No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown at Marnhull

4สไตล์เฉพาะตัว อินน์ Ratings explained
Crown Road, , , Marnhull, DT10 1LN
The Crown at Marnhull is steeped in history. It has been used as a pub and has been serving customers since the time of King Henry the eighth. The thatched part of the building dates back to the 16th century and has as far as possible remained untouched. A priest hole is still visable in the bar that linked the pub to the nearby St Gregory`s church. Thomas Hardy was a frequent visitor to The Crown and the pub features in his most famous novel, Tess of the D`urbervilles as ` The Pure Drop Inn` situated in the village of Marlot.(Marnhull). Nowadays, The Crown boasts 5 en suite letting bedrooms. Spacious and fully equipped, huge fluffy towels, flat screen HD TV`s with freeview, stereo system, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe, free WIFI, power showers and deep roll top baths or a wet room supplied with toiletries. In our pub we are open 11:30 - 3pm Monday to Friday, and all day at the weekends, you will find food served 12pm - 3pm and 6pm - 9pm. We use only the freshest local ingredients that Dorset`s fine larder has to offer. Our eggs are all free range, vegetables are used in season and we try to cut out food miles by buying fresh and local. All our dishes are homemade and cooked to order. The main bar `The Pure Drop Inn` is open all day serving quality real ales, wines and soft drinks or even just a coffee by the roaring log fire.
Picture of The Crown at Marnhull, Marnhull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Crow @ Marnhull
What a find! A warm welcome, great customer service and very friendly locals ! We were given a fantastic room - big and very comfortable with a impressive bathroom, all finished of with a really great breakfast. When visiting this area, you must go and stay at this hotel. The only down side is that we could only stay one night.

Reviewed by
G Hall

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant experience
The pub was warm and inviting with a real log fire roaring. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was spacious and had everything I needed. I ate in the pub in the evening and would certainly recommend the cod loin.
I would most most certainly stay again if I returned to the area.

Reviewed by
Louisa M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth every single penny
Lovely place, very friendly and professional staff. Room was spotless, warm and comfy.

Reviewed by
J Szlauko

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great winter break, a classic country pub.
We had a two night winter break here. We found the hotel stunning, it was packed with period features, the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, the room was perfect, the bathroom especially so.
The food was delicious, reasonably priced with good portion sizes. It has a good mix of relaxed locals, diners and overnight guests. During the meal on our second night, I became ill (due to my own medication) the staff could not have been more helpful, our meals were taken back to our room without as fuss. The location is unspoiled countryside, within easy reach of Shaftesbury, Blandford and the coastal towns. We went to Swanage withing an hour. We will certainly be back, five stars!

Reviewed by
Rebecca Young

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend's stay
I spent the weekend here with my elderly mother and had a really lovely time. The staff were absolutely great and couldn't do enough for you. The food was of a good standard and variety. My room was tastefully decorated and was a very high standard. My mother was in the "disabled" room which was the same but with a wet room. The only criticism I have is that this room which is on the ground floor does not have any secondary glazing and is right next to the road. This is an amazingly busy road and the noise level was therefore not conducive to a good night's sleep. I had secondary glazing in my room which was above hers and this made all the difference. If the owner put this in to the ground floor room this would make all the difference.

Reviewed by
D Keegan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Food and Great Character
Arrived on a wet night to a warm welcome and a good meal and comfortable bed. Room was close to the road so some traffic noise

Reviewed by
Jeffery L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay!
The Crown Inn suited us perfectly for a one night stay prior to attending an event in Wincanton. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. We enjoyed a superb meal in the pub with excellent service and attention from the staff. We would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. The place has character and an individual style which appealed to us. The road outside was rather busy at times during the night: this was the only disadvantage.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country inn, comfortable accommodation, great food and helpful friendly staff
Wonderful place to stay, the bedroom was large, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and could not have been more helpful. The food was fabulous I would particularly recommend the Game Faggots.
The only small niggle was that the bedrooms are next to the road and first thing in the morning there can be traffic noise, but that is nitpicking.

Reviewed by
Penny P

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consistently excellent
We just enjoyed our 4th stay at the crown inn at Marnhull and it was another excellent experience. We always have the same room (room 1 luccetta) which is always a lovely spacious room to be able to relax in. And the food is never a disappointment, we normally return to places after a great meal and are usually slightly underwhelmed but here the food gets better every visit, and to be that consistent over a space of two years is amazing. From the start to finish the meal was incredible including one of the best perfectly cooked fillet steaks I've ever had. Will no doubt be returning again and again! Thanks

Reviewed by
David Mann

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly recommended
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crown. The staff were most friendly and helpful, the room was very pleasant and well equipped. Despite other reviews we found we were not at all bothered by traffic noise, although our room (Jude) faced the road.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next