No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cairn Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97/103 Osborne Road Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2TJ
Located in the lively area of Jesmond, 2 mins walk from the metro station and 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Cairn Hotel is a 2-star hotel with 50 ensuite bedrooms, part of the Cairn Hotel Group. Free high speed wifi is available to all guests.

Whether visiting Newcastle on business or pleasure, a friendly, attentive service and a relaxed atmosphere are all an integral part of your stay at the Cairn Hotel. The recently refurbished Bar Berlise is perfect for a drink or a light snack while the hotel Restaurant offers a variety of traditional and international meals at reasonable prices.

Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne does not accept same sex group bookings of 4 rooms or more.
Picture of Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a reasonably good hotel that provided good service and the staff were very helpful indeed; but because of my wife's health problems the up stair rooms were not suitable and I had to request a down stair room, which the staff wer more than willing to assist.

Reviewed by
k pinchard

From East Lothian, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst night stay!
The reception was lovely and gleaming and the lady was really nice, then we walked through the corridor to a stale smell. We was on the first floor we got to the room to find the door lock was broken, the wardrobe door was broken, the shower fell off in my husband's hand, the window would not open, the drawers to the dressing table had no handles and to top it all off the bed was a three quarter. I asked to be moved but they had no rooms available so when I returned I made a complaint they gave me £20! Which I found to be an insult. Our friends stayed also that night and had to be moved because the tv did not work and the room smelt of strong cigarettes, the room they moved them too wasn't much better. Please do not book this hotel we paid £85 for the night, now I wish I had paid £20 extra and stayed in a decent hotel with no smells and clean sheets.

Reviewed by
N Thompson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cairn. Hotel
Lovely receptionist. Room ok, Not enough coffee, no decaffeinated coffee. Hairdryer hose came away, so couldn't dry hair properly. Otherwise nice clean towels, good shower, and lovely location.

Reviewed by
Lynda Boyle

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room and stay
Very friendly staff. Shame that on the second day the hot water wasn't working and had to shower in another room. I would have preferred that the electric towel heater had a switch to be operated from as it was continuously on and there were no option for switching it off.

Reviewed by
c mondain

From london, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was standard. Payed extra due to bank hol but wouldn't pay the same normally. Area of jesmond is brilliant if your a young couple. Very lively and brilliant atmosphere. Hotel in general was an ok stay, very comfy bed but warm room.

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is amongst the very lowest in a big range of Budget hotels.
First impression was a liquid stained ramp into reception...not a good welcome when nothing more than a bucket of water would have helped the appearance.
Room smelled more of the toilet blocks used in mens pubilc urinals.
Window cord broken in bedroom...no fresh air there.

Reviewed by
George M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stag party
Good for cheap accomadation in a good location perfect fir stag do.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful, no real problems!
The room was clean, with tea and coffee facilities, and the bathroom was tidy.
I could hear people talking loudly when they were stood in the corridor very early in the morning, but the room was silent and no problem once they'd gone into their room.
Continental breakfast was well stocked.
Would stay again =]

Reviewed by
Ellen Moate

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Received a bargain hotel was value for money

Reviewed by
Douglas R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel accommodation and staff fine.

Reviewed by
T Miller

From Airdrie, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next