No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shillingford Bridge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
SHILLINGFORD ROAD , WALLINGFORD, OX10 8LZ
Situated on one of the loveliest reaches of the River Thames, between Oxford and Henley, the Shillingford Bridge Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoying a quarter mile stretch of river frontage, the hotel naturally offers coarse fishing, the hire of river craft from local boat yards, and also private moorings.

The ground floor offers a modern contemporary look, whilst still in keeping with the traditional style of the building. Tastefully designed with beautiful tiled floors comfy sofas and Canadian Oak tables and chairs, every part of the hotel provides an ideal place to meet up with friends and family. BT Openzone is available throughout the hotel, giving WiFi access in the public areas, bedrooms and conference rooms.

The hotel has 40 en-suite bedrooms including standard, premier and executive rooms both in the main hotel and grounds of the hotel, with some overlooking the lawns and River Thames. All rooms have flat screen colour television, radio, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, together with tea and coffee making facilities.

The Riverview Restaurant with its superb views across the grounds towards the river offers an extensive a la carte menu together with an excellent and imaginative wine list. Alternatively the River Bar serves a mouth-watering variety of light meals and snacks. During the warmer months meals are also served on the patio, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views across the river. Or maybe just relax in the comfortable lounge with an afternoon tea or pre-dinner drink.

There is an outdoor heated swimming pool with adjacent children’s paddling pool set within the grounds overlooking the river, which is open during the summer months. The hotel has a large complimentary car park.

The three versatile function rooms are ideal for all types of business and social gatherings, catering for up to 150 guests. Shillingford Bridge Hotel is also a popular venue for wedding receptions, with the river views providing a beautiful backdrop for the photographs of your special day. The hotel is also licensed for civil ceremonies giving us the opportunity to make your wedding day perfect from beginning to end.
Picture of Shillingford Bridge Hotel, WALLINGFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shillingford Hotel
Was very clean, tidy, nice quiet hotel to stay in

Reviewed by
richard s

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay we were upgraded to a suite due to it being my partner's birthday. The only item we could knock was the room being a little outdated. However this did not spoil our stay which was great. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly hotel in a beautiful setting
Overall a very pleasant place to stay. Our room was comfortable clean and well equipped. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Bar meal the previous evening was nice but rather overpriced for a burger and chips. The view of the river from our bedroom window was fantastic.

Reviewed by
B Clark

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Country Hotel
The room was what you would expect in an old country hotel. The bathroom was clean and the small bottles of soap/shampoo was a nice touch. There was plenty of tea/coffee available. The bed was comfortable. Two chairs in the room meant you did not have to sit on the bed to read/watch television .etc

Reviewed by
jennifer t

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
The room was overpriced and poor value for money for the quality and standard.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice setting but room needed some tlc
Our double room om had a great view of the traffic lights over the bridge on the Thames. Room and it's approach needed some maintenance. 1 towel, no shampoo or conditioner but at least there were complementary peanuts unfortunately they were spread over the floor. Shower in the bath was too risky for me to stand in so had a shower instead.

Reviewed by
Graham Y

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We had a lovely stay the staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent room was comfy and tidy would recommend it

Reviewed by
J Howard

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be so much better!
The rooms are very "tired" and require quite a bit of work. The public bar was very nice and comfortable with different eating areas. The main restuarant was shabby and breakfast limited and, durng our stay there was a coach trip in so that we had to keep asking for the one member of staff on to fill up dishes etc.
The reception staff were very helpful and although a mistake was made on our booking they rectified it quickly and upgraded our room.The bar staff were also really helpful and friendly.
At £100 per night I felt is was expensive for the poor level of quality. Which was a shame as it is in a lovely setting.

Reviewed by
Linda S

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Some public areas in need of refurbishment particularly access to rooms both upstairs in the main building and in annex. Rooms small and mattress without any support at all. Cleanliness of rooms poor. Bar meals overpriced and self service breakfast poor. The best thing about this Hotel is the situation overlooking the river.

Reviewed by
Imogen S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced for average accommodation and facilities

Reviewed by
Paul Boulos

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next