No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Platos

5AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
No 2 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AT
Nestling in the heart of the market town of Kirkby Lonsdale Platos is ideally placed to explore the Lune Valley Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Newly furnished Georgian town house, Platos has the boutique-style bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, under-floor heating and luxury vi-spring beds. Outstanding restaurant and relaxing bar area ensures your stay is as comfortable as being at home. Check-in from 14.00, check-out 11.00, breakfast 08.00 - 14.30.
Picture of Platos, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely small town. Friendly staff. Nice restaurant with excellent food

Reviewed by
richard d

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, great location.
Food very good, staff very friendly and helpful.
Will definatly be back.
Very relaxing.

Reviewed by
deborah tinsley

From Mnachester, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Accommodation .
Warm welcome from all staff.Upgraded.Room very well decorated and a sumptuous bathroom.Had evening meal and breakfast cooked by friendly chef as we watched.Great location on town centre.Parking in short supply but again staff happy to assist with this.
Would happily use again.

Reviewed by
Steve Schofield

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in room 6: bed really comfy, shower great, room very clean, staff friendly and welcoming
Excellent

Reviewed by
Alison L

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not What I Was Expecting
Normally I find that Gastro Pub's offer mediocre accomodation but Plato's bedrooms would stand shoulder to shoulder with many 5 star hotels. Beautifully decorated, superb fixtures and fittings and spotlessly clean. There really has been a lot of thought put into this hotel. When I booked even through laterooms I thought that it seemed a little expensive but it is honestly very good value for money.
Breakfast area was modern contemporary, lots of very nice fresh fruit and healthy options, very good coffee and the waitress who I think might have been the owner was very helpful.
Too good for business travel, I will return with my wife next time.

Reviewed by
Ian Dalgarno

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Platos Restaurant With Rooms
We stayed here in late July 2013. The service was exemplary, right from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The rooms were exquisite and the food was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant both nights that we were there and couldn't fault the food - which was good value for money. We had stayed there because we were doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge and as we had to leave very early (6am) on the Saturday morning and would be too early for breakfast in the restaurant, the staff were kind enough to leave a breakfast tray outside our bedroom door so that we could eat early before setting out. All in all - a very lovely place.

Reviewed by
R Barlow

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best of All Worlds
This reviewer has known Kirkby Lonsdale for almost fifty years, in which time it has transformed from a workman-like and functional town in a beautiful location into a boutique resort. There are a number of establishments which have contributed to that transformation and Plato's is one of them. The operators have managed to combine "big corporate" standards of service, presentation and efficiency with "small family-run" friendliness and quality. Rooms, public areas and food are first class and, based on our experience, the (mostly young) staff are empowered to resolve problems. There was a mix-up with our bill, caused no doubt by there being two other guests with the same surname staying at the hotel at the same time. We were billed for their dinner and wine as well as our own, some of which we spotted on check-out and some of which we didn't spot until later. No matter! The situation was resolved quickly and without having to activate a lengthy chain of command. Very rare these days. Well done!

Reviewed by
Alex M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly nothing to much trouble attentive but mot overbearing

Reviewed by
Sheila W

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had an excellent stay, food was great and staff were great also. The lamb was to die for.

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Place to Stay
Expensive if you play the full price but with Laterooms very good quality for the money and excellent breakfast. Only issue was with the lack of sound proofing between the bedrooms. We could hear talking & TV from the couple next door!!

Reviewed by
Simon R

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next