Reviews - Cairn Hotel


97/103 Osborne Road Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2TJ

Price From 148.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Shawnee G

  • November 2014

Fun city break

For a last minute break it was fantastic value and the location was good

  • C Simpson

  • September 2014

Not Bad.

As you enter the hotel you are greeted by a very dated interior which needs some serious TLC, fortunately as you walk to your room it is obvious with the refurbishment going on they are improving the overall appearance of the hotel.

The room itself was lovely and very modern and clean. en suite bathroom was excellent and a huge smart tv in the room was great.

  • Chris D

  • August 2014

Refurbished room with style

We booked the room knowing that it had recently been refurbished and that work was currently being undertaken with other rooms.

We did a double take when we entered the room. Absolutely beautifully furnished and very modern. We hope to stay here again on our next visit to Newcastle and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Alan J

  • July 2014

A weekend in Newcastle

We had a great weekend.

The hotel was undergoing a refurbishment, hence the 5 for Cleanliness, mainly for the stair carpet but this was due to workmen going up and down the stairs. Our room had already been refurbished to a high standard. Breakfast was continental and fine on the Saturday but Sunday's had a few items missing, i.e. jam, bread for the toaster. I would assume these would have been topped up at some point, plus we could have asked the waitress but we were in a rush to check-out. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. We will certainly be going back at some point next year.

  • Scott Elliot

  • June 2014

Adequate for a 2 night stay - staff all friendly and helpful

Continental breakfast suited me - but might not be to everybody's liking though.

  • tina b

  • May 2014

Modern, Clean and Friendly Hotel

Went from Newcastle station by taxi to cairn hotel an hour and a half before check in time and we're greeted by a friendly and very helpful receptionist.

She checked us in and gave us our keys and explained about basket in room with tea, coffee etc. She also gave us a map of the area and directions to the metro which was running every 7 mins and was reasonably priced. Our room was clean, tidy also newly refurbished with a very comfy bed. Hotel was very busy as our stay was on a bank holiday weekend and street outside was lively until about 10.30pm then very quite. Even having a bar in our hotel we couldn't hear any noise In our room.

The only downside I would say was the breakfast which was continental and not much of a choice. Apart from that I would definitely recommend The Cairn Hotel and would stay there again if I was going to Newcastle for a weekend.

  • Mark Whalen

  • May 2014

Recommend to anyone good value for money

  • Victoria Walker

  • March 2014

The reception guy was great.

Very friendly and welcoming, we had a problem the next day having out car blocked in and he was more than helpful. Hotel was great for two star BUT I think it was over priced, but for the area I can understand why. Would stay there again.

  • Leanne Munn

  • March 2014

Had problem with heating which stay were very keen ro rectify .

Very good customer services

  • Jason P

  • February 2014

Don't do it!

Really poor quality accommodation.