No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown at Marnhull

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Crown Road, , , Marnhull, DT10 1LN
The Crown at Marnhull is steeped in history. It has been used as a pub and has been serving customers since the time of King Henry the eighth. The thatched part of the building dates back to the 16th century and has as far as possible remained untouched. A priest hole is still visable in the bar that linked the pub to the nearby St Gregory`s church. Thomas Hardy was a frequent visitor to The Crown and the pub features in his most famous novel, Tess of the D`urbervilles as ` The Pure Drop Inn` situated in the village of Marlot.(Marnhull). Nowadays, The Crown boasts 5 en suite letting bedrooms. Spacious and fully equipped, huge fluffy towels, flat screen HD TV`s with freeview, stereo system, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe, free WIFI, power showers and deep roll top baths or a wet room supplied with toiletries. In our pub we are open 11:30 - 3pm Monday to Friday, and all day at the weekends, you will find food served 12pm - 3pm and 6pm - 9pm. We use only the freshest local ingredients that Dorset`s fine larder has to offer. Our eggs are all free range, vegetables are used in season and we try to cut out food miles by buying fresh and local. All our dishes are homemade and cooked to order. The main bar `The Pure Drop Inn` is open all day serving quality real ales, wines and soft drinks or even just a coffee by the roaring log fire.
Picture of The Crown at Marnhull, Marnhull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was lovely and food was superb. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Forgot to mention on checkout how good the drinks were in the room but we do like a biscuit to go with our tea..

Reviewed by
H Moy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent place to stay, Great room, good food, helpful attentive staff and a great location
This was a great place to stay. room booked on saturday afternoon for saturday night.
Room was huge and very good. Evening meal was also impressive and we had a table automatically reserved as we were staying, a nice touch. In the end we ate in the garden to enjoy the evening.
as we had to leave early in the morning, we were supplied with breakfast cereal, milk and fruit in the room the night before.
The service was excellent even though they were very busy and the whole experience was good.
I recommend the Crown to anyone.

Reviewed by
James G

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend The Crown at Marnhull - a delightful stay
Bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it! Beautiful large bath.
Friendly staff. Nice quiet night. Road quite busy during the day but not at night.

Reviewed by
C Packer

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown marnhull
Nice and friendly staff and locals food always good would stay again very quiet

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

crown in danger of falling
The greeting was friendly and relaxed. The room was above our expectations, spacious, comfortable and pleasant décor. Bathroom facilities good but roll top bath difficult to exit due tiling ledge overhanging bath. The main problem lies with quality of food. My wife ordered sea bass with roasted vegetables from the specials board. The fish was hot but very oily and the vegetables must have been cooked left overs that were just on their death bed. I had fish , chips and peas. Again the fish was hot, but the chips and peas somewhat colder.
After day touring, we thought we would risk a second evening meal, being a salad for my wife, which was only passable as a meal. I thought I would play safe with a baked potato. How wrong I was! The potato was stone cold. I sent the meal back, expecting something hotter. The same potato returned steaming at the top and very cold at its base. I returned the meal to the young lad at the bar, asked him to check the temperature of the potato with his finger. He confirmed that the base of the potato was cold and profusely apologised. I stated that would not pay for this meal, which he accepted and removed from the bill. Naturally I declined any further food. The young lad was sent to placate and passed the apologies from the chef. Where was the manager? Where was the chef? Really poor customer service leaving a young temporary worker to deal with the situation.
On the positive, the breakfast was ok if a little greasy and generally the staff were very accommodating to our needs throughout our stay. It was the poor quality of food and lack of managerial responsibility that let us down.
We would stay in one of the rooms again, but not eat at the crown.

Reviewed by
michael l

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We spent 3 nights at the Crown and could not speak highly enough about it! It is situated in an ideal spot for exploring all the best spots of Dorset. The room was very clean. A good shower and lovely deep bath with plenty of hot water. The food was excellent and great value. Made to feel very welcome buy the staff, who gave us great advice about local attractions each morning over a hearty breakfast. Will be going back soon and highly recommend it!

Reviewed by
Dave D

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and full of character
This inn is full of history and is a great place to stay. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful double ended bath, wooden panelling, and thick curtains. Very romantic. Very friendly staff who are passionate about the pub and the village, and we got a full historical tour. It's a very quiet village on beautiful countryside.

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old inn.
Friendly staff, clean comfortable room, good food, good beer - what more could I ask for? Sadly didn't have time to explore area in daylight. Much better value than similar places I have stayed

Reviewed by
Mike Bird

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Accommodation was clean and very well equipped. Room was beautiful and very big.
Food was lovely, staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Gillings-Husbands

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem in the Dorset countryside.
We made a last minute booking after the New Year to visit Shaftesbury and Sherborne. Despite the wet weather our stay at this lovely Inn made the trip even more enjoyable. Spacious room, good food and good beer!

Reviewed by
David Gretton

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next