No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Halfway House Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Halfway House Inn, St Jidgey, Near St Issey, Saint Issey, PL27 7RE
The Halfway House Inn is a Freehouse in North Cornwall offering bed and breakfast accommodation with 5 letting rooms. Until May the Halfway will beunable to offer evening meals and will have limited bar opening hours (open to welcome
check-ins/arrivals and if guests want to use the bar it will be available, otherwise if no guests are in and there are no pre-arranged events, the bar will be closed). Until a summer chef is arranged, we are happy to direct guests to other eating establishments.

Bookings on our LateRooms.com site are by room and the customer chooses their room!

Rooms 3,4,5,6 & 7 are en-suite with their own entrance to use at any time once checked in.

We are unable to offer 24 hour reception.Arrivals are welcomed 6:00-10pm.Arrivals outside these hours can be arranged but this service is subject toa surcharge to cover the cost of extra wages - please pre-book giving us at least 24 hours notice if you require this service.

The Halfway House Inn is located in the north of Cornwall on the A39 between Wadebridge and St Columb Major, just 2 miles past the Royal
Cornwall Showground. We are approximately six miles from Padstow, four miles from Wadebridge and ten miles from Newquay. With the Royal Cornwall Showground just up the road we are in a great position for visiting or as a base for touring.

The pub is within easy reach of Cornwalls lovely beaches and coastline and some of its biggest attractions, the Eden Project at St Austell, Lanhydrock House at Bodmin, Crealy Adventure Park, the harbour town of Padstow, the Camel Trail (Bodmin - Wadebridge - Padstow) which is increasingly popular and the ancient Saints Way footpath.

We are open daily through the summer with food available 12 noon to 2pm and 6pm to 9pm daily. Through the winter we operate limited hours, opening for bed and breakfast only and pre-arranged meetings/events.

We use local suppliers as much as possible for our extensive menu and feature organic produce in some of our recipes with our hot puddings made
fresh on the premises.

Children under 14 are welcome in the snug and dining room with parental supervision, but not in or at the bar or in the games room.

We operate a total No Smoking policy in all bar areas, restaurant and bedrooms. In consideration of other customers and staff we ask that any
smoking is limited to the 4 smoking areas provided outside - by the Smoking Area signs only - and thank customers for their co-operation.

Picture of Halfway House Inn, Saint Issey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable family room. Couple running it only been there for 2.5 weeks and first time running this type of business together I believe. Tried very hard to please and were friendly. Would stay again if looking for short stay accommodation.

Reviewed by
Linda Carter

From South Molton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean rooms. Monica and Robert are great hosts but sadly they are leaving. The outside could do with some attention it's looking a little unloved and it looks closed at night as the sign isn't lit up. All this could be as it's early in the year. We didn't eat there in the evening so cannot comment but breakfast was good. It's a good base to explore Cornwall. We stayed an extra night and we would go there again.

ManagementResponse

Thank-you for a nice review. We were sorry to lose Robert & Monique who were returning to Birmingham for family reasons. Our new live-in couple are Elle & Toby and they are looking forward to meeting the guests at the Halfway House Inn. I'm not sure that Rob and Monique always remembered to turn the night lighting on - the building has a rope light around the roof line, a flood light at the front and back, lights on the fence in the car park, a corner light on the rear decking and an open illuminated sign in the window. The night sky here is fantastic and we do want to avoid too much light pollution (though if the planning authorities, landlord and neighbours were more amenable we would make things brighter).

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on arrival to the half way house our first impressions were disappointing as the outside is a little run down. however once inside we were pleasantly surprised, the bar had a local welcoming feel to it and the room was better than expected. The Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful the only down side to our stay was the food which was nothing short of abysmal. Our evening meal consisted mainly of pre-prepaired microwaved food which had gone cold by the time it reached the table. In addition most of the menu was unavailable as the ingredients for the mains had not been ordered in. dessert of apple crumble tasted microwaved and oily and was served with powered weak custard.
The B&B boasted a cooked breakfast of locally sourced products, which in reality had been purchased in Tesco, breakfast was dirty and oily and clearly cooked in a dirty frying pan.
Overall our stay was lovely and we probably would stay there again however the food would need to improve 100%.

ManagementResponse

Thank-you for the review which highlights both the good and things that need improvement. Our very pleasant young chef Robert has now left - he and Monique were struggling with family problems at the time of your stay and we thank them for their efforts on our behalf. Our new experienced chef is Toby who has just returned from a successful winter season catering in the French Alps, he has a wealth of experience both in the hospitality trade. He is assisted by Elle who takes great care of the front of house and guest accommodation.

Reviewed by
nigel l

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and made to feel very welcome. Breakfast amazing and plentiful. Ideal
location and rooms were lovely.Highly recommend and will be returning in future.

Reviewed by
VAL C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Padstow Delight 2013
This was our first time at the Half Way Inn, and because we could not get to the property until 6.00pm, we found it a little difficult to find, it was not very well lit up. The pub itself does not seem to be very popular, and was slightly cold when we got there. Our room was okay, and the hosts were very helpfull. The Breakfasts were excellent every day. Thanks again to the hosts.

Reviewed by
Christopher Brennan

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly owners with good accommodation and food made this a very pleasurable stay
This was a late booking or few days in the west country, the accommodation was clean, warm and welcoming which represented great value for the money being on a 3 nights for the cost of 2 promotion. The owners gave some good local knowledge over parking and access. to a number of sites of interest

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice people nice place to stay

Reviewed by
Charles Halliday

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money. Very good food, with breakfast particularly to be commended. .

Reviewed by
Roger B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what the doctor ordered
I love going abroad but wanted to get away fast, so went to Cornwall first time in over twenty years. The food was great, very helpful people, lovely room and peaceful. I'm going back to Cornwall next year and staying for longer this time. You must give this place ago, great for a base to tour round from.

Reviewed by
F Challis

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, very friendly, very clean and tidy rooms, food very good, great breakfast to start the day off. i would have no hesitation in going back again.

Reviewed by
C Gordon

From Henfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next