No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown at Marnhull

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Crown Road, , , Marnhull, DT10 1LN
The Crown at Marnhull is steeped in history. It has been used as a pub and has been serving customers since the time of King Henry the eighth. The thatched part of the building dates back to the 16th century and has as far as possible remained untouched. A priest hole is still visable in the bar that linked the pub to the nearby St Gregory`s church. Thomas Hardy was a frequent visitor to The Crown and the pub features in his most famous novel, Tess of the D`urbervilles as ` The Pure Drop Inn` situated in the village of Marlot.(Marnhull). Nowadays, The Crown boasts 5 en suite letting bedrooms. Spacious and fully equipped, huge fluffy towels, flat screen HD TV`s with freeview, stereo system, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe, free WIFI, power showers and deep roll top baths or a wet room supplied with toiletries. In our pub we are open 11:30 - 3pm Monday to Friday, and all day at the weekends, you will find food served 12pm - 3pm and 6pm - 9pm. We use only the freshest local ingredients that Dorset`s fine larder has to offer. Our eggs are all free range, vegetables are used in season and we try to cut out food miles by buying fresh and local. All our dishes are homemade and cooked to order. The main bar `The Pure Drop Inn` is open all day serving quality real ales, wines and soft drinks or even just a coffee by the roaring log fire.
Picture of The Crown at Marnhull, Marnhull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were more than happy with our three nights at The Crown Marnhull. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large ensuite bathroom. The pub was busy every night with locals and other guests which made for a buzzing atmosphere. The food was delicious, both breakfasts and evening meals (we ate in the pub's restaurant every night). All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly, efficient and polite. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
a kelly

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working in Dorset
The room was lovely, the noise from the bar below was not. It was unfortunate that another resident decided to continue drinking, and talking loudly, long after the bar closed until 12.45 am. Without this disturbance a good nights sleep would have been had from closing at 11pm on. If you want an early night request one of the rooms further away. The breakfast was OK, nothing more, avoid the recooked sausages.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
One off the best

Reviewed by
keith d

From Craigavon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place

Reviewed by
D Houghton

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice country pub, good atmosphere, the food at night and the breakfasts were excellent, the room was comfortable and not cramped, that impressed we have booked again for next year.

Reviewed by
stewart osgood

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We could not have wished for a more pleasant stay. The place has real character, (it's well off the beaten track), the room was extremely well-equipped and comfortable, with an en-suite roll top bath. The evening meal was outstanding and the breakfast more like lunch! With its fascinating Thomas Hardy connections, unusual priest hole, and the excellent price offered to us, we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN HUSSEY

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful and historic country inn. Three H&W beers on offer. Really excellent breakfast. Only drawback, an unexpected one in such a location, is noise from adjacent road

Reviewed by
A Hughes

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was lovely and food was superb. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Forgot to mention on checkout how good the drinks were in the room but we do like a biscuit to go with our tea..

Reviewed by
H Moy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent place to stay, Great room, good food, helpful attentive staff and a great location
This was a great place to stay. room booked on saturday afternoon for saturday night.
Room was huge and very good. Evening meal was also impressive and we had a table automatically reserved as we were staying, a nice touch. In the end we ate in the garden to enjoy the evening.
as we had to leave early in the morning, we were supplied with breakfast cereal, milk and fruit in the room the night before.
The service was excellent even though they were very busy and the whole experience was good.
I recommend the Crown to anyone.

Reviewed by
James G

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend The Crown at Marnhull - a delightful stay
Bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it! Beautiful large bath.
Friendly staff. Nice quiet night. Road quite busy during the day but not at night.

Reviewed by
C Packer

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next