Beech Hill Hotel

4

Newby Bridge Road, Windermere, LA23 3LR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (127)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • s vaughan

  • December 2014

Beech Hill Hotel

Had a really enjoyable break at Beech Hill Hotel , I love the Lake District anyhow but the staff were polite and helpful , really wonderful views from the hotel , I was there to do some hiking as I always do when in the Lakes , the food was very good so left with a hearty breakfast , lovely lounge area to relax in and take in the views .

  • C Skelton

  • December 2014

Last minute break.

Booked through laterooms, no issues.

Reception desk staff pleasant, efficient and informative. Communal areas decorated for Christmas and looked cheery and festive. Pool clean and warm and had it to ourselves. Breakfast was of good quality with juices, fruit, cereals or cooked breakfast available as a buffet, so as well as quality there was quantity to individuals requirements.

Room was a decent size with comfortable bed and pillows, only slight negative was that the room was quite cold, despite the radiator being hot. This was probably due to the room being a lake view room with large picture windows, their was however an additional plug in radiator provided in the room which brought temperature up to acceptable. Overall a nice place to stay, and a hotel I would return to.

  • Eric D

  • December 2014

Great Autumn Lakeside Break

Needed to be in the area for a visit, so got a good deal on Late Rooms for the Beech Hill Hotel.

Although it is on 5 levels, the main public areas are all on the road side level. Staff were friendly and welcoming, quick to book in and send us on our way to the room. There was a porter available to collect bags from car park on the lowest level at the rear of the Hotel. Most rooms had a lovely patio area in front of the room, with great views across the lake. We tried the small pool which was warm and clean. Changing areas were very basic, but sufficient. We dined in, the restaurant situated at one side of the Hotel, again with great views of the lake. Food was excellent quality, a bit pricey, as was the wine, but very enjoyable in the lovely surroundings. Service was great and food arrived hot. Overall a good stay " out of season". We would book again.

  • D Ellins

  • November 2014

Golden Wedding trip

wonderful location and the staff could not do enough for us, they really went out of there way to make our stay perfect.

  • Peter J

  • November 2014

The room was"tired", in urgent need of up-grading.

The waiter service was excellent. We had to correct the bill, did not take the special offer from Laterooms into account.

  • David B

  • November 2014

Poor quality rooms

Upon arrival the quality of the double room allocated was quite poor, dated, small and with a grubby feel and a carpet to match, very disappointing.

We met the manageress immediately to discuss, who advised that this room was not yet refurbished under an ongoing programme. Hotel was full so no options to move room available. Manageress agreed to move us to a renovated room for second night which was a nice room. Food in hotel very good indeed, and staff very helpful, Manageress did handle our situation as best she could. To stay again would depend on room availability.

  • k smith

  • November 2014

Autumn mid week break

This hotel would not be suitable for guests with mobility issues due to the layout and the number of stairs.

The room we had was a generous size and had a lovely bathroom. However it had not yet benefited from redecoration like many of the other rooms in the hotel. There was water damage on the wallpaper and the carpet didn't fit properly after the refitting of the patio door. Some parts of the lounge/bar area could do with a little more attention being paid to cleaning but overall it was a lovely hotel. The staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The views over the lake are beautiful and must be even better in the summer for those guests with patios/balconies to their rooms. We would stay here again.

  • James M

  • October 2014

The hotel was very dated and dirty and was not what was advertised on this website or on the beach hill hotel website I have sent in a complaint to the hotel and late rooms and feel as though I have been robbed

  • robert m

  • October 2014

great hotel

room was very spacious,great views over the lake,service was excellent,as was the food,only downside was a lot of stairs no lift,but did not bother us,great break would go there again

  • Lee P

  • October 2014

Was ok, few things could be better

Stayed for the weekend recently.

Hotel was ok. Big hotel and dated decor. Could use some improvement work. Customer service was decent most of the time with the exception of when we asked a waitress if they had more glasses at breakfast (they'd run out by the Orange juice) and got snapped at in response. Food was good, we had room service and it was decent and came quickly, though a little pricey. We asked if we could checkout an hour later and were told we could for the 15 pounds. That annoyed me a little. Nice to have a pool in the hotel, especially as it was raining and it was something else to do with the kids. Pool was a bit too warm tho, changing rooms small and lockers didn't work.