Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport Hotels > The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN
The Queen's Hotel is a grade II listed building which was built in 1863, soon after Bridge Street was laid out. We are ideally placed within the city centre being only 2 minutes walk from the main train station and plenty of car parking available in the area. We have 29 individual bedrooms and all have en suite shower facilities. All of our rooms include tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and digital televisions.

This hotel adjoins a Lloyds No.1 bar which plays music in the evening. In certain rooms, music may be heard during the evening bar hours. We are ideally located only 5 minutes off Junction 25A of the M4 and 2 minutes walk from Newport train station. There are train connections to Cardiff, Swansea, Birmingham New Street, Manchester Piccadilly and London Paddington.

Cardiff is only 20 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by train which is ideal for anyone planning a trip to the Millennium Stadium or concerts at the C.I.A. We are also less than a 10 minute walk from Rodney Parade, the home ground of The Newport Gwent Dragons and Newport RFC.

A 50% non-refundable deposit will be taken for any bookings with 5 or more rooms.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel , NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 198 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job!
Only stayed one night, it was just what I needed. Smooth, friendly check-in, quiet place, clean room.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very convenient for an overnight stay in Newport
1 minute walk to and from the train station, right in the city centre for access to shops, market (and farmers market while I was there). Nothing fancy but staff really helpful and you had everything you needed, for a great price, breakfast with free refill coffee less than £5, really what can you say excellent value for money all round.

Reviewed by
Rachel K

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Central, cheap accomadation, good rooms and great shower

Reviewed by
peter s

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent city centre hotel
I was very pleased with my first stay at a Wetherspoons hotel.Helpful and friendly staff,comfortable room and good food at a reasonable price.Good central location near to railway and bus stations.

Reviewed by
mike k

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerfull
A great no frills place to stay.

Reviewed by
j wilson

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in city centre and great value food and drinks

Reviewed by
John L

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Great customer service! The room was clean and tidy and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Hannah Williams

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good choice in Newport Mon.
Helpful and cheerful staff. Room small but big enough for one person. Would have liked a small bedside cabinet or shelf to put spectacles and alarm clock on, otherwise very satisfied.
Liked the soap dispensers by wash basin and shower. Much superior to silly sachets.
Would happily use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
J ADAMS

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room - warning noisy location
Very nice room, clean and tidy and staff were also very pleasant. Unfortunately in has a very central city location and the streets where very rowdy from 12pm until early ours. Our room was on the second floor with no double glassing so you pretty much heard everything. The internal lift was noise and made a door bell sound when called. I heard what sounded like a rickety cleaning trolly that seamed to roll on all night on several floors. I stayed until 12am in the nightclub with friends which is situated in the basement and was informed this closes at 2am so I was glad not to be on the ground or first floor. I thought it was a fair price for the two of us but can not say I got a good night sleep even if the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Richard Hale

From Weymouth , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but almost perfectly formed
The room was small but fairly comfortable. It was very clean.The washroom was good but it lacked a shower mat and the shower cubicle itself was a bit tight. The only fault was the room was too warm.

Reviewed by
ALEXANDER G

From GLASGOW, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next