No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - LSE Grosvenor House Studios

3Self Classified Campus Ratings explained
141 - 143 Drury Lane Covent Garden, London, WC2B 5TB
Grosvenor House is located in the very heart of London on Drury Lane in Covent Garden and offers self-catering studio apartments.

The location is spectacular - just yards away from the main piazza of Covent Garden and many of London's most famous theatres. It is within easy reach of Oxford Street, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, China Town and all of the West End. Transport links could not be better with two underground stations within five minutes walk.

Each studio apartment has its own kitchenette, dining area, bathroom and, of course, beds. The kitchenettes are equipped with combi-oven, hob, kettle, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. The bathrooms contain a shower, toilet and basin.

Grosvenor House offers good facilities, excellent value and a location that is hard to beat.

**Grosvenor House is a hall of residence of the London School of Economics and Political Science. It offers self-catering accommodation to all during the Summer.**
Picture of LSE Grosvenor House Studios, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very uncomfortable bed. drains need cleaning in the bathroom, spread to whole room. no large mirror
Only stop here if you are desperate. The room was clean and quiet yes, but the room stunk real bad from the sink and drains in the bathroom.
What can I say about the bed, my fiance and I both woke with bad backs and I hardly slept it was so uncomfortable.
The mirror was inside the cupboard, which meant my fiance had to virtually sit inside it to get ready, even better with no power sockets nearby or lighting above due to a blown bulb no doubt.
It was very central to Soho and Covent Garden which was its appeal. £200 for 2 nights in a small room with two hobs and a fridge, when you could have got a hotel for.
Sounded nice, looked good for what we wanted. Pictures and the selling material were very much wrong.
Ideal place for students, but don't be taken in by the name and the promotional material. If you want a nice hotel for a romantic break in London... This is definitely not the place to go.

Reviewed by
Paul J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy, maintenance work
Construction work started outside room at 730 each day, despite me being assured it would start at 9. Lights went off for 20 mins at a time on several occasions.
So bad I left early.

Reviewed by
jane D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is only asset of this accomodation
Stayed one night for theatre visit. The location is perfect for walking to main attractions such as Covent Gds, Leicester Square and Theatre land. Accomodation was basic but clean with necessary appliances for putting together a hot snack. Have stayed in student halls before so wasn't expecting any usual hotel comforts/facilities. My only gripe is really the inconsideration of other guests coming and going throughout the night, slamming doors and talking loudly in corridors between 1-4AM. Needless to say, sleep was impossible. We were not looking for anything fancy, just somewhere to sleep. More than one night would have been a nightmare for us.
Value for money? Difficult to find good value accomodation in London. We paid £100 for one night in a double room with en-suite. Think this is a bit steep for what LSE has to offer. Only real thing going for it is it's great location.

Reviewed by
christine C

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view, wonderful location, but...!
We had a 6th floor room which meant a great view towards The Shard. The accommodation was a good size and perfectly adequate for a few days. The location was very central to Covent Garden and bus routes. Although not actually dirty, the room never really felt clean. The bed linen was not fresh, the mattress was very uncomfortable and the passage lights didn't work. We just felt at £100 a night it should have been better than it was

Reviewed by
Janine S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Studio
Very nice stay, room nice & clean & kitchen area very useful. Perfect location in Covent garden.

Reviewed by
Valerie S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Student digs!
Well located for Central London and although some people woul say the price is reasonable, £70 a night for a single room still seems expensive considering the basic facilities.
The room was clean and fresh towels were prided each day and the convenience of being 2 mins from Covent garden was good. In reality for more comfort and services you'd be looking at another £100 per night. It's your choice as it was mine.

Reviewed by
Geoff M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to being a student
The room was very student like but had everything I needed. It was very clean and comfortable although the mattress could do with renewing. It was very practically and I would go back again when in London on business!

Reviewed by
emily m

From Bath, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

typical london
great location couldn't be better. but room very basic and regrettably what you'd expect from an expensive London. probably would accept the downsides and stay again purely on grounds of location

Reviewed by
J Newton

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great place to stay
This ii student accommodation so I was not expecting luxury. However the room was bigger than I expected. It had a cooking are and shower room. Art first I could not get the fridge to work, so I mentioned it at reception and it was sorted in abut half an hour. The rooms are very central, particularly if you are going to the theatre, and there are food shops and restaurants nearby.

Reviewed by
diane romano-woodward

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Would stay again

Reviewed by
N Simpson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next