No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kingswell Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
READING ROAD harwell, near abingdon, OX11 0LZ
The Kingswell is ideally situated close to the picturesque village of Harwell in the Thames Valley between Oxford and Newbury. It is the perfect spot for exploring the countryside, visiting friends and family or just relaxing in one of our spacious comfortable bedrooms.
The Kingswell is also perfect for business stays and is only 5minutes from Milton Business Park and Harwell Business Centre. All rooms benefit from complementary Wi-FI.

The bedrooms are luxuriously appointed with comfortable furnishings, Kingsize or Twin beds with deep pocket sprung mattresses and perhaps for that romantic getaway, we also have a Four Poster Room. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, baths and power showers.

Fine Olde Worlde beamed restaurant and Lounge areas, serving superb food with an emphasis on fresh locally sourced produce. The Head Chef or one of our friendly team are always on hand to talk you through any special dietary requirements.

The Kingswell is within easy access of the A34, M4 and the M40 and served by fast trains from London Paddington; Didcot Parkway is only 3 miles away. Heathrow Airport is approximately 60 miles.
Picture of Kingswell Hotel, near abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Oxford
i booked last minute after hunting high & low for accommodation for my husband & twenty year old daughter. Being Holiday season, we found it hard to get two rooms together. So glad we found kingwell hotel. What a fantastic little hotel. Staff were lovely, so helpful, Food was excellent. Really enjoyed our lunch and their english breakfast was superb. Good value for money. A real little gem. We'd definitely stay at kingswell if we find ourselves in that neck of the woods again . A*

Reviewed by
claire b

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Went for the four poster bed room. The room Was smaller than we expected and the furniture was dated. On the laterooms site it said the room was soundproof ....it definately was not!!
The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and would stay there again but not spend out the extra money on the four poster bed room as was expecting it to be more luxurious .

Reviewed by
marie c

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing evening
A nice relaxed establishment with courteous staff who were happy to help. Food was good and the beer was excellent.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really decent 3 star in convenient spot.
Nice hotel. Rooms good, spacious, bed comfy, bathroom well equipped. Nice touch to have some bottled water! Very happy with our room. Breakfast very average- croissants, toast, cereal fine but uninspiring & the tea was terrible!!

Reviewed by
Deb N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
WOW... what a great place to stay!!

Reviewed by
R Holmes

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a convenient location
This is a nice hotel just of the A34 Nice restaurant and the food was delivered quickly and was enjoyable.

Reviewed by
T Pickering

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visiting Oxfordshire
Stayed in this area many times but this hotel is the best by far. Havent stayed here for ten years but will be staying here again when in Abingdon

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Nether Heage, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
Dinner and breakfast were excellent

Reviewed by
Karen C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic long weekend in a lovely hotel
Really lovely hotel; would recommend.
Rooms are very nice, very clean & modern whilst the communal areas are traditional countryside style.
Stayed for 2 nights, lunch & evening meals were excellent size & quality with a lot on the menu to chose from.
Disappointing breakfast after such fantastic food which was a shame (food score would have been top if the breakfast was better).
Only 9 mile drive to the closest Oxford Park & Ride so easy access to a beautiful city.
All in all, we hope to return again.

Reviewed by
Donna S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a great position for easy access to Oxford and Abingdon. Check-in was well organized and swift. Lovely ,spacious yet cosy room. Continental breakfast was excellent although unfortunately hot breakfast was in short supply thirty minutes before the end. I would stay here again nevertheless as everything else was more than fine.

Reviewed by
Maria D

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next