No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shillingford Bridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
SHILLINGFORD ROAD , WALLINGFORD, OX10 8LZ
Situated on one of the loveliest reaches of the River Thames, between Oxford and Henley, the Shillingford Bridge Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoying a quarter mile stretch of river frontage, the hotel naturally offers coarse fishing, the hire of river craft from local boat yards, and also private moorings.

The ground floor offers a modern contemporary look, whilst still in keeping with the traditional style of the building. Tastefully designed with beautiful tiled floors comfy sofas and Canadian Oak tables and chairs, every part of the hotel provides an ideal place to meet up with friends and family. BT Openzone is available throughout the hotel, giving WiFi access in the public areas, bedrooms and conference rooms.

The hotel has 40 en-suite bedrooms including standard, premier and executive rooms both in the main hotel and grounds of the hotel, with some overlooking the lawns and River Thames. All rooms have flat screen colour television, radio, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, together with tea and coffee making facilities.

The Riverview Restaurant with its superb views across the grounds towards the river offers an extensive a la carte menu together with an excellent and imaginative wine list. Alternatively the River Bar serves a mouth-watering variety of light meals and snacks. During the warmer months meals are also served on the patio, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views across the river. Or maybe just relax in the comfortable lounge with an afternoon tea or pre-dinner drink.

There is an outdoor heated swimming pool with adjacent children’s paddling pool set within the grounds overlooking the river, which is open during the summer months. The hotel has a large complimentary car park.

The three versatile function rooms are ideal for all types of business and social gatherings, catering for up to 150 guests. Shillingford Bridge Hotel is also a popular venue for wedding receptions, with the river views providing a beautiful backdrop for the photographs of your special day. The hotel is also licensed for civil ceremonies giving us the opportunity to make your wedding day perfect from beginning to end.
Picture of Shillingford Bridge Hotel, WALLINGFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shillingford Bridge
Great setting Hotel very tired inside

Reviewed by
Ernest W

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location let down by tired decor
Staff were excellent, the food was good but should be hot not warm. Really nice location and nice size bedroom but sadly let down by the poor standard of old decoration, carpets etc.real shame about the tired state of the accom, soft sunken mattress = bad back after only 2 nights, cracked sink in bathroom etc etc

Reviewed by
MARTIN S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well satisfied with what was available and with the superb outlook.
We have stayed here before on three occasions and like the site of the hotel with its view of the river and the effort that has been put into the decor and furnishings of the different rooms that we have stayed in.We always consider this hotel when visiting our daughter who stays in Wallingford.

Reviewed by
Donald Ross

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful the room was clean and the views outside the hotel are stunning

Reviewed by
James R

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Shillingford Delight
We had a lovely stay at the Shilingford Bridge hotel. Lovely staff, very helpful and ready to help. Especially enjoyed the service in the restaurant - although the Duty Manager does not need to be so eager to please - there is always room for breathing space and thinking time. Shame about the twin beds but we made it work. Big room, big bathroom and more than ample facilities with gorgeous views over the river Thames.

Reviewed by
Eleanor Downes

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant break
My Husband and I and two Friends went to stay at the Shillingford Bridge Hotel for three Nights recently.
On arrival we was amazed at the setting of the Hotel as the surroundings were quite lovely as the Hotel was on the edge of the River Thames.
We arrived at 2pm and on checking was given are rooms keys right away.
Both rooms over looked the River and was very light and clean with a King sized bed.
There was plenty of room and the bathroom was well equiped with towels and Basic toiletries.
Everythng was very clean and it was a pleasure to sleep in such a lovely room.
We ate in the Hotel the first Night and we all enjoyed our food, I had Salmon and my Husband and Friends had Steak. There was also an offer on two courses and a bottle of Wine for Two for only £39 !!
The Staff could not do enough for us and looked after us very well indeed.
There was plenty of room to park our car, there are several Towns close by to visit.
All in all we enjoyed are trip and are already thinking of when we can arrange another stay.

Reviewed by
D STOCKTON

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel.
Worst hotel I've stayed at for a long time. When People walked down the corridor outside my room it felt like they were actually coming in the room. It feels like the floorboards in the room move when people walk in the corridor. I came down to dinner a bit late on my second night due to some work I had to get done. I arrived in the restaurant area at 9.00 clk - I asked the waiter if I was too late and he said no, we serve until 9.30, this did confuse me a bit as the time stated on the literature states 9.00. However on hearing this I thought there was no problem. After about 10 mins of being seated and totally ignored the waiter came over and said sorry but as there's only 1 chef on I couldn't be served a meal but I could have a sandwich. How many chef's would it take to prepare a meal for 1 person? Anyway I said to the waiter it's obviously far too much trouble so don't bother. I then had the hassle of driving in to Wallingford to look for a restaurant. So ok, I was a bit late coming down to dinner and it obviously was inconvenient for the chef, ok fine, I'll never stay in your hotel again. I was on business visiting a company in Wallingford, they asked me what hotel I was staying in, when I told them they said just about everyone who stays there complain about this hotel. As for why I didn't complain when I checked out, first of all I wasn't asked if everything had been ok, I imagine they know the answer and don't bother with that one any more and by this time I couldn't be bothered and just wanted to get away. Except for one very helpful young woman on the reception all the rest of the staff appear totally uninterested. This is one of the very few negative reviews I've posted on Laterooms, I stay in hotels on business just about every week so I know what I'm comparing this hotel to. This review probably wont get accepted, doesn't really matter to me, neither I, or anyone else from my company will ever stay there again.

Reviewed by
Pete H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is situated in a picturesque setting and the basics are fine. The rooms are ok but as ever with hotels, a nights sleep is almost impossible. The evening meal was very good as was the service with it.

Reviewed by
David W

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had room 45 which was generally nice but the bathroom had a musty smell

Reviewed by
L Jacklin

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant stay in a wonderful setting
I was visiting family and friends and this hotel made my 3 day break, just perfect. A beautiful setting by the Thames, and great location for many beauty spots. The dining room overlooking the river was fantastic, and the waiters were so attentive and pleasant. My cooked breakfast was excellent, and lovely huge crisp warm croissants. I will now stay here when I come back to Wallingford.
Only the coffee out of a machine could be improved upon.

Reviewed by
Rosemary Brooks

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next