No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Howfield Manor

3Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
HOWFIELD MANOR, HOWFIELD LANE , CANTERBURY, CT4 7HQ
This intimate and historic hotel is 2 miles from Canterbury and close to Dover, Ashford and the Eurostar.

There are 15 bedrooms, some of which date back to the 1640s. A small part of the building is thought to date back to around 1350.

Enjoy freshly cooked French-style cuisine in the romantic restaurant.

The family-run hotel has 5 acres of gardens and is surrounded by fruit trees and the hills of the North Downs. It is minutes away from Canterbury city centre.
Picture of Howfield Manor, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisinlg good overnight .....a hidden gem.
Room 15 was larger than expected, well appointed and quiet with views over the garden and terrace.
Room 12 slightly smaller but with dual aspect where you can relax on the bed and look at the surrounding open land , trees and greenery. Both rooms were fully eqiupped with everyhting you might need including iron and board, trouser press and hairdryer. Furnishings comfortable and clean and very relaxing.
Restaurant food was a hit with with suberb flavour, presentation and quality. Breakfast was to the same standard and plentiful.
Would thoroughly recommend Howfield Manor Hotel and will be definitely staying there again.

Reviewed by
Lynne Austin

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most enjoyable stay with friendly top class service . Food was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. Would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ronald S

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and a very relaxing stay
Stayed at the Howfield Manor for two evenings and wished we had booked longer! Lovely hotel and grounds, perfectly situated for our stay. Canterbury is just a few minutes drive away, but not so close that you feel you are staying in town.
We had planned to dine out, but found the onsite restaurant and bar facilities more than adequate. Ideal for a few relaxing days as no additional travelling was required in the evenings.
Staff were easy to locate, friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Our only minor gripe was the location of our room (directly above the kitchen) resulted in the occasion cooking smell drifting in through the window. All the smells were good though, so that should be the room of choice for any cooking enthusiasts!

Reviewed by
S White

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Stay
Beautiful building. Would make a great venue for a wedding. Lovely gardens and grounds. My wife and I only stayed for one night, but will definitely go back when we next visit this part of Kent. The food was fantastic! Alex and his team were very attentive and made us feel most welcome.

Reviewed by
Lee Goodes

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend
The staff were very friendly and helpful, lovely quiet location and very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Siobhan N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor miserable and tired
Just not a pleasant hotel at all. Old tired and surrounded by industrial units next to the A28 with nowhere else nearby. No wi-fi as promised. No mini fridge as promised. Pumped noisy shower which delivered a trickle. Asked for a quiet room and was given one over the kitchens so it smelt of food and the kitchen fans were turned on at 5 a.m. although breakfast (miserable) wasn't served until 7.30 a.m. Would never stay again and it is worth about £50 p.n. tops

Reviewed by
Derek T

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three night stay
We found the hotel comfortable and and relaxing. The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. The room was adequately furnished, even providing ironing board and iron; very useful to take creases out of shirts etc. The slight downsize, the bathroom, although clean, required some updating. The hotel was surrounded by extensive grounds with good seating to relax in.
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and will certainly stay there when visiting Canterbury.

Reviewed by
peter c

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night away
Hotel was lovely, service very friendly, but room a little small and disappointing

Reviewed by
leslie barratt

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Howfield Manor
We stayed one night, paying £99 through LateRooms.com for a double with walk in shower, full English breakfast and dinner. This was an absolute bargain compared with the normal room price of £120 including breakfast. The room was perfectly adequate, if nothing special (possibly because we stipulated a walk in shower and there may not be many), but the food was excellent and the staff could not have been more friendly and attentive. The extensive gardens were pleasant and the hotel is situated on the outskirts of Canterbury in a country setting. Very quiet.

Reviewed by
J Mollan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury break
Great hotel with great customer service. Food excellent and good value for money. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next