No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown at Marnhull

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Crown Road, , , Marnhull, DT10 1LN
The Crown at Marnhull is steeped in history. It has been used as a pub and has been serving customers since the time of King Henry the eighth. The thatched part of the building dates back to the 16th century and has as far as possible remained untouched. A priest hole is still visable in the bar that linked the pub to the nearby St Gregory`s church. Thomas Hardy was a frequent visitor to The Crown and the pub features in his most famous novel, Tess of the D`urbervilles as ` The Pure Drop Inn` situated in the village of Marlot.(Marnhull). Nowadays, The Crown boasts 5 en suite letting bedrooms. Spacious and fully equipped, huge fluffy towels, flat screen HD TV`s with freeview, stereo system, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe, free WIFI, power showers and deep roll top baths or a wet room supplied with toiletries. In our pub we are open 11:30 - 3pm Monday to Friday, and all day at the weekends, you will find food served 12pm - 3pm and 6pm - 9pm. We use only the freshest local ingredients that Dorset`s fine larder has to offer. Our eggs are all free range, vegetables are used in season and we try to cut out food miles by buying fresh and local. All our dishes are homemade and cooked to order. The main bar `The Pure Drop Inn` is open all day serving quality real ales, wines and soft drinks or even just a coffee by the roaring log fire.
Picture of The Crown at Marnhull, Marnhull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly recommended
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crown. The staff were most friendly and helpful, the room was very pleasant and well equipped. Despite other reviews we found we were not at all bothered by traffic noise, although our room (Jude) faced the road.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well appointed traditional village pub / restaurant
The Crown is a traditional but modernised thatched village inn with a good range of food and drinks and with spacious accommodation.
We booked the last room available at a bargain Late Rooms price, It was on the ground floor and specifically equipped for disabled guests. The room was large and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable but the duvet was rather heavy and warm for the time of year. The room is also located immediately on the road which, although not especially busy, did seem to carry a number of lorries through the night.
The wifi signal in the room was very weak to non-existent, but it worked fine in the pub and adjacent garden.
We enjoyed a good meal in the restaurant, freshly cooked but also quickly provided, and reasonable value. I also enjoyed the excellent choice of three local Badger ales.
Included in the room price was an excellent cooked breakfast with a good choice of menu options.
All in all a pleasant and enjoyable one night stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent star rating
Very good place to stay . Olde worldy style pub.
Sleeping arrangements excellent

Reviewed by
Stuart Johnson

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ref Three Night Stay
The Crown was an excellent choice. A warm, welcoming and very homely place to stay. The quality of the accommodation was really good and staff were informative, very friendly and pleasant.Plenty of safe parking was available and it makes a really good base for touring Dorset, or an overnight stop.
The only minor nuisance was traffic on the road outside but it really didn't bother us too much.
We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
John W

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
What a brilliant find! This unassuming Dorset pub had it all - steeped in history, excellent real ales, and surprisingly good pub food. A sign of the times- the staff were astonished the following morning when I pointed out they'd not charged for the bottle of wine at dinner. Is honesty rally such a novelty these days?

Reviewed by
michael m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place. Warm, friendly staff. Great base to see Dorset. Definitely going back there
Could not ask for anything more from the Crown. It was everything we wanted. PERFECT for us

Reviewed by
LOUISE B

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were more than happy with our three nights at The Crown Marnhull. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large ensuite bathroom. The pub was busy every night with locals and other guests which made for a buzzing atmosphere. The food was delicious, both breakfasts and evening meals (we ate in the pub's restaurant every night). All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly, efficient and polite. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
a kelly

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working in Dorset
The room was lovely, the noise from the bar below was not. It was unfortunate that another resident decided to continue drinking, and talking loudly, long after the bar closed until 12.45 am. Without this disturbance a good nights sleep would have been had from closing at 11pm on. If you want an early night request one of the rooms further away. The breakfast was OK, nothing more, avoid the recooked sausages.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
One off the best

Reviewed by
keith d

From Craigavon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place

Reviewed by
D Houghton

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next