No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Red Lion Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
LINTON ROAD, HORSEHEATH , Cambridge, CB21 4QF
The Old Red Lion Inn is located in a small village called Horseheath with prime location just off the A1307. We have 12 letting rooms set aside from the main building which was an old farm house and dates back to the 18th Century. We pride ourselves with providing a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests and try our best to ensure that your stay with us is memorable & enjoyable.

Our newly refurbished restaurant in January 2013 offers seating for up to 55 peoplethe the brightly upholstered comfortable new seating offers different comfort zones for you and your guests to have an enjoyable evening. The restaurant seats 50-60 people and boasts a part wooden & Yorkshire stone floor with a log burner, creating that warm feeling during the colder winter months. The bar is cosy also with a log burner and comfort seating where you can relax.

As we are members of Camra & part of the Head Brewers society we offer a high quality selection of cask beers & an excellent wine menu. We source all of our food locally and all of our dishes are home cooked. We take pride in the fact that no dishes are brought in and we cook everything to order. Our Restuarant & Bar menu offer a wide range of food options from our new Daily Market Menu to fine dining.

We are fortunate that the Thurlow ~ Point to Point Race Course is located just over the road from us and we are only 12 miles from NewMarket race course. Duxford is only a 20 minute drive away where they have several air shows a year and we are only 10 minutes drive from Chilford Hall where they host weddings, Wine tasting days and hold many functions & meetings.

We have recently installed new heating in the letting rooms. They are wall mounted electric heaters which heat the air instead of drying it out. Which is good if you have breathing difficulties i.e if you have asthma.
Picture of The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comments
Friendly helpful staff.
After a busy day we had a relaxing evening and a good nights rest.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old red lion
Large double bedded room furnished to a high standard
Including 32 inch flat screen tv and wifi.
Nice bathroom with walk in shower.
Friendly staff, delicious breakfast.
Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy but a little quiet no body in pub after 9-30pm
Shower. Leaked and tap was loose. In bathroom room was very clean

Reviewed by
P Shaw

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable room nicely presented, very friendly staff a pleasure to stay.

Reviewed by
william Needs

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything at the Red Lion was excellent. We're looking forward to our next stay. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Carole M

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelle nt
Excellent

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem!
We visited The Old Red Lion last weekend ie 1/8/2014 having had a wonderful day at Newmarket races, followed by a concert by The Voice himself - Tom Jones. Although we did arrive late our keys had been left for us. Very comfortable spacious room and bathroom.
We stayed two nights, dinner and breakfast all of which were very good. Dinner was particularly good and our waitress Abbey was extremely efficient friendly and helpful (in fact the same can be said for all the staff but didn't get names)
Very relaxing and Treacy and Ian made us very welcome!
Suggestion: The water pressure in our shower wasn't great perhaps an update!

Reviewed by
Charlotte McGowan

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Gathering, overnight stopover
Well located. Temporarily have reduced mobility and could have done with shower rails and non slip tray. Otherwise all as expected and comfortable night. Excellent breakfast, good service.

Reviewed by
p wakeling

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked a family room and the size was perfect. Very nice room with en-suite. Full English breakfast beautifully prepared the next morning

Reviewed by
C Duffy

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5* very impressed
Very nice helpful people,room was excellent, breakfast was great would definitely stay there again !!!!!!

Reviewed by
M Peeling

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next