Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport Hotels > The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN
The Queen's Hotel is a grade II listed building which was built in 1863, soon after Bridge Street was laid out. We are ideally placed within the city centre being only 2 minutes walk from the main train station and plenty of car parking available in the area. We have 29 individual bedrooms and all have en suite shower facilities. All of our rooms include tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and digital televisions.

This hotel adjoins a Lloyds No.1 bar which plays music in the evening. In certain rooms, music may be heard during the evening bar hours. We are ideally located only 5 minutes off Junction 25A of the M4 and 2 minutes walk from Newport train station. There are train connections to Cardiff, Swansea, Birmingham New Street, Manchester Piccadilly and London Paddington.

Cardiff is only 20 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by train which is ideal for anyone planning a trip to the Millennium Stadium or concerts at the C.I.A. We are also less than a 10 minute walk from Rodney Parade, the home ground of The Newport Gwent Dragons and Newport RFC.

A 50% non-refundable deposit will be taken for any bookings with 5 or more rooms.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel , NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 211 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Great customer service! The room was clean and tidy and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Hannah Williams

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good choice in Newport Mon.
Helpful and cheerful staff. Room small but big enough for one person. Would have liked a small bedside cabinet or shelf to put spectacles and alarm clock on, otherwise very satisfied.
Liked the soap dispensers by wash basin and shower. Much superior to silly sachets.
Would happily use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
J ADAMS

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room - warning noisy location
Very nice room, clean and tidy and staff were also very pleasant. Unfortunately in has a very central city location and the streets where very rowdy from 12pm until early ours. Our room was on the second floor with no double glassing so you pretty much heard everything. The internal lift was noise and made a door bell sound when called. I heard what sounded like a rickety cleaning trolly that seamed to roll on all night on several floors. I stayed until 12am in the nightclub with friends which is situated in the basement and was informed this closes at 2am so I was glad not to be on the ground or first floor. I thought it was a fair price for the two of us but can not say I got a good night sleep even if the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Richard Hale

From Weymouth , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but almost perfectly formed
The room was small but fairly comfortable. It was very clean.The washroom was good but it lacked a shower mat and the shower cubicle itself was a bit tight. The only fault was the room was too warm.

Reviewed by
ALEXANDER G

From GLASGOW, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant all round!
The staff & facilities were very good, especially as the price was so reasonable. We would definitely use again!

Reviewed by
Gillian P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
A basic room on a great location (near train stn.)

Reviewed by
N Lin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad !
I had a single room with en suite , the en suite had the best shower iv'e had for ages ! the room was quite small with no wardrobe but a bracket for hanging my clothes . The bed was noisy and the mattress could have done with some new springs . The pillow was feather filled and was as flat as a pancake (even two together didn't work)There was a constant buzzing noise coming from the A/C units below the room which was hard to ignore . With these little things addressed over all i would stay again . The staff were excellent and the food spot on .

Reviewed by
k hall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money

Reviewed by
Lasitha N

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent... Simply Excellent..
Great Hotel, Great Location... Slap bang in the middle of town, close to all amenities and transport. Parking close by.. Comfy rooms, good condition, warm, clean and tidy.. Welcoming staff on reception...
Everything you would expect.
10/10

Reviewed by
Andrew Moore

From Ely, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was comfy... Room was good, staff are friendly

Reviewed by
stuart c

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next