No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fox Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Green Matching Tye, Matching Tye, CM17 0QS
The Fox Inn is an 18th Century pub, set in the peaceful village of Matching Tye. Staying at The Fox Inn gives you all the peace and quiet of the country side, while only being a short 10 minute drive away from Harlow Town Centre, Harlow Train Station and the M11, giving access to the M25 and London. Stansted Airport is 15 minutes away with Epping train station, which is on the London Underground Central Line, being within 20 minutes.

All rooms are non-smoking and have an en-suite bathroom. Television, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and internet connection, and continental breakfast is also included.
Picture of The Fox Inn, Matching Tye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fox Inn
Stayed at the Fox Inn for a night as we were guests at a wedding near by. The room was spotless and we enjoyed both the continental and cooked breakfasts. The staff were also more than happy for us to stay beyond our check out time. Very cute pub, would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Ben P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fox Inn
Very comfortable room, very friendly staff and good food would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Philip U

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fox Inn
Lovely place, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
P George

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An interesting village pub with accommodation separate and to the rear. Very clean and nicely warm on a very cold evening with an excellent meal in the restaurant part of the pub which was also good value. Very friendly people running it all. A good find and recommended for a quiet stay.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent comfortable, spacious accommodation, friendly staff & great food, look forward to returning

Reviewed by
Adrian Claighen

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Quiet
First class friendly hospitality. Away from the hustle and bustle, tranquil and yet within easy reach of London. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very well presented and good standard of service. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
David C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at Fox Inn
A fabulous stay, the staff went above and beyond when I was unwell even getting some medication for me from the local shops. Would highly recommend this place for any age and the food in the pub is amazing.

Reviewed by
Tracey Stone-Haigh

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with room good standard for the price. We had a very good nights sleep.
my only critisism would be mugs rather than cups. Thats just a personal thing.. overall pleasantly suprised TYVM

Reviewed by
Chris Gooding

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good Stay
Well looked after. Knocks spots off a Premier Inn. Room comfortable and well furnished. Inexpensive. A proper pub with proper food and great character.

Reviewed by
Kevin Reader

From LEICESTER, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great BandB with a real pub feel
I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
I Deumayne Jones

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next