You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3

18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN

Price From 68.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (97)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nick C

  • July 2016

1 night's stay

No parking at hotel, but on-street parking is available nearby and is free between 6pm & 8am which suited me.

Tried to check-in at bar, but was re-directed to a door around the corner which is the hotel entrance. Barrier was down on the check-in desk when I arrived (about 6pm), but pressed button on phone and was attended to quickly. Check-in lady was very polite and helpful. Room small, but very nice. Clean linen and towels, comfy bed, good shower, Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary still & sparkling bottles of water, iron and board. Ate in the Weatherspoon's bar/restaurant which is always good food and value for money. Decent room rate for a city centre hotel.

  • Graham Shaw

  • June 2016

Springboard to Newport

Conveniently situated 2 minutes walk from the Rail Station with connections to London, the Midlands and Southern counties, the Queen's Hotel combines traditional high standards of yesteryear with modern technology and service.

Excellent meals are served in the Bar which functions on two floors providing plenty of space for relaxation. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. The staff are well motivated and cheerfully provide for guests' needs. An unhurried yet purposeful atmosphere pervades the hotel. I enjoyed my stay. [The accommodation is suitable for a business stop-over. - not available in the options below.]

  • j bain

  • June 2016

Would stay there again.

Clean room and good hotel would go back again.

  • Eileen R

  • June 2016

Overall we liked our one night stay.

Our only problem was that the hotel has a night club and another one just across the road.We could not get to sleep until the early hours after midnight.

Breakfast was very good and the room decor was very nice. Good value too.

  • Christine B

  • May 2016

Judgement day weekend

The room we were given was on the second floor No 211 right above the entrance to the bar.

The music went on until 2 am in the morning on both the Saturday & Sunday night. The room was very hot but we could not open the window because of the noise below. Two nights with little sleep.

  • Christine W

  • April 2016

Second stay

This is the second time I have stayed in Queen's Hotel and the standard was as good as it was before.

The room was clean as were the bed and bathroom linen. TV worked and refreshment tray was well stocked. Hotel is easily accessible from rail and bus stations.

  • H Frankham

  • April 2016

The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Central location, comfy bed and good shower.

  • Luka S

  • April 2016

Queens

Staff were very polite and friendly.

Though unclear about the room number. Room was generally very clean though there was a large stain on the bottom of the bed. Also was boiling and none of the windows opened. Overall I would stay again but ask for a room with functioning windows. Relatively good value.

  • R Evans

  • March 2016

newport wedding

made very welcome by receptionist food was pay as you want it in the bar which was no problem.

lovely breakfast. very cheap pub open until 2am . you will hear some music noise but I stayed up until 2am so was not bothered by it. car park very cheap and only moments away.

  • G Leach

  • March 2016

Awful stay!

Noisy and grubby hotel.

Advertised as some rooms may hear noise from the bar in evening hours. This actually meant that the music was so loud that you could feel the floor, walls and bed vibrate and the evening was until 2am. I might as well have put my bed on the dance floor. The room was OK but mould in the corners of the shower, the window ledges needed a duster running over them and were rotten, the bathroom floor really grubby and there was a half inch of dust along the edge of the carpet where the hoover clearly doesn't reach. The hotel contacted me for a review, I replied with my disappointments and they haven't had the courtesy to even reply!