No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Connacht Hotel

Dublin Road , Galway,
The Connacht Hotel is located minutes from Galway City Centre. The city is renowned for it's culture and atmosphere, with vibrant nightlife, numerous festivals, good food, great music, golfing, horse riding and water sports. Galway has long been one of the most popular tourist destinations in Ireland.

Would guests kindly note that this hotel is totally non-smoking throughout.
Picture of The Connacht Hotel, Galway at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel needs a refurbishment. Breakfast not good.

Reviewed by
B Mc Glynn

From Letterkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very unhappy with this hotel, no shower gel in the room, unfriendly waiting staff.
When we arrived in the hotel my boyfriend used the hotel bathroom where a cleaner was cleaning up sick off the ground! We then ate lunch in the restaurant where we had to wait ages for our food and the waitress was not sure what we ordered and was quite rude. We were then over charged by 4 euro. When we were in the room while it was clean there was no shower gel in either container and we were woken up by a cleaner Sunday morning who walked into our room. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
m troy

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Very welcoming, clean and tidy. All staff very friendly
Only issues were, having to ask for tea and coffe at breakfast. When it came, the coffee was like black tar. The tea tasted of coffee as it was in a coffee pot. Had to get both sent back to be changed.
Entertainment in evening was good.

Reviewed by
John Laughlin

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We enjoyed our short stay at the Connacht hotel lovely room and a fab leisure centre

Reviewed by
Clare D

From Dublin 18, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tiny fridge in room would be nice and a spa trearment

Reviewed by
s gallagher

From Strabane, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vegetarian food...?
The hotel was excellent all round ...Apart from the vegetarian options for dining.
The Connacht apparently believe that vegetarians eat anchovies and smoked salmon. So at first glance there seems to be a good selection of items on menus which are marked "V" - but on reading you find there are only one or two, becuase the rest contain fishes or other seafoods.
Could do better, lads..!

Reviewed by
D Gannon

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel with Good Facilities
I stayed for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel is easy to find and is quite large, it takes in a number of coach parties but you don't notice this and there is no hold up at check in o out. The rooms are a good size and there are good leisure facilities. Food is fine, WiFI works well and staff are really friendly and helpful. the place has a nice atmosphere and is a good base for touring the local area.
happy to go again when I am next in the area.!

Reviewed by
David Potts

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to spend some quality time
My advice is that, the management should try and provide some toothpaste and shower cap in the rooms.I did asked one of the staffs but she said there's a place about 5mins walk, that I should go there and get some. I came from Dublin for a programme and I didnt know anywhere in Galway.
I'd to be calling people to get me some toothpaste, I ate out and very late that day. Aside that, I enjoyed my stay. Great staffs

Reviewed by
O Da Silva

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Irish charm!
Warm welcome, excellent room, food not the best but not the worst, only downside was that it was quite noisy. I could hear every one passing on their way to or from their rooms.

Reviewed by
Matthew S

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value business stay

Reviewed by
Lorraine M

From Malin Head, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next