No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Connacht Hotel

Dublin Road , Galway,
The Connacht Hotel is located minutes from Galway City Centre. The city is renowned for it's culture and atmosphere, with vibrant nightlife, numerous festivals, good food, great music, golfing, horse riding and water sports. Galway has long been one of the most popular tourist destinations in Ireland.

Would guests kindly note that this hotel is totally non-smoking throughout.
Picture of The Connacht Hotel, Galway at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not overly impressed. Its the little details that make all the difference.
I paid €138 for one night b&b for my partner and myself. The Hotel exterier is impressive and the interior is lovely.. However checkin took forever with very little communication from the receptionist and then i was informed it was a 11:30am check out, personally I think this is ridiculous and way to early. I asked if I could pay for a later check out and got a very blunt NO! The hotel room was nice, very warm and noise was at a complete minimum which was great. Breakfast the next morning was an absolute joke half and hour standing in a line that was queuing right out to reception desk, even though there was a massive table and seating area to the right hand side not being used. I think if you are going to expect people to get up, down for breakfast and be checked out by 11:30 am then at least be able to cater for the amount of guests you have booked for breakfast. However when we eventually got seated for breakfast the selection and quality of the food was fantastic.

Reviewed by
N Traynor

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy, warm and very comfortable accommodation
I love the Connacht Hotel....I like the anonymity of the place.Very spacious rooms, lobby,bar and dining room. The staff are simply wonderful.

Reviewed by
Patrick Connolly

From Letterfrack, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel in a great location

Reviewed by
B O Neill

From Tipperary, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel needs a refurbishment. Breakfast not good.

Reviewed by
B Mc Glynn

From Letterkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very unhappy with this hotel, no shower gel in the room, unfriendly waiting staff.
When we arrived in the hotel my boyfriend used the hotel bathroom where a cleaner was cleaning up sick off the ground! We then ate lunch in the restaurant where we had to wait ages for our food and the waitress was not sure what we ordered and was quite rude. We were then over charged by 4 euro. When we were in the room while it was clean there was no shower gel in either container and we were woken up by a cleaner Sunday morning who walked into our room. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
m troy

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Very welcoming, clean and tidy. All staff very friendly
Only issues were, having to ask for tea and coffe at breakfast. When it came, the coffee was like black tar. The tea tasted of coffee as it was in a coffee pot. Had to get both sent back to be changed.
Entertainment in evening was good.

Reviewed by
John Laughlin

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We enjoyed our short stay at the Connacht hotel lovely room and a fab leisure centre

Reviewed by
Clare D

From Dublin 18, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tiny fridge in room would be nice and a spa trearment

Reviewed by
s gallagher

From Strabane, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vegetarian food...?
The hotel was excellent all round ...Apart from the vegetarian options for dining.
The Connacht apparently believe that vegetarians eat anchovies and smoked salmon. So at first glance there seems to be a good selection of items on menus which are marked "V" - but on reading you find there are only one or two, becuase the rest contain fishes or other seafoods.
Could do better, lads..!

Reviewed by
D Gannon

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel with Good Facilities
I stayed for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel is easy to find and is quite large, it takes in a number of coach parties but you don't notice this and there is no hold up at check in o out. The rooms are a good size and there are good leisure facilities. Food is fine, WiFI works well and staff are really friendly and helpful. the place has a nice atmosphere and is a good base for touring the local area.
happy to go again when I am next in the area.!

Reviewed by
David Potts

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next