You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Beech Hill Hotel & Spa

4

Newby Bridge Road, Windermere, LA23 3LR

Price From 124.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • T Davidson

  • April 2015

Disappointing hotel with a great view

the room we were allocated was large, but smelt of damp from the bathroom and showed signs of damp near the windows.

The room had a great view of lake Windermere. The decor around the hotel was dated it was clear that there was a lack of cleaning. Changing areas at the pool showed more signs of damp, and the shower cubical was poor. In general, the hotel needs a complete freshen up, and treated for mould.

  • Mark C

  • April 2015

50th birthday break with my wife.

Hotel was in a lovely setting overlooking the lake.

The room was large and spacious (bigger than average), the bathroom how ever was really small with a shortie bath fitted and was really cramped in side. This seemed daft as the room was so big taking an extra couple of feet for the bathroom would have solved the issue. "THE VIEW" this was the best bit on offer, our room had the best vista I have seen from a hotel window. Our room had no phone and the TV remote was hidden behind the chest of draws. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. One last point the pool is nice but changing rooms again pointlessly cramped no working lockers and very poorly designed. You have to brush past a urinal to get in the shower cubical . To summarise if the designer had decided after uni to become a plumber then this hotel may have scored higher. :-) we did enjoy our stay here.

  • james challoner

  • April 2015

Great stay

Stayed in room 7 great views of lake windermere and beyond,the room was spacious, large bed bathroom was great with large shower and a whirlpool bath.there was a swimming pool which we enjoyed.

The staff was helpful and friendly and the food was first class.

  • Lee C

  • March 2015

Great staff but hotel is a bit worn out.

The first impressions of the hotel are that it is a bit worn out, a lot of the furnishings and carpets could do with being renewed.

The hotel staff are really helpful and the hotel is in a great spot overlooking Windermere. The Bed was comfortable but the room was on the small side. The carpet in the room was full of stains but bed and bathroom were clean. The food from the restaurant was good but on the expensive side, I feel there could have been a bit more choice on the basic menu at the hotel. The morning breakfast is great.

  • Radoslav M

  • February 2015

Place you'd love to return to.

Great service, 24 hours check-in helps a lot when you spend hours on the road.

Really enjoyed quiet atmosphere of launch and reception area, modern rooms, and helpful staff 5-star out of 5 for restaurant. Excellent. Highly recommended place I'd definitely return to.

  • C Newsome

  • January 2015

Great location & food

I booked the Ruskin suite as a suprise for my partners birthday being promised on the phone that it was luxurious and had great views & it did not disappoint.

Beautiful view of the lake & the room wad very spacious with a large queen size bed which was extremely comfy. On arrival in our room was a bottle of champagne too which had been left by the staff after I informed them of my partners birthday too. The food was faultless. We ate in the restaurant both nights & thoroughly enjoyed both our meals incl starters & pudding. Having preordered a table prior to our stay we were offered 5 courses for the price of 3 too. Lovely views again overlooking the lake.

  • P Wright

  • January 2015

Great people..... dated Accommodation

The service and people were great.

I was disappointed in the room although the views were wonderful and the bed itself very comfy. However there was a damp patch and the furniture was second class. There were four flights of stairs from the room to the bar and restaurant.

  • AMARJIT D

  • January 2015

some rooms are 1*

Very disappointed with the whole experience, I booked this hotel hoping to enjoy a few days away.

I booked through late rooms, photo of room was ideal, before confirming booking I researched the hotel website, Twitter etc, the rooms looked clean with up to date furnishing and decor so I submitted my booking.

I arrived at the hotel all excited, checked in, to my horror they booked me into room 19 the dirty cold old fashioned room, 1 star room, I complained, I was given the room I expected on Late Rooms and the hotels website, room (73) for only 2 nights, the room was nice and clean however the mattress was of poor quality it sunk in the middle I ended with back ache and painkillers for weeks. On my 3rd day I was told I had no choice but to move back as they had no other rooms available so I decided to leave. I m very disappointed with the The Beech Hill Hotel. Also bar menu is of poor quality, I was served stale chips mixed with fresh chips, fish batter was over cooked and burnt, I was ill over the two days. Plans for my birthday were ruined.

  • Garry S

  • December 2014

Pleasant Location

Nice hotel with very comfortable lounge area with a log fire and views over Windermere.

Plenty of parking, rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast was substantial.

The only downside for us was the lack of wifi in the rooms but you can get access if you walk up to the lounge / bar area.

Overall a nice, pleasant place to stay and would definitely return again.

  • Cheryl M

  • December 2014

Beech Hill Hotel

All rooms have a beautiful view of windermere and our in particular was amazing.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which we used although it could have been warmer!. We definitely will be back again