Reviews - The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3

18-22 BRIDGE STREET, NEWPORT, NP20 4AN

Price From 85.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (165)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Teresa B

  • July 2015

Great for position

Great staff.

Room okay but not as good as other Wetherspoons we have stayed at. Castors on bed and having to prop open window with a chair - not ideal. Worse thing was the noise - I was kept awake until 6am by revellers from the night club. Our room was right above the main pub door and we were warned there would be some noise on arrival. The friends travelling with us stayed in a room on the side of the building and it wasn't a problem for them.

  • Moshe P

  • July 2015

Good value for money

Good location near the train station, friendly staff, comfortable room.

  • Rory S

  • July 2015

The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Stayed here for two nights in June.

Check-in was good with the lady at reception being very welcoming and friendly. The room was generally well maintained. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and spacious with a decent shower and bath tub. Light in the bathroom could have been a little bit brighter for when I was shaving though. Only niggles were the window would not stay open so a chair was 'provided' to prop the window up for airflow. The fan in the room was not really cutting the mustard as the room remained stuffy during the night. Air-con would have been appreciated. Would stay here again though.

  • Mark Morgan

  • June 2015

The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

All staff are really friendly and polite.

  • Stephen L

  • June 2015

tidy

Very clean room,staff also very helpful

  • Andrew Moore

  • June 2015

Very Good.

Wetherspoon Hotels have got it spot on with their hotels..

Very nice accommodation, spacious, clean and generally all round very good.

Book in advance and you can get some great deals..

Great location, ideal for a city break or to be based near Cardiff..

  • s gilbert

  • June 2015

It was a place to stay and shower

when I arrived after 10pm reception was closed, so I pressed a button on the phone and wait for someone to come.

After about 3-4 mints someone came and helped me out, took payment and told me how to get to my room. The room was very very hot and because the hotel was old, the windows didn't open. Their was a little fan in the room, so that was ok but I had to leave it on all night just to be able to relax in the room. The bed was uncountable and because the room was so hot, even with the fan, I only was able to sleep for a couple of hours. Also only two plug sockets in room witch had to work the fan, bed side light, kettle, hairdryer and phone chargers, so it was quite irritating that I had to keep offing one device before I could use another. I checked out early in the morning around 8:30 and was able to leave a bag there, till my train was due in the afternoon.

  • sally g

  • May 2015

The Queens Hotel, Newport- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Last minute stay, only comments would be the pillows need protectors and the tIle grout needs sorting in shower but all in all excellent.

The staff were lovely and the evening food was excellent, breakfast could have been warmer. The hotel warned us that there was a nightclub but it never bothered us. Our local branch in Wellington telford could learn a lot in service and food standards from this hotel/pub.

  • Adrian P

  • May 2015

great value hotel

I stay here a lot i did try the travelodge opposite but after staying here realised the Queens is miles apart from its opposite number.

The staff are very helpful.

  • Adrian Banks

  • April 2015

Passing thru

Arrived late and checked out early, Staff very efficient, would stay again.

2 bottles of water in the room. Thanks guys.😄😄