No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fox Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Green Matching Tye, Matching Tye, CM17 0QS
The Fox Inn is an 18th Century pub, set in the peaceful village of Matching Tye. Staying at The Fox Inn gives you all the peace and quiet of the country side, while only being a short 10 minute drive away from Harlow Town Centre, Harlow Train Station and the M11, giving access to the M25 and London. Stansted Airport is 15 minutes away with Epping train station, which is on the London Underground Central Line, being within 20 minutes.

All rooms are non-smoking and have an en-suite bathroom. Television, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and internet connection, and continental breakfast is also included.
Picture of The Fox Inn, Matching Tye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great BandB with a real pub feel
I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
I Deumayne Jones

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Nice place to stay. tidy clean rooms, nice food and good beer. Only let down is the WIFI - it is not that stable.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing
this was one of the best hotels i have stopped in (normally out 3 nights a week) the staff were amazing the room wow fridge, air con etc far more than i expexted at at £65 B&B and a meal and pint for £10 cant go wrong.

Reviewed by
Richard E

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Just excellent value for money and standard of accommodation. Exceptionally spacious bedroom and bathroom. Air conditioning and a fridge stocked with water, milk. Free wifi and continental breakfast in the room, Plenty of parking. Nice country pub and friendly welcoming staff.
A very handy place to stay if you've business north of London the following day. I will certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nostalgic trip back to Essex
The pub has an excellent atmosphere and made us feel very welcome, Matching Tye is a lovely rural quiet spot with good access to main roads if needed. Room was spotless and ideal for a short stay. A comfortable chair would be a bonus as would a separate shower cubicle. The food in the pub was very good value for money. We enjoyed our short stay and would recommend The Fox Inn to friends.

Reviewed by
Terry Wright

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We stayed for 2 nights. The Fox Inn is situated in a lovely village on the outskirts of Harlow. Room was very good with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. There is a fridge in the room which contains a continental breakfast including fresh milk ( excellent!) croissants and jam etc. This seems a great idea, enabling you to eat your breakfast in your room at anytime. Service, food and drink in the pub was excellent with a good choice on the menu. We ordered a full English breakfast, which is eaten in the pub, again very good. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Peter Womack

From France
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brill
Very pleased

Reviewed by
R Lewis

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation in nice village location
Very pleasant pub with stable block type accommodation at rear, room very nice, clean & well supplied with toiletries, fridge, TV & furniture, bed linen light & airy.
Food in pub good value, staff pleasant, all in all good value & much better than staying in Harlow (nearest town)

Reviewed by
Phil B

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

but for the wifi……..
Everything apart from the wifi was great. Unfortunately when your communication with your family many thousands of miles away depends on being able to Skype and the internet connection is down it makes everything else seem worse.

Reviewed by
Sean C

From den haag, Netherlands
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
I arrived just before 3pm.Was shown to my spotlessly clean room in 10 minutes.Had time for a lovely chilled glass of chardonnay before closing.
The evening meal was superb and copious.Two courses and a glass of wine for less than£12.The food was fantastic,lots of fresh salad and vegetables and, Meg,the little young waitress was kindness itself.
The room was very quiet and the bed so comfortable,with very good quality bedding and bathroom products.
I travel a lot and this really is one of the very best.
Plus the drive through the beautiful Essex lanes at 8 a.m.to Stansted airport was fantastic.No motorway.No traffic.

Reviewed by
STEPHANIE R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next