Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel



Price From 81.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (136)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Linda M

  • November 2015

Big thankyou

Wonderful stay very friendly staff ...very clean lots of tea coffee and also bottled water...great power shower lovely big white towels...very near railway station and shopping centre...I always enjoy a Wetherspoon big breakfast...just perfect.

I must just add I'm disabled and use wheelchair so having a lift to my room which was plenty big enough...

  • Ian Waters

  • November 2015

Quality inexpensive accommodation in the heart of Newport

Since discovering the Queens Hotel I always stay there when in Newport as the Staff are very helpful and pleasant, the central location is perfect for me, the check in and out times suit me.

I can enter the hotel at any time, they have a restaurant and great bar attached to the building, there is on street parking, shops, places to eat, bars and clubs nearby, the rooms are pleasant and have all I require and although I always stay midweek I have never heard any noise from the bar. I can leave my room, take the lift to reception and be in most of the places I want to be including the railway station within 2 minutes. Ideal.

  • Julie Young

  • October 2015

Hotel is very clean and basic, suitable for short term stay.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming. We would defo stay again.

  • Matthew C

  • October 2015

Nice stay

Clean tidy and friendly staff

  • M Stent

  • September 2015

Queens Hotel , Newport

If you need to travel this is a very clean , comfortable and good value for money hotel which is a stones throw away from the railway station and with a NCP car park which is gives a reduced rate for guests.

Being next to the pub is no problem as you are insulated from noise , in the room I was stopping in anyway and the hotel has a completely separate entrance. I stumbled on this by chance , glad I did.

  • Eamon F

  • September 2015

Don't stay on a Friday or Saturday if you want a night's sleep

The noise from the disco below was extremely loud and went on until 4 am.

No chance of a night's sleep. Food in the bar was typical bar food but was never served hot. Cheep and cheerful would describe the bar.

  • Paul H

  • September 2015

Base for rugby game in Cardiff

Very good base and very good value as a base for a game in cardiff

  • Pauline S

  • September 2015

Room for improvement

I was well informed by the staff on arrival with regard to noise issues but found on the Friday night the music got louder as the night wore on.

The only inconvenience in my room was that the socket for the kettle next to the tray was blanked off and I had to use another socket in the room. Lastly some door closures were very noisy when some residents returned in the early hours the doors were left to bang very loudly waking me several times. But overall I enjoyed my stay at The Queens Hotel

  • W Carter

  • September 2015

Alarm bells ringing

Centrally located in Newport City Centre.

If your a party animal and don't mind being awoken late at night this is for you. If you need a good rest after a hard day - avoid due to the adjoining club.

  • Anne M

  • August 2015

enjoyable stay

Hotel staff were excellent.

We wanted to check in a bit earlier as we were going to Cardiff for the rugby and they were able to do this for us.