Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport Hotels > The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN
The Queen's Hotel is a grade II listed building which was built in 1863, soon after Bridge Street was laid out. We are ideally placed within the city centre being only 2 minutes walk from the main train station and plenty of car parking available in the area. We have 29 individual bedrooms and all have en suite shower facilities. All of our rooms include tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and digital televisions.

This hotel adjoins a Lloyds No.1 bar which plays music in the evening. In certain rooms, music may be heard during the evening bar hours. We are ideally located only 5 minutes off Junction 25A of the M4 and 2 minutes walk from Newport train station. There are train connections to Cardiff, Swansea, Birmingham New Street, Manchester Piccadilly and London Paddington.

Cardiff is only 20 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by train which is ideal for anyone planning a trip to the Millennium Stadium or concerts at the C.I.A. We are also less than a 10 minute walk from Rodney Parade, the home ground of The Newport Gwent Dragons and Newport RFC.

A 50% non-refundable deposit will be taken for any bookings with 5 or more rooms.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel , NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 214 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
A basic room on a great location (near train stn.)

Reviewed by
N Lin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad !
I had a single room with en suite , the en suite had the best shower iv'e had for ages ! the room was quite small with no wardrobe but a bracket for hanging my clothes . The bed was noisy and the mattress could have done with some new springs . The pillow was feather filled and was as flat as a pancake (even two together didn't work)There was a constant buzzing noise coming from the A/C units below the room which was hard to ignore . With these little things addressed over all i would stay again . The staff were excellent and the food spot on .

Reviewed by
k hall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money

Reviewed by
Lasitha N

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent... Simply Excellent..
Great Hotel, Great Location... Slap bang in the middle of town, close to all amenities and transport. Parking close by.. Comfy rooms, good condition, warm, clean and tidy.. Welcoming staff on reception...
Everything you would expect.
10/10

Reviewed by
Andrew Moore

From Ely, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was comfy... Room was good, staff are friendly

Reviewed by
stuart c

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel fine surrounding area very noisey and disruptive on Fri /Sat till early hours.
We had originally booked in for 4 nights.Room needs updating. Shower cabinet doors have a very narrow opening. At check-in we were informed that there was a nightclub/ sports bar attached to the Hotel and staff did apologize that it was open till 2am /3am Fri/Sat. I did not anticipate the level of noise and disturbance that took place outside the Hotel and surrounding area till 5am both nights. We discovered later that there is more than one night club nearby and the crowds congregate outside to get taxis. We complained to staff and obtained a refund for the other two nights would had booked for . Staff were helpful and understanding.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens Hotel Newport
Good Quality Accommodation in the Town Centre adjacent to the Railway Station and near Bus Terminals with excellent connections to this part of Wales. Room was comfortable. However the Shower was very small. Food was the normal Wetherspoons standard, good and value for money.

Reviewed by
John Bird

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rubbish
dont even bother !
Thanks for telling me its a night club after i have paid. Great night sleep that was
cheers wetherspoons........
Bring your ear muffs if you want to stay here !!

Reviewed by
Dave Scott

From Pocklington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queen's hotel Newport
Very good value. clean and tidy, would stay again.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, inexpensive hotel with excellent staff.
As soon as I arrived I was impressed with the pleasant member of staff at reception as she went out of her way to be helpful and my time there was vastly improved due to her. The lift was next to the reception and very handy. The ensuite room had all that I required. There was some constant noise from a machine outside the window but it wasn't that noticable. The location is ideal in that it is situated in the centre of the city, with the railway station and taxi rank a 3 minute walk away and an excellent restaurant opposite the hotel, as well as a restaurant and bar attached to the hotel. The cost of the room was inexpensive. I would thouroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
I WATERS

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next