No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beech Hill Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge Road , Windermere, LA23 3LR
In beautiful landscaped gardens, Beech Hill has an AA Rosette restaurant and an indoor heated pool. Some rooms feature spa baths, four-poster beds or garden terraces.
Many of the elegant rooms at the Beech Hill have partial lake views, and each room has satellite TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have balconies or patio doors.
With lake views, Burlington’s Restaurant serves a modern British menu of award-winning food. Griffin Bar and Lounge serves afternoon tea and light snacks, and features log fires and a large terrace.
Situated in the Lake District, the hotel has free secure parking and free Wi-Fi in public areas. On the shores of Lake Windermere, river cruises and walking routes are within easy reach.
Please note we do not accept dogs.
Picture of Beech Hill Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 174 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beech Hill Hotel - Disapointment
We enjoyed our stay but were dispointed with several aspects. There was no porter available to lend a hand with our luggage from the car park - this was stated as being available in the hotel information. too many steep stairways. Only one member of staff was friendly and the bar manager was particularly surly.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Relaxing stay
Had an upgrade which we were delighted with @ £20.00 extra per night Well worth the money Hotel well kept and in a perfect setting overlooking the lake would definitely return

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From Thurageau, France
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn Break
Great position with fabulous views.Hotel needs a massive makeover.Our balcony was unsafe,carpet
stained,curtains mould marked and bathroom poor.
The hotel is massively overpriced.

Reviewed by
David J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old Hotel
The Hotel is old and very dated, it is in urgent need of decoration , the room was very dark with an old fashioned four poster bed which darkened it more. The hotel was very clean throughout, the buffet style breakfast was good but could have been hotter. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. We both felt that the dinner was tasty but very expensive. The location of the Hotel was excellent and quiet with lovely views of the lake. The hotel is on five floors with no lifts so you are up and down stairs all the time. Phil & Sandra . Lincolnshire

Reviewed by
Philip Fenwick

From Immingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location with stunning views over lake Windermere. What better way to wake up in the morning looking out over lake Windermere. The food was second to none and the lounge area was very comfatable with a great view.

Reviewed by
Chris T

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacular views!!!
Very pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel,tucked away on the banks of lake Windermere.it doesn't look like much from the front but as you drive into the car park you are hit by the most stunning lakeside views you could hope for.
Great family sized room,clean and airy,again with beautiful views and the added bonus of a balcony. kids were really excited by the indoor pool (which we had to ourselves!)
We chose to eat out as the hotel fine dining restaurant wasn't really suitable for our two young kids,but the town was only 10mins drive away so this was fine for us and meant we got to see a bit more of the local area.
Fab breakfast the next day, usual buffet affair plus they also cooked eggs to order which was a nice touch.

Reviewed by
K Jenkins

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location luxury
lovely staff expensive for drinks great outside terrace

Reviewed by
K CRUDEN

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as described
After arriving at the Beech Hill Hotel Windermere we were greeted from the car park by 4 flights of stairs and no lift available. Carrying a very heavy bag I was quite exhausted when reaching reception. The receptionist seemed reasonably friendly but no smile or any warmth was given upon our arrival. Being handed our room key we were told that we had to retrieve back down the 4 flights of stairs we had just faced to our room. My wife being heavily pregnant wasn't exactly going to volunteer to carry the bags on the way down and neither was I offered any assistance, something I would expect to be at least offered in every hotel. The decor was very 'dated' and not at all accurate to the pictures provided by LateRooms, with rips in the carpet and in need of a very good hoovering. When calling through to reception on a couple of occasions late at night we were pleasantly spoken to by a young blonde girl who was very friendly and delivered a couple of glasses of milk to our room for my wife who is 31 weeks pregnant and suffering from heart burn, the bar staff were also equally as friendly and a pleasure to have met. The breakfast, I would like to say was as nice as The Hilton buffet breakfast we had eaten the night before in Blackpool but unfortunately it was very much below satisfactory. After viewing all the pictures again the most accurate picture was of the view, which was more than spectacular however I don't think that the price per night reflected on what was on offer.

Reviewed by
D Cotton

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place but tired room
Very nice staff, very nice food and beautiful views of lake windermere. The room was a bit tired though with ageing wallpaper, very lumpy uneven carpet that could cause a serious trip hazard which was a concern having my pregnant fiancé with me. The bed was very hard not giving a comfortable night sleep and the bar was too over priced. This is the 6th hotel we have stayed at on the lake and unfortunately we would not return to this one as the accommodation is just as important to us as having a nice view or nice food. Definitely not one of our most comfortable weekends in the lakes.

Reviewed by
James S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly room and faded charm
Great location spoiled by terrible room .located next to outside door to car park this room was neat enough but smelt terribly in the bathroom an oily miasma anytime you opened the door.on the 2nd night woke at 2.30 with headache complained to night manager who agreed smell was terrible .i was told someone would contact me there followed one call from receptionist who strongly implied that I would be recompensed in some way(at no time have I asked for this)as of yet no apology or explanation has come my way .Will not go there again .

Reviewed by
d white

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next