No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Red Lion Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
LINTON ROAD, HORSEHEATH , Cambridge, CB21 4QF
The Old Red Lion Inn is located in a small village called Horseheath with prime location just off the A1307. We have 12 letting rooms set aside from the main building which was an old farm house and dates back to the 18th Century. We pride ourselves with providing a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests and try our best to ensure that your stay with us is memorable & enjoyable.

Our newly refurbished restaurant in January 2013 offers seating for up to 55 peoplethe the brightly upholstered comfortable new seating offers different comfort zones for you and your guests to have an enjoyable evening. The restaurant seats 50-60 people and boasts a part wooden & Yorkshire stone floor with a log burner, creating that warm feeling during the colder winter months. The bar is cosy also with a log burner and comfort seating where you can relax.

As we are members of Camra & part of the Head Brewers society we offer a high quality selection of cask beers & an excellent wine menu. We source all of our food locally and all of our dishes are home cooked. We take pride in the fact that no dishes are brought in and we cook everything to order. Our Restuarant & Bar menu offer a wide range of food options from our new Daily Market Menu to fine dining.

We are fortunate that the Thurlow ~ Point to Point Race Course is located just over the road from us and we are only 12 miles from NewMarket race course. Duxford is only a 20 minute drive away where they have several air shows a year and we are only 10 minutes drive from Chilford Hall where they host weddings, Wine tasting days and hold many functions & meetings.

We have recently installed new heating in the letting rooms. They are wall mounted electric heaters which heat the air instead of drying it out. Which is good if you have breathing difficulties i.e if you have asthma.
Picture of The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Excellent accommodation and hospitality in a village location, ground floor accommodation was very spacious, had comfortable seating and was clean. Food was excellent and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be staying here again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
John M

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room
Room very clean and nice, good location. Food not the best unless you like burgers and steaks.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room but unreliable internet access
Room was clean and well serviced. I stayed in a ground floor room in warm weather. Windows could open completely and allow easy access so did not feel secure and hence had to keep window closed at night. Chambermaid opened window while I was out when my belongings were inside, so I always took laptop and valuables with me. Internet access was unreliable and unavailable for one evening while I stayed. I was told this was because guests streaming Netflix used their monthly allowance and I would need to wait until office hours next day when it could be topped up. I was on business travel so this was disappointing as internet access was one of my priority requirements when booking, so would only recommend or book again if internet not critical.

Reviewed by
Pam O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in all ways
The title says it all, spend 2 nights at the old red lion inn and it was excellent .
Very comfy nice and clean rooms, lovely pub and a very good restaurant. I'm very impressed with the service and the hospitality.

Reviewed by
Christophe D

From Brugge, Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant weekend break.
Good accommodation, nice staff and excellent food.

Reviewed by
R Burns

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, friendly staff and excellent food
Our room was very clean and refurbished in a quite modern style. The king size bed was quite firm and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. The staff were both friendly and helpful and I would be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
k finch

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly helpful
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Everything was very good except for the wifi access. Wifi range was poor and did not reach my room.

Reviewed by
Yan S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation
The accommodation was great - clean, fresh & modern. I ate in the pub in the evening & the food was of a very high standard.

Reviewed by
Louise V

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing is to much trouble
A very warm welcome on arrival, room was large clean and had tea/coffee bottled water biscuits and a cafetiere. The food is a bit pricey but excellent.

Reviewed by
D Abbott

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay will stay here again

Reviewed by
Christine Allen

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next