Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Newport Gwent Hotels > The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN
The Queen's Hotel is a grade II listed building which was built in 1863, soon after Bridge Street was laid out. We are ideally placed within the city centre being only 2 minutes walk from the main train station and plenty of car parking available in the area. We have 29 individual bedrooms and all have en suite shower facilities. All of our rooms include tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and digital televisions.

This hotel adjoins a Lloyds No.1 bar which plays music in the evening. In certain rooms, music may be heard during the evening bar hours. We are ideally located only 5 minutes off Junction 25A of the M4 and 2 minutes walk from Newport train station. There are train connections to Cardiff, Swansea, Birmingham New Street, Manchester Piccadilly and London Paddington.

Cardiff is only 20 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by train which is ideal for anyone planning a trip to the Millennium Stadium or concerts at the C.I.A. We are also less than a 10 minute walk from Rodney Parade, the home ground of The Newport Gwent Dragons and Newport RFC.

A 50% non-refundable deposit will be taken for any bookings with 5 or more rooms.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel , NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 179 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
I have stayed at this Wetherspoon Hotel about 6 times now, and i have found every stay to be as good as the rest. Polite friendly welcome, good service, clean and comfy tidy rooms. Great Location and great nights sleep. I really cannot find anything bad to say about this Hotel. Yes, it is over a Wetherspoon Pub that stays open late, but the accommodation is on the second floor so that little sound is heard from the pub below. The only noise is the odd drunk idiot heading home, but you cannot blame the hotel for that... This really is a great hotel...
Ideal if you want to be near Cardiff, it is often cheaper than staying in Cardiff itself, with trains every 10 minutes or so to Cardiff, it really is ideally located. Newport itself is a nice city, currently undergoing a lot of building work, but this dont detract from the area it is set in, all of which is easily accessible by Train, Bus and Car. 10/10

Reviewed by
Andrew Moore

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens Hotel Newport Review.
From the time of arrival til the time of checking out all the staff made you feel welcome and at ease. Everything was explained very clearly. They were a credit to their employer.

Reviewed by
Mark Morgan

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
This hotel is right in the city centre. It is a short two minute walk from the train station and Rodney Parade football/rugby ground is an easy ten minute walk. If you are in Newport for the football or rugby this hotel is ideal. Clean, warm room with all the usual facilities. It's not 5 star, nor does it pretend to be. But, if you want a great location in Newport at reasonable rates, this place is it.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cosy room
The lady at the front desk was nice. I checked in and she gave me the key to my room. The room was very cosy and comfortable. The room was nice and warm and the bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable to me and I enjoyed my sleep.
The only downfall was that my room was close to the lift and the lift was noisy, so anytime the lift was used, I heard it from my room. Apart from that, it was great value for my money.
I will definitely stay here again if ever I visit Newport again.

Reviewed by
Evelyn

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Attached to a wetherspoons which is a cost effective way to eat. Would stay their again

Reviewed by
S Ankers

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

queens hotel
Great value for money in a city centre location

Reviewed by
Jimmy N

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel Staff Amazing..!!!!
I was allowed to check in early on the Saturday because I was watching the Football at Rodney Parade and time was limited had a checked in at 2pm. Being allowed to check in early gave me ample time to settle in make the kick off. Thanks Cathey, you are a true Gem.

Reviewed by
Clive H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job!
Only stayed one night, it was just what I needed. Smooth, friendly check-in, quiet place, clean room.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very convenient for an overnight stay in Newport
1 minute walk to and from the train station, right in the city centre for access to shops, market (and farmers market while I was there). Nothing fancy but staff really helpful and you had everything you needed, for a great price, breakfast with free refill coffee less than £5, really what can you say excellent value for money all round.

Reviewed by
Rachel K

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Central, cheap accomadation, good rooms and great shower

Reviewed by
peter s

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next