No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beech Hill Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge Road , Windermere, LA23 3LR
In beautiful landscaped gardens, Beech Hill has an AA Rosette restaurant and an indoor heated pool. Some rooms feature spa baths, four-poster beds or garden terraces.
Many of the elegant rooms at the Beech Hill have partial lake views, and each room has satellite TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have balconies or patio doors.
With lake views, Burlington’s Restaurant serves a modern British menu of award-winning food. Griffin Bar and Lounge serves afternoon tea and light snacks, and features log fires and a large terrace.
Situated in the Lake District, the hotel has free secure parking and free Wi-Fi in public areas. On the shores of Lake Windermere, river cruises and walking routes are within easy reach.
Please note we do not accept dogs.
Picture of Beech Hill Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 175 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location hotel
The Beech Hill is located right on lake Windermere and the views from the terrace is spectacular, the staff are all very friendly and the service is excellent. The food, and presentation, is second to none. Beautiful public rooms with great character, however parts of the hotel are in need of a little tlc but this does not detract from a wonderful stay at reasonable cost.

Reviewed by
N Turnbull

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location
The hotel is in an absolutely stunning location with beautiful views over the lake. The lounge area and dining room are really nice, but some of the other areas are in need of a bit of tlc. Our room was excellent and very spacious but the bathroom was looking a bit tired. The swimming pool was great, but again the changing rooms could do with an upgrade. Overall though a really lovely stay and would go back again.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food
at breakfast told it was a buffet found out later we could have asked eggs etc to be in other forms was not mentioned.bread asked what we wanted 2 wanted brown one white got was 4 white and 2 brown felt waitress was not listining tended not to replace as it got closer to closing time short plates on side serving table etc bar menu limited and little place to eat

Reviewed by
sine h

From St thomas, Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Our room was on a terrace overlooking the lakes. It was nice and quiet and we enjoyed sitting outside watching the world go by. We particularly enjoyed watching the water skiers before 7 am whizzing up and down the water and we were also thrilled to see the jets zipping by later in the day. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
CHRISSY I

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very helpful and friendly the food out of this world .

Reviewed by
Linda Bamber

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me at Beechhill
Hotel cleanliness was excelent the food was good and good value for money the room was good enough for the single person and the bed a delight to sleep in! The hotel has ample safe parking to the rear and a excelent view of the lake. One must bear in mind the location of the hotel transport being essential as it is a good 5 min drive to bowness.If you are an angler there is ample fishing with in 5-10 mins from the hotel

Reviewed by
RICHARD JOHN D

From DARLINGTON, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend getaway.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Beechhill hotel. The hotel has wonderful views of the lake and the staff are really pleasant and helpful. We were in a standard room which was very warm and asked for a fan as I am six months pregnant. They kindly moved us to a beautiful room with air conditioning for the night. Sadly we had to go back to the other room the next day but they had found a fan for us so it wasn't too uncomfortable. The breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed the pool too.Overall a nice hotel but if you have walking difficulties it has no lifts and there are alot of stairs. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
c mcdonald

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great setting with great views
Although access is off a busy road and on a hill it's well worth the effort
The service and quality is evident everywhere you go
The room was a bit hot due to facing west but it was bearable
Food was tasty
Will come back again I hope

Reviewed by
Chris J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant good quality but spoilt for us as they insist you have to have either 3 or 5 courses for dinner. That is too much for us so we just dined out every night. Hotel is built on a hillside so is full of staircases and not really suitable for elderly , infirm or disabled.

Reviewed by
John M

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location, friendly staff, excellent food but decor a little dated
This was a lovely period hotel with stunning views of the lake from the balcony. My one complaint of our stay was room 42 was in need of decoration (badly marked wallpaper) however the room was clean. Excellent food and beautiful views from the restaurant. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Patrick A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next