No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marchhall Accommodations

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
4 MARCHHALL CRESCENT , EDINBURGH, EH16 5HN
Friendly little victorian style house, minutes walk from Prestonfield golf club, Royal Commonwealth swimming pool, Arthur seat and Pollock halls. 20
mins walk to high street, bus stop accross the road, 12 mins to high street.

Bookings on a room only basis. Optional varied breakfast is £5, may be booked on arrival to suit from 7.30am-- 9.30am.

Free street parking , not private. Check in 3pm till 10pm.

Not ideal for young children. Free wifi availlable.
Picture of Marchhall Accommodations, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay.
comfortable bed, nice and quiet, slept very well. Didn't have breakfast as had to set off early.

Reviewed by
Natalia K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel, great room and in a lovely location. It was easy to get to and from the city centre on the bus and the hotel was right next to Arthur's seat.
Good value for money - we enjoyed our stay very much!

Reviewed by
Jenny C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good guest house
This guest house is to the South of the city centre, a short walk away from the bottom of "Arthur's Seat" and within walking distance or bus ride of the local tourist attractions.
I stayed in the single room which was fine for my needs and had a comfy bed.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great host and fantastic location
Joanna was really helpful throughout and always made sure we were comfortable. The location is only about a 15/20 minute walk to the center with continuous buses too. The room itself was perfectly sized and great value for money

Reviewed by
Bradley Sinclair

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a place with character
Joanne is a lovely woman, really friendly & interested in your visit, she provided maps & lots of information to help up plan our visit. Breakfast is good value for money there with a very reasonable amount of food that will keep you going until lunch. Room facilities were good, hairdryer, straightens & a good size tv. The only downside to the stay was the beds are a bit springy & uncomfortable, especially as I can struggle with my back.

Reviewed by
Naomi P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
Very nice place, quiet yet not far from the centre and attractions. Joanna is lovely and welcoming and really made us feel at home. 10/10

Reviewed by
M MacSween

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

+Good value for money / + close to Arthur's Seat and Holyrood / - poor shower pressure / + welcoming
The accommodation is based in a terraced house in a quiet residential area of Edinburgh, very close to Arthur's Seat, Holyrood, as well as University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls. The free onstreet parking space was easy to find.
The owner was very welcoming and facilitating.
We only paid £54 for a double bedroom which is a good price for Edinburgh.
Our double room was roughly half the size of a standard Premier Inn double, with bathroom in the corridor. The decor was slightly outdated and could benefit from a little refurbishment. Yet, the cleanliness was satisfactory, we didn't find mould, stains, or dust.
The only real disappointment was the power shower that offered inadequate pressure of water; it took ages to shower.
On the whole, for the capital the place offers good value for money and is conveniently located, but could use a refurbishment.

ManagementResponse

Hi Jakub, lovely to have you as my guest. Concerning water pressure in shower, you may not have noticed the different power settings available? (economy or full power or cold) As for refurbishment, this was done 3 years ago, laura ashley wallpaper £28 a roll in keeping with period style, (dated) your cream leather double bed is 5 months old, receipt available. Best, Joanna

Reviewed by
Jakub S

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100% satisfaction
Joanna was very nice all the time and helped us to plan our tour.

Reviewed by
Sujan Mandal

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly bed and breakfast.
very basic accommodation but the owner was very nice and friendly. She gave me a sumptuous breakfast and drinks and mince pies on New Years Eve which was very nice. Unfortunately someone broke the bathroom lock so that was a bit inconvenient. But value for money, fairly near the centre in a very nice part of edinburgh. The owner was very helpful with information.

Reviewed by
jane d

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic New Year stay, very homey atmopshere.
We stayed at Marchhall House over New Year and truly enjoyed our visit and stay at the bed and breakfast. The landlady is very friendly and makes it a genuinely pleasant experience. For New Years she surprised us with little snacks and drinks for celebration. The breakfast was fantastic too!
On the whole it was a really easy going stay. It is just 10-15 min walk to city centre and just off Arthur's seat. Nice and quiet location.
We had a great time and would always come back for another stay.
Thank you very much!

Reviewed by
L Luckoff

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next