No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beech Hill Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge Road , Windermere, LA23 3LR
In beautiful landscaped gardens, Beech Hill has an AA Rosette restaurant and an indoor heated pool. Some rooms feature spa baths, four-poster beds or garden terraces.
Many of the elegant rooms at the Beech Hill have partial lake views, and each room has satellite TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have balconies or patio doors.
With lake views, Burlington’s Restaurant serves a modern British menu of award-winning food. Griffin Bar and Lounge serves afternoon tea and light snacks, and features log fires and a large terrace.
Situated in the Lake District, the hotel has free secure parking and free Wi-Fi in public areas. On the shores of Lake Windermere, river cruises and walking routes are within easy reach.
Please note we do not accept dogs.
Picture of Beech Hill Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacular views!!!
Very pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel,tucked away on the banks of lake Windermere.it doesn't look like much from the front but as you drive into the car park you are hit by the most stunning lakeside views you could hope for.
Great family sized room,clean and airy,again with beautiful views and the added bonus of a balcony. kids were really excited by the indoor pool (which we had to ourselves!)
We chose to eat out as the hotel fine dining restaurant wasn't really suitable for our two young kids,but the town was only 10mins drive away so this was fine for us and meant we got to see a bit more of the local area.
Fab breakfast the next day, usual buffet affair plus they also cooked eggs to order which was a nice touch.

Reviewed by
K Jenkins

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location luxury
lovely staff expensive for drinks great outside terrace

Reviewed by
K CRUDEN

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as described
After arriving at the Beech Hill Hotel Windermere we were greeted from the car park by 4 flights of stairs and no lift available. Carrying a very heavy bag I was quite exhausted when reaching reception. The receptionist seemed reasonably friendly but no smile or any warmth was given upon our arrival. Being handed our room key we were told that we had to retrieve back down the 4 flights of stairs we had just faced to our room. My wife being heavily pregnant wasn't exactly going to volunteer to carry the bags on the way down and neither was I offered any assistance, something I would expect to be at least offered in every hotel. The decor was very 'dated' and not at all accurate to the pictures provided by LateRooms, with rips in the carpet and in need of a very good hoovering. When calling through to reception on a couple of occasions late at night we were pleasantly spoken to by a young blonde girl who was very friendly and delivered a couple of glasses of milk to our room for my wife who is 31 weeks pregnant and suffering from heart burn, the bar staff were also equally as friendly and a pleasure to have met. The breakfast, I would like to say was as nice as The Hilton buffet breakfast we had eaten the night before in Blackpool but unfortunately it was very much below satisfactory. After viewing all the pictures again the most accurate picture was of the view, which was more than spectacular however I don't think that the price per night reflected on what was on offer.

Reviewed by
D Cotton

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place but tired room
Very nice staff, very nice food and beautiful views of lake windermere. The room was a bit tired though with ageing wallpaper, very lumpy uneven carpet that could cause a serious trip hazard which was a concern having my pregnant fiancé with me. The bed was very hard not giving a comfortable night sleep and the bar was too over priced. This is the 6th hotel we have stayed at on the lake and unfortunately we would not return to this one as the accommodation is just as important to us as having a nice view or nice food. Definitely not one of our most comfortable weekends in the lakes.

Reviewed by
James S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly room and faded charm
Great location spoiled by terrible room .located next to outside door to car park this room was neat enough but smelt terribly in the bathroom an oily miasma anytime you opened the door.on the 2nd night woke at 2.30 with headache complained to night manager who agreed smell was terrible .i was told someone would contact me there followed one call from receptionist who strongly implied that I would be recompensed in some way(at no time have I asked for this)as of yet no apology or explanation has come my way .Will not go there again .

Reviewed by
d white

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab room
Booked one of the best rooms at the last minute so although expensive I think I still got great value for money. Made the most of one of the hottest days of the year by sitting in the sunshine outside our room enjoying a bottle of bubbly whilst looking at the beautiful view of the lake. Fantastic room. Fresh lilies were a lovely touch. Couldn't have asked for anything more to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Reviewed by
Edwina M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location hotel
The Beech Hill is located right on lake Windermere and the views from the terrace is spectacular, the staff are all very friendly and the service is excellent. The food, and presentation, is second to none. Beautiful public rooms with great character, however parts of the hotel are in need of a little tlc but this does not detract from a wonderful stay at reasonable cost.

Reviewed by
N Turnbull

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location
The hotel is in an absolutely stunning location with beautiful views over the lake. The lounge area and dining room are really nice, but some of the other areas are in need of a bit of tlc. Our room was excellent and very spacious but the bathroom was looking a bit tired. The swimming pool was great, but again the changing rooms could do with an upgrade. Overall though a really lovely stay and would go back again.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food
at breakfast told it was a buffet found out later we could have asked eggs etc to be in other forms was not mentioned.bread asked what we wanted 2 wanted brown one white got was 4 white and 2 brown felt waitress was not listining tended not to replace as it got closer to closing time short plates on side serving table etc bar menu limited and little place to eat

Reviewed by
sine h

From St thomas, Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Our room was on a terrace overlooking the lakes. It was nice and quiet and we enjoyed sitting outside watching the world go by. We particularly enjoyed watching the water skiers before 7 am whizzing up and down the water and we were also thrilled to see the jets zipping by later in the day. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
CHRISSY I

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next