No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cairn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
97/103 Osborne Road Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2TJ
Situated in the vibrant Jesmond area of Newcastle, just a mile away from city centre and within easy reach of the motorway network, Newcastle Airport and the Metro system, the newly refurbished Cairn Hotel is the ideal venue for those visiting on business or leisure, embarking on shopping trips, theatre breaks, and nightlife.

Cairn Hotel has a 24-hour front desk as well as an on-site bar and restaurant, and offers contemporary accommodations with free Wi-Fi access throughout. Guests can also use the limited, on-site parking facilities free of charge.

The Cairn Hotel Newcastle has recently undergone a full refurbishment on all bedrooms and public areas.

Rooms at Cairn Hotel are individually decorated and have a writing desk, a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. They all include a private bathroom fitted with a shower and a hairdryer, and free toiletries are provided.

Guests can enjoy a variety of regional specialties at Sohe Restaurant for lunch and dinner. Drinks and refreshments are available in bar Berlise throughout the day.

Sohe is sure to offer an experience like no other. Traditionally trained chefs create dishes demonstrating their culinary flair, unique methods and individual expertise, showcasing foods from all over Asia that are sure to tantalise and tease the senses.

Sohe will invigorate and excite you with its blend of fine foods in fusion with the Asian inspiration behind this exciting new dining experience.

Picture of Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two star hotel exactly what we expected.
The room was basic enough with a tv and fridge. Didn't like the look of fridge so didn't use it. Tea, coffee and bottled water provided along with biscuits. The room was very hot even though rad off and we had to leave window open. Food was continental style in dining room. Main bar also did food but we never had any meals. Bar has happy hour with 50% reductions on drinks. Close to centre to walk or just three to four stops on metro. Staff all very helpful and polite. If you want a fairly basic stay I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
K Goulding

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not first visit
Have stayed many times in the past. Many changes since then. Staff were lovely. Bar was good so was food in the bar. Room large so was surprised that could only turn lights off at door not near bed. Bed seen better days. Shame people who stay don't respect other people's property so can't blame hotel for carpet stains and marks on wall. Wouldn't put me off staying again but not for more than 1 night

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for a night out in newcastle

Reviewed by
F Clark

From Corbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a reasonably good hotel that provided good service and the staff were very helpful indeed; but because of my wife's health problems the up stair rooms were not suitable and I had to request a down stair room, which the staff wer more than willing to assist.

Reviewed by
k pinchard

From East Lothian, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst night stay!
The reception was lovely and gleaming and the lady was really nice, then we walked through the corridor to a stale smell. We was on the first floor we got to the room to find the door lock was broken, the wardrobe door was broken, the shower fell off in my husband's hand, the window would not open, the drawers to the dressing table had no handles and to top it all off the bed was a three quarter. I asked to be moved but they had no rooms available so when I returned I made a complaint they gave me £20! Which I found to be an insult. Our friends stayed also that night and had to be moved because the tv did not work and the room smelt of strong cigarettes, the room they moved them too wasn't much better. Please do not book this hotel we paid £85 for the night, now I wish I had paid £20 extra and stayed in a decent hotel with no smells and clean sheets.

Reviewed by
N Thompson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cairn. Hotel
Lovely receptionist. Room ok, Not enough coffee, no decaffeinated coffee. Hairdryer hose came away, so couldn't dry hair properly. Otherwise nice clean towels, good shower, and lovely location.

Reviewed by
Lynda Boyle

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room and stay
Very friendly staff. Shame that on the second day the hot water wasn't working and had to shower in another room. I would have preferred that the electric towel heater had a switch to be operated from as it was continuously on and there were no option for switching it off.

Reviewed by
c mondain

From london, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was standard. Payed extra due to bank hol but wouldn't pay the same normally. Area of jesmond is brilliant if your a young couple. Very lively and brilliant atmosphere. Hotel in general was an ok stay, very comfy bed but warm room.

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is amongst the very lowest in a big range of Budget hotels.
First impression was a liquid stained ramp into reception...not a good welcome when nothing more than a bucket of water would have helped the appearance.
Room smelled more of the toilet blocks used in mens pubilc urinals.
Window cord broken in bedroom...no fresh air there.

Reviewed by
George M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next