No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen's Head

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Westmoor Lane, Finghall, Leyburn, DL8 5ND
A traditional country inn with stunning views of Lower Wensleydale. The Inn is perfectly situated approximately six miles from Bedale, Leyburn and Catterick Garrison, ideal for exploring the Dales, and offers a high standard of accommodation, food and service. Our bedrooms are newly built to a high specification with en-suite facilities, and are located to the rear of the main trading area with private parking and independant access. The bright, modern restaurant overlooks the dale, and serves AA award winning food, whilst bar meals are served in the cosy, traditional public bar. Check in is normally from 5.30pm - if you require an earlier arrival please contact us in advance.
Picture of The Queen's Head, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
We were visiting the Forbidden Corner and looking for somewhere close by to stay. This was perfect with a cosy, but spacious, room complete with home made biscuits and boiled sweets. The welcome was warm and the food to die for. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A North Yorkshire Gem!
My wife and I booked the Queens Head in Finghall, entirely based on the accolades of previous guests on your website, although I was looking for accommodation close to Thorp Perrow Arboretum, Middleham and Castle Bolton. The Queens Head turned out to be a great choice!
It was located in a quiet village, had an impressive rear countryside view from the restaurant breakfast table ! The room was well equipped, the bed extremely comfortable. The only criticism was the low level of lighting made bedtime reading difficult (this was mentioned to Ian the owner upon checking out and he agreed to address the problem) A minor niggle on our part!!!
The old pub part, where we ate our evening meal had plenty of atmosphere but the main thing here was the terrific food with ample choice!! A good range of beers and wines available too!
We certainly would stay there again!

Reviewed by
David Cayton

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
The Queens Head is now my "go to" accommodation, It's worth travelling too, it is not close to the business meeting I attended, but worth the journey. quintessentially a traditional British pub. Great Beer. Great Room. Exceptional Food. A family run business that actually care about the service they provide. There is no WIFI in the spacious, comfortable, clean, quite room. but it is available in the bar area, did I mention the great beer, food and service in the "WiFi bar".

Reviewed by
nigel t

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than expected
We booked the Queen's Head as a stop-over on our way from York to Middleham Castle on a 'Richard 111 trail'. We stayed in the 'barn' room which was the top one of a purpose built annex just outside the back door of the Inn. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and had many little homely touches (including a teddy bear on the bed and a rubber duck in the very large en-suite) There were well stocked coffee making facilities and delicious home made biscuits. The lcd tv is clear and has a decent digital package, although we didn't really use it. Although there is no Wi-Fi the phone signal is good and 3g/4g should work if required - personally, as someone who is welded to her laptop, I found it an unexpected release! We ate in the bar in the evening, although at breakfast we found that the restaurant is comfortable and well appointed with lovely views across the valley, and I had the best chicken breast I had ever tasted. It was moist throughout and delicious - my husband, who is vegetarian - had the spaghetti and was similarly impressed. The chicken came with a large selection of fresh vegetables which were cooked to perfection (we shared them because there were too many for just me!) The price was average for a meal out and well worth every penny - I hope the chef is paid well because he could be building an enviable reputation! Puddings to die for. Breakfast was also good, and all the produce appeared to be very fresh, locally sourced and beautifully cooked. There is a good choice of beers which are also beautifully kept and a good price.

Reviewed by
Roberta Hipshon

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous
lovely food.beer.quality room

Reviewed by
phil brennan

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the first, nor the last.
Have just spend a second short break at the Queen's Head. The combination of accommodation, quality of food, relaxed atmosphere and friendly reception make this an ideal destination for a short break - especially at the price. We will certainly be returning.

Reviewed by
Simon Allen

From Annan, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome!
A great room with lovely views. The food was excellent.

Reviewed by
o robertson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem!
Room was really nice, lots of attention to detail, bed was comfortable, bedding was nice, staff helpful and freindly, food, welll there's something, really good, interesting choices on the menue, well cooked, breakfast too. A bit in the middle of nowhere, but if you need to stay in the area, you will be hard pressed to better this.

Reviewed by
D Woodward

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet country retreat with excellent food and service
The Queens Head ticked all the boxes for our welcome weekend break. A quiet country location with friendly service and a warm welcome, comfortable room, excellent food. We couldn't have wished for better. This is definitely a place we would visit again.

Reviewed by
Tom R

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just excellent !
Stayed at this pub a few times now and it never fails to live up to expectations. If your after the quintessential countryside pub then look no further that the Queens Head. Great location, fantastic rooms and excellent food to boot.

Reviewed by
d wilson

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next