No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Red Lion Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
LINTON ROAD, HORSEHEATH , Cambridge, CB21 4QF
The Old Red Lion Inn is located in a small village called Horseheath with prime location just off the A1307. We have 12 letting rooms set aside from the main building which was an old farm house and dates back to the 18th Century. We pride ourselves with providing a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests and try our best to ensure that your stay with us is memorable & enjoyable.

Our newly refurbished restaurant in January 2013 offers seating for up to 55 peoplethe the brightly upholstered comfortable new seating offers different comfort zones for you and your guests to have an enjoyable evening. The restaurant seats 50-60 people and boasts a part wooden & Yorkshire stone floor with a log burner, creating that warm feeling during the colder winter months. The bar is cosy also with a log burner and comfort seating where you can relax.

As we are members of Camra & part of the Head Brewers society we offer a high quality selection of cask beers & an excellent wine menu. We source all of our food locally and all of our dishes are home cooked. We take pride in the fact that no dishes are brought in and we cook everything to order. Our Restuarant & Bar menu offer a wide range of food options from our new Daily Market Menu to fine dining.

We are fortunate that the Thurlow ~ Point to Point Race Course is located just over the road from us and we are only 12 miles from NewMarket race course. Duxford is only a 20 minute drive away where they have several air shows a year and we are only 10 minutes drive from Chilford Hall where they host weddings, Wine tasting days and hold many functions & meetings.

We have recently installed new heating in the letting rooms. They are wall mounted electric heaters which heat the air instead of drying it out. Which is good if you have breathing difficulties i.e if you have asthma.
Picture of The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THE OLD RED LION
Great Accomodation, Food excellent, Really Friendly owners and team and the location is great.
Would recommend anyone to stay here

Reviewed by
Robert Percival

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Anita M

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ipswich experience
Wonderful nights stay in a brilliant hotel ... Should be 5 stars ...lovely room, brilliant meals ... Wonder why the last customer was so negative . Oh well some folks like complaining about nothing ...will definitely stay again ....

Reviewed by
linda s

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only thing that we noticed during our stay was the shower plug hole..off putting

Reviewed by
Ramon N Bailey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Started good but left dissapointed
When I arrived I checked in at the bar area. The Landlord seemed reasonable friendly. The room was a chalet outside which was nice, it had obviously been refurbished and was clean tidy and presentable. There was my own Sky box in the room which I thought was a great touch. I went to the restaurant for my evening meal and at the recommendation of a local who was in the bar, I order a starter of game terrine. It was presented very well. Three bites in and I broke my tooth on a piece of shot from a shotgun cartridge. I could not finish the meal due to this. The waitress was very apologetic and the management offered me a pint of beer as way of apology!!! In the morning when I checked out I noticed that I had still been charged for the game terrine, even though I could not eat it and looking at the final bill, I think I may have been charged for the 'Free' beer as well!
The other grumble that I had was each chalet had a small porch area and an out side light. This was shining through the front door windows all night and was like a static search light illuminating the room. It would have been nice to be able to switch it off or draw some curtains over the door. Because of this I did not sleep well as I like black out in my room when I sleep. A couple of additional points, the pillows were extremely hard and the main road was quite busy/noisy.
The main frustration from my point of view was that, not one person asked me how my stay was so that I could relay these points to the management, this tells me they do not value my opinion and therefore do not want my return business, for that reason, regrettably I would not stay here again. It is simple basic customer service and a method of continuous improvement to gain customer feedback so that every ones stay is enjoyable in the future.

Reviewed by
Martyn S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
A very nice place and the breakfast was very good

Reviewed by
Neil Hardy

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was large, comfortable and very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Clare J

From Kington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Breakfast!
Loved our room- outside 'chalet-type' accommodation rather than in Hotel, suited us better- Room was lovely with a 40" TV, comfy bed and sofa. The cooked breakfast was large and tasty (included) and there was a restaurant with log fire for cold nights. Owners were lovely.
only downside was that wifi was down and there was no phone service in our room-everything else was very good.

Reviewed by
Linda Beverley

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Nice bar and restaurant serving good quality food. Stayed in room with kingsize bed which had nice decor and was quiet in the evening giving undisturbed sleep. Landlord suggested park and ride for our Saturday trip into Cambridge which was a good way to travel.

Reviewed by
John F

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Best place I have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
Amy Lemmon

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next