No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Howfield Manor

3Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
HOWFIELD MANOR, HOWFIELD LANE , CANTERBURY, CT4 7HQ
This intimate and historic hotel is 2 miles from Canterbury and close to Dover, Ashford and the Eurostar.

There are 15 bedrooms, some of which date back to the 1640s. A small part of the building is thought to date back to around 1350.

Enjoy freshly cooked French-style cuisine in the romantic restaurant.

The family-run hotel has 5 acres of gardens and is surrounded by fruit trees and the hills of the North Downs. It is minutes away from Canterbury city centre.
Picture of Howfield Manor, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay
My husband and I went away for my 40th birthday it was a chance to just relax without the kids and have some us time. We only booked the day before and were pleasantly surprised what we got for our money. The room had all you would need and was lovely and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and breakfast was lovely. I would defo stay here again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
C Fenton

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful setting and really helpful staff.

Reviewed by
I KAY

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant and highly recommended
I really enjoyed saying here! It was relaxing, cosy and comfortable. The room was wonderful, the staff were exceptional and the food was outstanding!

Reviewed by
P Grewal

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really couldn't fault it. The Staff were superb, the food outstanding and the bed extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
george Garman

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quiet location. Super Restaurant and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Michael Devlin

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied customers
This is my wife's new favourite hotel. Fantastic room, excellent value for money, good food and all in a nice setting. The excellent and attentive service however, is what really makes the difference. The staff are excellent, from the chap who offered us help despite clearly being on his way home to the polite and unobtrusive reception and restaurant service - great job all round! We shall return.

Reviewed by
Kieron Philpott

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful place to stay
Enjoyed the Manor. Location was convenient to Canterbury, the room was comfortable and the Staff were kind and generous with their time. The Chef is teriffic and meals were well prepared, seasoned and presented. A teriffic venue for small weddings, reunions and business meetings. You won't be disappointed. It is not especially handicapped friendly however as there are stairs even for the ground floor units. With that in mind, I have already recommended Howfield to several people.

Reviewed by
C Danluck

From miami, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful break
Lovely setting. Very close to Canterbury. Staff were wonderful and food was extremely good. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Patricia Compton

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shower and sofa
It was a large and clean room unfortunately the sofa had a very bad stain on it. The shower didn't work due to the shower head being blocked up. A part from that everything else was great as this was only a one night stay we put up with the problems which we pointed out on departure, this won't put us off going again

Reviewed by
c cork

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money!
We booked this with four hours' notice after a snap decision and what a find it was! We found a warm welcome and were very nicely looked after by Radu. Despite being a bit rushed off his feet (even hotel workers have to go on holiday!) nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was superb and there is a very reasonable wine list. Good breakfast to send us on our way the next morning rounded off a very agreeable stay at Howfield Manor.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next