No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen's Head

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Westmoor Lane, Finghall, Leyburn, DL8 5ND
A traditional country inn with stunning views of Lower Wensleydale. The Inn is perfectly situated approximately six miles from Bedale, Leyburn and Catterick Garrison, ideal for exploring the Dales, and offers a high standard of accommodation, food and service. Our bedrooms are newly built to a high specification with en-suite facilities, and are located to the rear of the main trading area with private parking and independant access. The bright, modern restaurant overlooks the dale, and serves AA award winning food, whilst bar meals are served in the cosy, traditional public bar. Check in is normally from 5.30pm - if you require an earlier arrival please contact us in advance.
Picture of The Queen's Head, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queen's Head, Finghall
The food was excellent, as was the beer and the black pudding was the best we've ever tasted. The room was good and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired and we had a little trouble with the door lock. However, the bathroom is due for a refurb and the door lock is being looked at. The staff were very helpful and made our stay all the better.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay,car needed,but great location for exploring the dales.

Reviewed by
JAYNE B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leyburn visit
Could not fault this place. A real gem. Room was great, en-suite was lovely. The evening meal was the best I had had in a very long time. Breakfast was equally as good using quality local produce. Overall one of the best places I have stayed in this country.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Can fully recommend! Great rooms with every facility. Clean. Great food and service

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Yorkshire Dales inn
Great location, lovely food, good room with stunning views, and very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Neil J

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value amazing food
We stayed 3 days whilst house hunting, the staff are great the view wonderful and the food both breakfast and dinner was amazing. When we do move I will become a regular

Reviewed by
K Gilbert

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire Moors? The Queens head at Leyburn, where else!
On a long trip, needed a comfortable, welcoming place to stay.
The Queens Head at Leyburn. Just the job. A proper old fashioned bar with an open fire, great food , (and beer...), at a very reasonable price and good staff. The room was a bit chilly to begin with, but it was February.....and soon warmed up. Lots of coffee and tea in the room with a jar of home made biscuits.. and a bowl of sweets. In the morning, any kind of breakfast was available to you, just say the word. I would willingly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mike D

From , England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb break
Do not be put off by your imediate impression on arrival outside, its like walking into an Aladins cave. Lovely old bar, with two open fires each end of the room give the bar area A lovely homely feel, room was at the back of the pub, `The Brambles` and was superb, spacious, clean with a lovely view of the dales, however the star of this quaint old accomodation is the food, in a beutifull restaraunt, stunning! great for getting about and the staff are freindly. woudl highly recommend. Great place.

Reviewed by
steven b

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended at the Queen's Head
Dont waste your money at overpriced hotels. Dont put up with boring hotel chains. Just go a few miles off the motorway and A roads and enjoy a great stay at the Queen's Head. spacious and comfortable rooms. Breakfast prepared just for you in the way you like it and evening meals of quality whether in the bar or the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Break
Lovely pub, great food, a super room and an excellent shower. Every thing I could have wished for - husband and dog well satisfied too !

Reviewed by
Judith H

From York, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next