Reviews - Tufton Arms Hotel


MARKET SQUARE, Appleby in Westmorland, CA16 6XA

Price From 210.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew Dames

  • December 2014

Excellent place, very proper service

owners and staff take a real pleasure in the formalisms of running a hotel.

Even though we arrived in the dark covered in mud. Resturant excellent, as was the bar and room. Will definitely have to dream up a reason to go back to Appleby.

  • A Findlow

  • October 2014


Stay was excellent and the evening meal was stunning

  • Brian B

  • July 2014

A late booking on line Friendly reception - dining room very busy with a local group, so had my evening meal in the lounge, reading the papers provided.

Very early departure, so a tray with restricted breakfast left in my room the night before. Staff helpful

  • Jacqui S

  • April 2014

Pleasant break

We broke our journey from Scotland to York with a night in this pleasant hotel.

Thé staff were all pleasant and helpful - the hotel was charming and we had a good breàk enjoying our walk along the river and a good meal at the hotel xx

  • D Briggs

  • April 2014

weekend break at short notice

very accommodating and welcoming everything you could want for a stay.

  • John Frankland

  • February 2014

Very good

  • S Shaw

  • February 2014

There were only two rooms available with twin beds and bath.

One was outside and the other on the top floor with no lift. The bathroom was cold - heater didn't work. The room was fairly basic.

The food was good but we were not aware that the restaurant had changed to a fish menu the previous day. There was a basic non-fish menu which didn't appeal to us. However, the dishes we chose were excellent and breakfast was good.

  • Andrew C

  • February 2014


Arrived on a very wet afternoon and had an easy no fuss check in, guided to the room and shown about by reception.

Room very large with period furnishings but modern facilities. Very good breakfast with very attentative staff. All in all highly recommended, would stay again.