilities. Next door to the B&B accommodation is the famous Robert ‘Mousey’ Thompson workshops, which is situated very close to the visitor centre. Both of our bars are furnished with some fine examples of his early work, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and will appeal to all ages. The bars are still staunchly supported by the locals, who welcome visitors, and are more than happy to wile away the nights recounting many a local tale! Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce. This is the heart of James Herriot Country, within the North York Moors National Park. The Forresters is well recomended as a touring base having outstsnding accomodation.
Picture of Forresters Arms Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable room
Really enjoyed our stay. Room and facilities very good. Friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast very good. The bed was too soft for us, but that is just a personal preference.

Reviewed by
J Whitehead

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

proper pub accommodation
If you are looking for a simple pub that does great food and adequate accommodation then the Forrester's Arms is ideal. Rooms are okay, clean, tidy and quite comfortable. It seems a bit of a drop off point for ramblers who pop in for a few pints on their way through. The food is excellent, big home cooked breakfast and top notch pub grub in the evening. Decent pint with one or two local brews. Landlord was friendly and helpful as were his staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
stephen l

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights at The FForresters Arms
Welcomed on arrival at this 13th century inn in th quiet and picturesque village of Kilburn in Yorkshire. . Room was charming with a comfortable 4 poster bed and en suite bathroom. Bar and restaurant ambience traditional in keeping with the age of the building. Good food with choice of cask ales to wash it down. Only criticism is that they could do with a choice of smaller portions for those with smaller appetites but perhaps they don't find many folk like that in Yorkshire!

Reviewed by
David Ellis

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Forresters' Arms, Kilburn
The Forresters' Arms was cosy and comfortable. We had a warm welcome from the owner's daughter who continued to be a friendly presence throughout our stay. Our room was small but clean and well-furnished. The food was hearty and plentiful and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast with local, named products. Our visit across the road to the Robert Thompson [Mouseman] Museum was fascinating. Two hours vanished before we emerged; great cafe too.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wind down weekend
Lovely place to stay. Friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. If we were to stay again I think I would ask for a room at the back of the pub as it was a bit noisy but then it was very warm and we had the windows open. Handy for York and not too far away from Scarborough.

Reviewed by
lynn p

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

forresters arms kilburn... hidden gem
On arrival we were met by a friendly lady working behind the bar who checked us in ,we were shown to our room but when opening the door we were met by a double bed ,which started a panic as we were two guys down for the racing and had booked a family room with a single bed also.
I went downstairs to complain and the matter was sorted in no time
The food was excellent ,large portions and well priced. Breakfast in the morning 8.30 - 9.30 was fresh well cooked local produce and a good selection.
The village itself is very very very quite .HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Reviewed by
j morton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable accommodation, staff very friendly and helpful. Foot very good. Well located for visiting local attractions.

Reviewed by
E Croyle

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant accommodation, comfortable in a peaceful location.
Enjoyable short walks on doorstep.
Staff very helpful and attentive.

Reviewed by
W Young

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay, friendly an homely.

Reviewed by
jane b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, simple check in and helpful staff. The evening meal was well presented and very enjoyable. Hearty breakfasts set you up for the day. Ideal place to stay, central to most places you may want to visit.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next