No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Full English Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9 John Street , Whitby, YO21 3ET

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

A warm friendly welcome awaited us. Our room was lovely and had everything we could need. The breakfast was perfect & set us up for the day.

Friendly family run business. Comfortable en-suite rooms with hospitality trays in all rooms. Wonderful, cooked full English breakfast. We are holders of Enjoy Englands, Breakfast Award. Good central position. Packed lunches and flasks filled on request.
Picture of The Full English Guest House, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10/10
Had a fab time at Whitby, and after our nights stay at the Full English guesthouse we felt refreshed and ready to see the sights.
Made to feel very welcome, the room was very well done out and clean.
And the breakfast.... Well all I can say is Fantastic!! :-)
Will defo come back to Whitby and will be staying at The Full English guesthouse! That's for sure!
Steve and Tara x

Reviewed by
S Wright

From Langholm, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome awaits travellers for the Full English. The room we had - number 5 was a large, cosy one with sofa and chair to relax after a busy day. The bed was comfortable, the ensuite came with shower and bath. I would recommend this room - we paid a little extra but it was worth it. Breakfast was as you would imagine a Full English using local produce where possible and you could choose any combination of items on the menu. Lynn and Gary were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
JANET W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We stayed for 3 nights. Lyn and Gary were great hosts. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who is planning a break in Whitby.

Reviewed by
M Baker

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good guest house in a good location for whitby. Very nice people and very helpful

Reviewed by
Susan Halford

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb 'English' Bed & Breakfast accomodation
The guest house was everything we could have wished for, clean, fresh lovely rooms excellent breakfast and very friendly hosts, since we were last in Whitby a permit parking system has been introduced but for 50p we purchased a four day parking permit. The location is also very good as you are right next to an excellent shopping street, Skinner Street, and a couple of minutes walk from the pier if you head in the other direction. We would thoroughly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a traditional B&B break in Whitby.

Reviewed by
William west

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was lovely,clean and more than adequate. Only downside would be ma tress in room was too soft and every time my husband moved i did with him. the hosts were fantastic,friendly,helpful and more than go out your way to feel welcome. Breakfast ample and very nice. I requested downstair room as had baby,but on 3rd level,only downside if have family and alot of bits n pieces,tho we managed fine,good way to work off hearty breakfast.

Reviewed by
d ellis

From Strathpeffer, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot speak too highly
Stayed here for two nights as a birthday treat. Lyn and Gary are lovely people, so friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived lunchtime, before check-in time, parked right outside door, collected a parking permit which for 50p for four days is excellent value. We had room 5 at front of house. Bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom had full size complimentary showergel, body cream and liquid handwash. Everything was spotlessly clean and of good quality. At breakfast there was so much choice and all well presented. I would recommend this guesthouse to everyone and wouldn't stay anywhere else when next we visit Whitby. Thank you Lyn and Gary.

Reviewed by
Lesley B

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
This B&B is really good value for money. The room we had was really tastefully decorated, had lovely furniture , clean carpet, nice fresh bedding and a lovey large bathroom that was pristine. The photographs do not do the rooms justice, the whole place is beautifully cared for and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really nice, with plenty of tea/coffee, toast etc available on top of the hearty full English. The location is brilliant, within a 5 minute stroll to the heart of Whitby. Parking on the street outside the B&B cost 50 pence for a permit that lasted 4 days - so cheap. Many Thanks for a wonderful weekend break.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owners very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive.
Rooms excellent, clean and very nicely decorated.
Breakfast choice was very good, well cooked & presented. Again presence of owners obvious without being intrusive. They were able to determine which guests wanted to chat.

Reviewed by
janis handscombe

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Simply excellent on all levels. Friendly owners, beautifully maintained property (looks as if it has only just been redecorated - and to a very high standard). Comfortable room. Managed to get parked opposite so no issues there despite Whitby being quite full at the time of our stay. Good breakfast as expected. Would definitely stay again if I happened to be in Whitby which looks to be a very interesting town (although we didn't have time to explore).

Reviewed by
Clive Capel

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next