No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beech Hill Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge Road , Windermere, LA23 3LR
In beautiful landscaped gardens, Beech Hill has an AA Rosette restaurant and an indoor heated pool. Some rooms feature spa baths, four-poster beds or garden terraces.
Many of the elegant rooms at the Beech Hill have partial lake views, and each room has satellite TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have balconies or patio doors.
With lake views, Burlington’s Restaurant serves a modern British menu of award-winning food. Griffin Bar and Lounge serves afternoon tea and light snacks, and features log fires and a large terrace.
Situated in the Lake District, the hotel has free secure parking and free Wi-Fi in public areas. On the shores of Lake Windermere, river cruises and walking routes are within easy reach.
Please note we do not accept dogs.
Picture of Beech Hill Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great people..... dated Accommodation
The service and people were great. I was disappointed in the room although the views were wonderful and the bed itself very comfy. However there was a damp patch and the furniture was second class. There were four flights of stairs from the room to the bar and restaurant.

Reviewed by
P Wright

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Location
Nice hotel with very comfortable lounge area with a log fire and views over Windermere.
Plenty of parking, rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast was substantial.
The only downside for us was the lack of wifi in the rooms but you can get access if you walk up to the lounge / bar area.
Overall a nice, pleasant place to stay and would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
Garry S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beech Hill Hotel
Had a really enjoyable break at Beech Hill Hotel , I love the Lake District anyhow but the staff were polite and helpful , really wonderful views from the hotel , I was there to do some hiking as I always do when in the Lakes , the food was very good so left with a hearty breakfast , lovely lounge area to relax in and take in the views .

Reviewed by
s vaughan

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break.
Booked through laterooms, no issues.
Reception desk staff pleasant, efficient and informative.
Communal areas decorated for Christmas and looked cheery and festive.
Pool clean and warm and had it to ourselves.
Breakfast was of good quality with juices, fruit, cereals or cooked breakfast available as a buffet, so as well as quality there was quantity to individuals requirements.
Room was a decent size with comfortable bed and pillows, only slight negative was that the room was quite cold, despite the radiator being hot.
This was probably due to the room being a lake view room with large picture windows, their was however an additional plug in radiator provided in the room which brought temperature up to acceptable.
Overall a nice place to stay, and a hotel I would return to.

Reviewed by
C Skelton

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beech Hill Hotel
All rooms have a beautiful view of windermere and our in particular was amazing.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which we used although it could have been warmer!!
We definitely will be back again

Reviewed by
Cheryl M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

some rooms are 1*
Very disappointed with the whole experience, I booked this hotel hoping to enjoy a few days away. I booked through late rooms, photo of room was ideal, before confirming booking I researched the hotel website, Twitter etc, the rooms looked clean with up to date furnishing and decor so I submitted my booking.
I arrived at the hotel all excited, checked in, to my horror they booked me into room 19 the dirty cold old fashioned room, 1 star room, I complained, I was given the room I expected on Late Rooms and the hotels website, room (73) for only 2 nights, the room was nice and clean however the mattress was of poor quality it sunk in the middle I ended with back ache and painkillers for weeks. On my 3rd day I was told I had no choice but to move back as they had no other rooms available so I decided to leave. I m very disappointed with the The Beech Hill Hotel.
Also bar menu is of poor quality, I was served stale chips mixed with fresh chips, fish batter was over cooked and burnt, I was ill over the two days. Plans for my birthday were ruined.

Reviewed by
AMARJIT D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Autumn Lakeside Break
Needed to be in the area for a visit, so got a good deal on Late Rooms for the Beech Hill Hotel. Although it is on 5 levels, the main public areas are all on the road side level. Staff were friendly and welcoming, quick to book in and send us on our way to the room. There was a porter available to collect bags from car park on the lowest level at the rear of the Hotel. Most rooms had a lovely patio area in front of the room, with great views across the lake. We tried the small pool which was warm and clean. Changing areas were very basic, but sufficient. We dined in, the restaurant situated at one side of the Hotel, again with great views of the lake. Food was excellent quality, a bit pricey, as was the wine, but very enjoyable in the lovely surroundings. Service was great and food arrived hot.
Overall a good stay " out of season". We would book again.

Reviewed by
Eric D

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Wedding trip
wonderful location and the staff could not do enough for us, they really went out of there way to make our stay perfect.

Reviewed by
D Ellins

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was"tired", in urgent need of up-grading.
The waiter service was excellent.
We had to correct the bill, did not take the special offer from Laterooms into account.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality rooms
Upon arrival the quality of the double room allocated was quite poor, dated, small and with a grubby feel and a carpet to match, very disappointing. We met the manageress immediately to discuss, who advised that this room was not yet refurbished under an ongoing programme. Hotel was full so no options to move room available. Manageress agreed to move us to a renovated room for second night which was a nice room. Food in hotel very good indeed, and staff very helpful, Manageress did handle our situation as best she could. To stay again would depend on room availability.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next