No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Roehyde Way , Hatfield, AL10 9AF
The former Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the A1(M), M1 and M25, with easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The airports of Luton, Stansted and Heathrow are also all within easy reach. The hotel is the ideal base to explore the south of England and London. Nearby you will find many attractions including Warner Bros. Harry Potter Studio, stately homes, the historic city of St Albans, designer shopping, museums, the famous Woburn Safari Park and Whipsnade Zoo. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed, just take a look at some of the great places to visit. We believe that the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is one of the best hotels in Hatfield for both quality and value.

An ideal venue for meetings, functions and training days, catering from 2 - 120 people. Holder of a civil ceremony licence. Licensed bar and restaurant on premises. Ample on site free parking.

We are also a prime location for visitors to local businesses such as Computercentre, Everything Everywhere, University of Hertfordshire, Tesco Store & Distribution Centre & Mitsubishi to name but a few.

All guest bedrooms now feature new LCD televisions with freeview channels and Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, Hatfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant hotel
Would use again. Its a shame other users weren't considerate when they were retiring to their bedrooms after the Wedding Reception they attended. Very noisy and woke us up. Why not use what Premier Inn display - a photo of a person using the gesture of 'shhh' to remind them that others may be asleep.

Reviewed by
Dawn B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mum and Daughter road trip
I recently took my 87 years old Mum on a road trip around Buckinghamshire and Bedfordshire; the Mercure Hatfield Oak was ideally placed between the two main attractions and offered excellent value for money. A low-rise building with only two floors is perfect for us, particularly as we were on the ground floor. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. I would recommend, and return to, this hotel.

Reviewed by
E Senior

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value - super room

Reviewed by
John Garbutt

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
A friendly hotel on the outskirts of Hatfield. Not really walking distance so a car is really necessary. Food good and bar staff friendly. Appreciated the upgrade in room.

Reviewed by
S Scott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but !
Nice room pity they hide the towels and tea making facilities away in cupboards and drawers so that guests don't know they are there.
Breakfast could have possibly been very nice, but my personal experience was that I was having to wait for items to be brought out one by one so that by the time I got to sit down most of my breakfast was cold, the attitude of the staff on this particular morning was slovenly and couldn't care less

Reviewed by
J James

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business not pleasure
I would say this hotel is aimed for the business user. As I was just using it as a stop over it was more than satisfactory. The room was very clean and well presented and the staff were very helpful. However I would not recommend this hotel if you have young children. I found the food and service to be good, but as it was busy at breakfast time there was a slight wait and I had to remind the staff that I had no coffee, milk or sugar. Apart from a little niggle with breakfast my stay was very pleasant and I would visit again.

Reviewed by
DAVID R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Lovely hotel, great room, polite and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth T

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good stay
I take part in the Art in Clay festival at Hatfield House. We stayed here for four nights in 2013, and were happy to book for a repeat in 2014. Staff were very helpful, dealing promptly with the bathroom light sensor problem we experienced. The lack of air conditioning in the hot weather we experienced this year did cause some discomfort. On checking out, we were very surprised to find that someone had added their bar bill to our room number, but this was immediately remedied. If I am selected for the show again next year, we will have no hesitation in rebooking.

Reviewed by
Karen Edwards

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could not find any problem with anything wish all hotels were as excellent

Reviewed by
malcolm c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stick to together buffet breakfast!
The hotel was clean and welcoming. The twin bedroom and bathroom both had plenty of space. The breakfast however was very disappointing. We stayed at the hotel on a Sunday evening and maybe due to guest numbers they were not using the hot breakfast buffet bar but instead customers we're asked to order directly from the menu. I ordered the smoked haddock with poached egg, I was most suppressed to be presented with a piece of fish that was smaller than the egg, it was presented with a side garnish that was at least three times bigger than both the fish and egg combined. The fish also an unpleasant rubber texture, so not a very nice start to the day I was expecting. My daughter ordered the eggs and bacon Benedict and she was both happy with the quality and size of her breakfast. So overall the hotel itself was lovely but watch out for breakfast!

Reviewed by
stephanie s

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next