No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Chester Woodhey House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Road West , Chester, CH66 4PS
Formerly The Woodhey House Hotel, is a very special hotel with an individual style and character of it's own. Designed with modern requirements in mind, the hotel provides an exceptional standard of accommodation and service. An imaginative restaurant, lively bar and leisure facilities which include a heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym will more than satisfy the most discerning guest.

All guest bedrooms now feature new LCD televisions with freeview channels (Fitted October 2009) and Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel.

The Hotel couldn't be more conveniently located. Just a few minutes drive from both the M53 and M56 motorways, you're quickly connected into the rest of Britain's motorway network. It is a short drive into the historic city of Chester with it's famous walls, cathedral and medieval galleried shops. Liverpool and the Albert Dock are also within close proximity to the Hotel.
Picture of Mercure Chester Woodhey House Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not making the most of its facilities
When we arrived our room and the hotel seemed nice but unfortunately we went on to find our hot and cold taps were the wrong way round. Our shower was also so weak that we couldn't even wash our hair in it. The pool sauna and steam room were also unfortunately not looked after and were a little grubby. We avoided the pool. It's a shame as they could be lovely if some investment was put into them, or maybe just a good clean. Bar staff were wonderful and catering staff fantastic but the breakfast staff were quite miserable one nearly pushing me off my chair whilst trying to squeeze through behind me with a pile of plates.

Reviewed by
Hannah M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for the races and nice enough stay. Staff were great, quick and organised taxis for our group. We stayed in room 211 and were disturbed very early in the morning with our room window open it overlooks onto air conditioning and extraction units and kept us awake from before 6am which wasn't ideal. Otherwise a good stay and not too far into town.

Reviewed by
William H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright

Reviewed by
M Richardson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasent stay
All staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, large and had everything I needed - tea and coffee, ironing board, TV, free wifi, good shower. My sat nav was confused by the post code for this hotel as the Berwick Road has been divided by bollards - the Mercure is on the (newly named?) Berwick Road West - I had to phone the hotel and ask for directions round to the other end - they were able to help.

Reviewed by
Clare T

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant hotel

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jeff, General Manager

Reviewed by
Robert Leach

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our fourth visit
We enjoy coming to this hotel and this being our fourth visit, the room first given was not up to standard, due to a chain smoker.
It was quickly resolved by a visit to reception, where we were given another room, this was not up to the usual standard, found areas of dust and a resident spider.
Breakfast was good as usual, but some of the waiting staff were a bit dozy, one did'nt realize we had seated ourselves, after a 5 minute wait,and, forgot to offer tea or toast.
The pool was good, the sauna fine, but a bit disappointed the steam room was out of order, although there were no signs saying it was.
I was surprised to find out, that the hotel was dog friendly, only knew when we spotted a dog in the bar.

Reviewed by
J Laycock-Khan

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people clean hotel awful food
Recently stayed here over the bank holiday weekend hotel quiet which was nice , lovely service. The rooms were very good the bed was extremely comfy had everything you needed .good size tele very clean ,good service if you needed more towels milk ect there within minutes. The staff were very helpful polite made the stay even better. Good size pool very clean towels provided! Now when everything has gone so well it was frustrating to come away disappointed ! The food! It was uneatable the fish was defiantly frozen when on the menu it says fresh it seemed like a Birdseye one chucked in the fryer. It was just water inside and tasted like scrambled egg ! Me and my girlfriend quickly cancelled the deserts to avoid any more disappointment. 34 pounds it cost and had to pay the full amount when all I ate was the chips couldn't eat the peas as once again frozen and they were hard! Wish I hadn't asked for breakfast as that was cold and were waiting for something . A good job I had a supply of crisps and sandwiches which were for Chester zoo by the way is fantastic! Apart from food great hotel

Reviewed by
R Rivis

From York , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night stay
The guy on the front desk was lovely and welcoming. Our room was clean and very quiet. Breakfast was very nice and could only have been improved as vegans if there had been veggie sausages too! Plenty to eat though and attentive staff in the dining room. We used the leisure facilities and were a bit disappointed that the sauna and steam room were out of order. Overall though a positive experience.

Reviewed by
C Turner

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday
I came to stay here with my partner for the Easter Weekend, when I arrived staff were friendly and helpful. When I arrived at my room the layout was nice and the bathroom was lovely, very disappointed to see two single beds! I phoned down to reception and they very kindly with no hassle changed my room to a double. The hotel and facilities were clean and the cleaner even came to ask if I wanted my room cleaned on the second day. Lovely hotel would stay again

Reviewed by
D Howard

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel
Weve used this hotel before and thought it was great, we werent disappointed this time either, we will certainly use it again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am delighted you enjoy staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jeff Brimble, General Manager

Reviewed by
k kenyon

From Menstrie, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next