No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marchhall Accommodations

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
4 MARCHHALL CRESCENT , EDINBURGH, EH16 5HN
Friendly little victorian style house, minutes walk from Prestonfield golf club, Royal Commonwealth swimming pool, Arthur seat and Pollock halls. 20
mins walk to high street, bus stop accross the road, 12 mins to high street.

Bookings on a room only basis. Optional varied breakfast is £5, may be booked on arrival to suit from 7.30am-- 9.30am.

Free street parking , not private. Check in 3pm till 10pm.

Not ideal for young children. Free wifi availlable.
Picture of Marchhall Accommodations, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good guest house
This guest house is to the South of the city centre, a short walk away from the bottom of "Arthur's Seat" and within walking distance or bus ride of the local tourist attractions.
I stayed in the single room which was fine for my needs and had a comfy bed.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great host and fantastic location
Joanna was really helpful throughout and always made sure we were comfortable. The location is only about a 15/20 minute walk to the center with continuous buses too. The room itself was perfectly sized and great value for money

Reviewed by
Bradley Sinclair

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a place with character
Joanne is a lovely woman, really friendly & interested in your visit, she provided maps & lots of information to help up plan our visit. Breakfast is good value for money there with a very reasonable amount of food that will keep you going until lunch. Room facilities were good, hairdryer, straightens & a good size tv. The only downside to the stay was the beds are a bit springy & uncomfortable, especially as I can struggle with my back.

Reviewed by
Naomi P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
Very nice place, quiet yet not far from the centre and attractions. Joanna is lovely and welcoming and really made us feel at home. 10/10

Reviewed by
M MacSween

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

+Good value for money / + close to Arthur's Seat and Holyrood / - poor shower pressure / + welcoming
The accommodation is based in a terraced house in a quiet residential area of Edinburgh, very close to Arthur's Seat, Holyrood, as well as University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls. The free onstreet parking space was easy to find.
The owner was very welcoming and facilitating.
We only paid £54 for a double bedroom which is a good price for Edinburgh.
Our double room was roughly half the size of a standard Premier Inn double, with bathroom in the corridor. The decor was slightly outdated and could benefit from a little refurbishment. Yet, the cleanliness was satisfactory, we didn't find mould, stains, or dust.
The only real disappointment was the power shower that offered inadequate pressure of water; it took ages to shower.
On the whole, for the capital the place offers good value for money and is conveniently located, but could use a refurbishment.

ManagementResponse

Hi Jakub, lovely to have you as my guest. Concerning water pressure in shower, you may not have noticed the different power settings available? (economy or full power or cold) As for refurbishment, this was done 3 years ago, laura ashley wallpaper £28 a roll in keeping with period style, (dated) your cream leather double bed is 5 months old, receipt available. Best, Joanna

Reviewed by
Jakub S

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100% satisfaction
Joanna was very nice all the time and helped us to plan our tour.

Reviewed by
Sujan Mandal

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly bed and breakfast.
very basic accommodation but the owner was very nice and friendly. She gave me a sumptuous breakfast and drinks and mince pies on New Years Eve which was very nice. Unfortunately someone broke the bathroom lock so that was a bit inconvenient. But value for money, fairly near the centre in a very nice part of edinburgh. The owner was very helpful with information.

Reviewed by
jane d

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic New Year stay, very homey atmopshere.
We stayed at Marchhall House over New Year and truly enjoyed our visit and stay at the bed and breakfast. The landlady is very friendly and makes it a genuinely pleasant experience. For New Years she surprised us with little snacks and drinks for celebration. The breakfast was fantastic too!
On the whole it was a really easy going stay. It is just 10-15 min walk to city centre and just off Arthur's seat. Nice and quiet location.
We had a great time and would always come back for another stay.
Thank you very much!

Reviewed by
L Luckoff

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Joanna is a wonderful and incredibly gracious host!

Reviewed by
Miranda R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 night stay north of the boarder
Me and my girlfriend stayed in Edinburgh five days as part of our
holiday. We chose to stay based on location and price. We found Marchhall Accomodations to be at the best price within 1.5 mile radius (walking distance) from the centre, it also had good reviews so we booked a double room.
The place was pleasant in a quiet part of Edinburgh. We either walked
to the centre, which took around 20 to 25 minutes, or took local buses
which took between 5 and 10 min depending on the traffic; the bus stop
was 1 minute walk from the hotel. There was a nice family friendly
pub/restaurant nearby that served great food. The downside of the
location was lack of local shops or regular night buses.
The room we stayed in was a small double with a shared bathroom. We
specified in our Laterooms search that we wanted an en suite room,
therefore we were highly disappointed to have found on our arrival
that the bathroom was shared with other people. When we spoke to the
host asking if we could cancel the stay, she rightly pointed that it
was too late and presented to us the booking details which did specify
that the bathroom was shared, that however was in a small print! We
did not have bathrobes to cover ourselves, so that meant either
quickly running from and to the bathroom wrapped in a towel or
changing in the bathroom which was rather inconvenient. There was
extra toilet which was also shared, but it was blocked for the
majority of our stay. Luckily not many people shared the main bathroom
so there were rarely any queues. The bathroom was also very clean.
The room itself was clean and warm, the housekeeping was done daily.
The room had freeview, tv, mugs, regular glasses and wine glasses, and
a kettle. Tea bags and milk were provided, but once the milk was used,
it wasn't replaced. We were not bothered to ask since none of us are
big tea drinkers. The room was relatively quiet, however I
thought it lacked privacy in the small building; the host lived only a
room away, and our bedroom was neighbouring with her kitchen.
An inconvenience for me was that payment for our stay was required in cash. We were on
holiday and did not have the time to think of running to the cash
point to get the money. The host agreed to receive an immediate bank
transfer on the morning we were leaving, however with an unnecessary
comment that we had five days to get the cash (she was rather pleasant for the majority of our stay). I would say that we could have gone to town and
withdrawn the required amount on the same morning, but for some who is new to the city and staying for more than a few days the prospect of having to walk the streets with large sums of cash isn't ideal.
All in all it was a pleasant place to stay for the few days. I'd say
that the accommodation wasn't our cup of tea, but seeing many cards in
the corridor addressed to the host and thanking her for a pleasant
stay, many people have found it enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next