No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Townstal Farmhouse

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Townstal Road , Dartmouth, TQ6 9HY
A warm welcome awaits you at our family run guest accommodation, set in the picturesque town of Dartmouth. This 16th century farmhouse (no longer a working farm) was mentioned in the Doomsday book. It has been tastefully extended and improved over the past thirty years so as to give the visitor a touch of olde worlde charm whilst relaxing in today’s comforts. Our 17 en suite bedrooms are all furnished to a high standard. All have colour TV, clock radio alarm, hairdryer, beverage tray and direct dial telephone.

Facilities are available for disabled guests. In addition we are able to offer four poster bedrooms which add that special touch to your stay whether it is for an anniversary or just a quiet night away from home. You can sit and relax in our lounge in front of a real log fire with a drink from our licensed bar. An á la carte breakfast is served in our oak beamed dining room and a three course home cooked evening meal is available on request. We pride ourselves with our reputation for good home cooking and friendly service with a smile. We have a large private car park. We are a ten minute walk to the town centre and harbour area. The buses run regularly almost to our door. Pets are welcome.
Picture of Townstal Farmhouse , Dartmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Weekend
Very Friendly hosts - in quiet location 10 mins walk from Town Centre. Hill a bit steep on way back. We managed it twice and used taxi/bus on other occasions (cheap)

Reviewed by
Neil D

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome!
We had a very lovely spacious double room. Breakfast was lovely and the owners couldn't do enough to help.

Reviewed by
Rhia K

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break in Dartmouth
We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent. Good parking, easy walk downhill to town, and convenient. Bus back up. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Shirley C

From Painswick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service.
Could be a little more welcoming. To commercial, not as intimate as smaller B&Bs.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish I had stayed longer
The room was fine, only problem was no refrigerator, not a big deal. Just outside the room was a nice little courtyard with a small garden and a couple of benches. The food was good and the service was excellent. The farmhouse has a nice dining area and a great sitting room. It's less than 10 minutes from Woodland's Leisure Park. Laterooms doesn't take payment despite entering your credit card information, but it was no problem settling the bill. Just as you arrive, it's on the corner, so if your approaching from the wrong direction, it's easy to pass the farmhouse.

Reviewed by
Sean B

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived early and made very welcome we were given information about Dartmouth and could't fault Townstall Farm. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble very polite good food and company only problem was it was in a hilly position but there was a good bus service to most places.Can't wait to return again

Reviewed by
R Crossley

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just could not fault the place

Reviewed by
Chris Smith

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run friendly hotel
The owners of the hotel actually run it day-to-day and were very friendly and efficient with good advice on where to go and whether to bus or cab a return journey from the harbour back to the hotel (it's a very steep climb).... cab is cheaper if you don't have a free pass.
The room was excellent with plenty of room and was very quiet; the decor was a little dated but perfectly clean.
Nice change to have a home cooked breakfast rather than a buffet.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Colin H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

townstall farmhouse
very friendly and welcoming with a homely feel, nicely situated with buses running to and from the door , had a great stay and will certainly be staying again.

Reviewed by
D Wareham

From poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant B&B with a great warm welcome
On arrival we had a warm welcome from Jean, very comfortable room with view over river. Great breakfast with lots of choice, very helpful with local knowledge. Top of the hill but don't let that put you off as it's quieter with great views and there is a good bus service, and its cheaper than parking in the town. Great find and we'll be back again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next