Reviews - Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel


Berwick road West Welsh road, Little Sutton, ELLESMERE PORT, CH66 4PS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Louise S

  • October 2015

Close to Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet

The reception was clean and friendly.

Lift was out of order, we were on the top floor. Booked a superior double, but it wasn't what I imagined a superior room would be. Very clean though. Decor is a tad tired. There was a wedding reception and the noise from the disco wasn't too loud. Evening meal: no prices on menu. I asked for the salmon without sauce and it arrived with sauce. They did take it back and cooked a fresh meal. Breakfast was superb. Staff were (in my opinion) friendly but inexperienced and not very confident. Overall a good hotel but in need of redecorating and a more detailed description of room type. At checkout reception had misplaced my prepayment so I may be charged twice for the room, they said they would check it later but I'll still have to keep an eye on my bank account!

  • Martin R

  • September 2015

Good Value Hotel

Good parking and excellent access to road network.

Clean and quiet room. Able to book a room for three adults. Free unlimited wifi. Breakfast and evening meal both of excellent quality and good value. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • G mcleod

  • September 2015

Nice place

Ideal for visiting cheshire oaks and Chester centre, room was clean and comfortable.

Food ok, a little expensive for what it is, if you have breakfast get enough as I only had toast but was still charged for a full cooked.

  • Julie B

  • August 2015

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Convenient location for attractions such as Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks.

The hairdryer in our room wasn't working. We asked reception for a replacement. They brought up a hairdryer with a Foreign plug, so we went back to reception with it. They didn't have a hairdryer with a British plug, but found an adaptor. The Foreign hairdryer also failed to work. Very noisy at night. Guests were returning to their rooms until about 2:30am and we're then sat up talking in groups for a good hour or so after. This constantly woke our 3 year old and resulted in none of us getting much sleep during our stay.

  • Jonathan P

  • July 2015

Room was clean , reasonably sized , but didn't look like s superior room to me .

  • D Conway

  • July 2015

Just as described and pictured.

Stayed here for a weekend away and to see a few sites, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Chester and Chesire Oaks outlet.

Fantastic room, spacious, clean and functional. Very helpful staff, great pool with steam room and sauna. Fantastic room service and food. Huge array of food and drinks for breakfast. A short drive from local shops and restaurants, a very good restaurant just around the corner. Definitely recommend and would here stay again in a heartbeat.

  • sandra h

  • May 2015

pool freezing

The pool was too cold to use.

The sauna was only warm. Only had breakfast which was fair but expensive for a warm buffet. Went elsewhere for dinner as it was too expensive too.

  • Adrian B

  • May 2015


The cleaner knocked on the door, announced "housekeeping" and opened our bedroom door - and left when it was clear we were still in bed.

Cleaner was heard to do this to other rooms along the corridor. That's not right. Other than that, service was polite and friendly.

  • ian p

  • April 2015

staff brilliant, hotel lacking

Could not fault staff so helpful.

hotel would not stay again needs someone to check each room properly. We had to change rooms neither were acceptable.

  • Mark P

  • April 2015

Nice hotel. Ideally situated for Chester zoo. Staff very friendly. Hotel a little tired.

In need of redecoration but on the whole adequate.

Only issue was the bathroom sink apparently the pipe work means you have to run the cold tap for a while to get cold water. Wasn't told this until I queried it. Tell me on check in or better still sort it out. Staff were very friendly and helpful