No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shillingford Bridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
SHILLINGFORD ROAD , WALLINGFORD, OX10 8LZ
Situated on one of the loveliest reaches of the River Thames, between Oxford and Henley, the Shillingford Bridge Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoying a quarter mile stretch of river frontage, the hotel naturally offers coarse fishing, the hire of river craft from local boat yards, and also private moorings.

The ground floor offers a modern contemporary look, whilst still in keeping with the traditional style of the building. Tastefully designed with beautiful tiled floors comfy sofas and Canadian Oak tables and chairs, every part of the hotel provides an ideal place to meet up with friends and family. BT Openzone is available throughout the hotel, giving WiFi access in the public areas, bedrooms and conference rooms.

The hotel has 40 en-suite bedrooms including standard, premier and executive rooms both in the main hotel and grounds of the hotel, with some overlooking the lawns and River Thames. All rooms have flat screen colour television, radio, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, together with tea and coffee making facilities.

The Riverview Restaurant with its superb views across the grounds towards the river offers an extensive a la carte menu together with an excellent and imaginative wine list. Alternatively the River Bar serves a mouth-watering variety of light meals and snacks. During the warmer months meals are also served on the patio, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views across the river. Or maybe just relax in the comfortable lounge with an afternoon tea or pre-dinner drink.

There is an outdoor heated swimming pool with adjacent children’s paddling pool set within the grounds overlooking the river, which is open during the summer months. The hotel has a large complimentary car park.

The three versatile function rooms are ideal for all types of business and social gatherings, catering for up to 150 guests. Shillingford Bridge Hotel is also a popular venue for wedding receptions, with the river views providing a beautiful backdrop for the photographs of your special day. The hotel is also licensed for civil ceremonies giving us the opportunity to make your wedding day perfect from beginning to end.
Picture of Shillingford Bridge Hotel, WALLINGFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My thoughts
I'm afraid I did not like the cream bedding and duvet cover. I prefer crisp white sheets. The vent in the bathroom was noisy and sent out a smell. However the location is fantastic and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
CAROLE H

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two old buddies seeking peace & quiet ! And we got it in a lovely place !
It is an old building but we liked it. From our large room we could look up & down the Thames and across the old narrow road bridge after which the hotel gets its name. It needs quite a bit of attention to the building but the welcome was warm & helpful.

Reviewed by
F Wright

From BELFAST, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling
Sorry to say our experience was very poor. Receptionist was disinterested but more importantly room was old fashioned, well used and bathroom very tired, certainly not a 3 star hotel and based on our visit should be 1 star. When requested to have non - allergic pillows these were left on the floor outside our room in the corridor for when we returned later that evening.
All in a very expensive £98 for a very unsatisfactory night.

Reviewed by
D Griffiths

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do much better
The receptioinst was very helpful in allowing us to change prior to the official time. However we had to change rooms as the room allocated did not match the one booked (twin allocated with shower when double with bath booked). The hotel has a great site but all of the rooms could do with a major investment, flaky paint, tired wallpaper and carpet, shower barely adequate. The staff do not appear to be well trained but are very polite. Wander into dining room and no greeting, no one to takea drinks order etc. Real shame as the potential for a first class stay is there.

Reviewed by
kevin d

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Break
We booked a 3 night stay at the hotel and were completely wowed by it's beautiful riverside location. However, this was where the 'wow' ended. The downstairs of the hotel looked promising, but once you ascend to the first floor things look very different. The decor is very tired throughout the corridor and bedrooms areas. We were allocated Room 23 and I must stay that we were really disappointed with the room, which was again tired and small and not what I would consider value for money, despite being in Oxfordshire. However, we decided to make the best of it. When we returned to the room in the evening, we realised that we were over the kitchen area and endured crashing and banging until 11pm. My husband went down to reception to complain and was met by an unhelpful response, but eventually all went quiet until 5.45 the next morning when the dishwasher started up again! Again my husband went to reception and was dealt with by the very helpful and accommodating receptionist, who relocated us to one of the suites which was lovely (albeit again a little tired). If we hadn't have been moved, we would left the hotel. Food - we had a buffet breakfast every morning which was fine, but we also had an evening meal which was overpriced and disappointing. We didn't eat there again. General impressions - location: stunning; accommodation tired and in need of updating and some care and attention; food: average; customer service: excellent from the day receptionist, but most of the others looked like they didn't want to be there. Return booking - probably not. I will pay far more attention to other people's reviews before booking in future!

Reviewed by
D Eastwood

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced not good value for money
Double room was far too small.One side of bed against the wall.
Shower door came apart at the hinges.
Hotel needs upgrading

Reviewed by
Tripta S

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shillingford Bridge
Great setting Hotel very tired inside

Reviewed by
Ernest W

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location let down by tired decor
Staff were excellent, the food was good but should be hot not warm. Really nice location and nice size bedroom but sadly let down by the poor standard of old decoration, carpets etc.real shame about the tired state of the accom, soft sunken mattress = bad back after only 2 nights, cracked sink in bathroom etc etc

Reviewed by
MARTIN S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well satisfied with what was available and with the superb outlook.
We have stayed here before on three occasions and like the site of the hotel with its view of the river and the effort that has been put into the decor and furnishings of the different rooms that we have stayed in.We always consider this hotel when visiting our daughter who stays in Wallingford.

Reviewed by
Donald Ross

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful the room was clean and the views outside the hotel are stunning

Reviewed by
James R

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next