No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Central Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Hoop Lane, , , London, NW11 8BS
The Central Hotel, a well-established hotel situated in the heart of Golders Green, in a quiet location is only a short walk away from the local shops, bakeries, cafes, pubs and restaurants. Brent Cross Shopping centre is only a few minutes away using public transport. The hotel includes 30 en-suite bedrooms with a mixture of singles, twins, doubles and triples and are all fully equipped with a colour television, tea/coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone, to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We also provide free off street parking. Upon arrival you will be welcomed by a team of friendly and devoted staff to attend to all your needs. The hotel is about 300 yards from Golders Green (bus and underground) Station, on the Northern Line (Black line) which gives you excellent links into Central London. St Pancras International is under 15 minutes away. Both the M1 and A406 (North Circular Road) are within half a mile, giving you excellent road links. All major airports have excellent public transport links to the area.
Picture of Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
18% recommended this accommodation to a friend 25% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was functional, but clean.

Reviewed by
Mimi P

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what to expect
The outside of the hotel is not the nicest which is a big put off but when we got to our room it was all recently refurbished and really clean. Just try not to be put off from the outside!

Reviewed by
K McKay

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible hotel
Hotel room was so bad, we wouldn't even enter the breakfast room to try the breakfast

Reviewed by
S West

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but very dilapidated
On a positive note the staff were friendly enough and our room was clean and a good size. However the hotel was very run down - there were chunks out of the walls and one of the ceiling lights in our room had lost its casing, it had clearly burnt out as the fitting was exposed, black and charred. Our bathroom window was broken so we were unable to close it properly.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful hotel do NOT stay here!
Very run down hotel, surprised its even operating. No one at door to let us in so had to stand outside for 30 minutes, there was a number to ring but that was off. Finally some guests let us in to the building. But once inside things got worse as it had mould in it and was extremely dirty. Made faulty towers look like a luxury resort. Ended up leaving and having to pay for another hotel as no staff to even let us into our room. Will be asking for a refund!

Reviewed by
S Collins

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly the worst hotel I've stayed in, (only one worse was in Panama City!!!!)
You have GOT to read this if you are thinking of booking at this errr... Hotel ????
This Hotel was Disgusting. I knew we had trouble the minute we pulled in. The façade is crumbling and the whole place looks just short of Derelict. Our Keys had been left under a flower pot!!, as the place was locked up, (at 1:00 pm on a Saturday!). Though we had not been told, and had to wait until someone actually answered the door.
The accommodation itself is terrible. The plaster is crumbling, there are holes in the hall ceiling, the stair carpets were absolutely filthy. The rooms were not much better, old furniture, black mould in the Wardrobe and the Bathroom, showers that do not work. The only saving grace was that the sheets and towels were clean. This place is seriously in need of a visit from environmental health!.
Breakfast was a Joke!. 2 types of Cereal in plastic tubs. 3 Weetabix lying forlornly on a plate, (and there were 9 guests!), and a carafe of Orange Juice. The biggest joke though was that for "Breakfast" you could have a fried egg, or toast, or a fried egg on toast. That was it. They also need to employ a cook or call the police, as the eggs were murdered!. I will never, ever, under any circumstances stay at this place again, and I apologise to my family for putting them through what was a very unpleasant experience!!!.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Telford, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haunted Hotel
A bizarre experience.Building run down, completely locked- deserted. rang no. on door, man answered''its Passover''- so my key left under flowerpot ! Nobody appeared at all overnight. a single cleaner was about in AM..room ok but peeling wallpaper and feeble dribble for shower....fire escape was rickety iron ladder. Bed ok but locked door well! never met any management, posted key back through letterbox. never again....

Reviewed by
john gillings

From kettering, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cental Hotel the worst
I recently stayed at the Central Hotel and in my opinion this hotel should be removed from Laterooms as it only brings down LateRooms.com normal high quality in recommending hotels.
This hotel is filthy and the beds are the dirtiest I ever ever used I would stongly recommend to anyone thinking of staying there to look elsewhere.
Davy Ross.

Reviewed by
D Ross

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was freezing; I could feel the drop in temperature when I opened the door. The radiator was not working, and there was no kettle or TV aerial when I arrived. The night receptionist was very helpful so far as possible; he found an aerial, got the TV working, gave me hot water for a coffee and brought in an electric heater that helped a bit. The paintwork was not clean around the "edges" eg skirting boards. Wallpaper was hanging off the ceiling over the shower and coming off a dent in the wall in the bedroom. The bed covers were inadequate and I used 2 coats over the bed and wore a hat in bed to keep warm. The lovely hot water in the shower was a big plus. Staff were fine, but a 30 minute power cut in the whole area at 7am cause some disruption (Prolonged darkness and lack of heat, although that was nothing that the hotel had any control over.

Reviewed by
Gill O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.