No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tufton Arms Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MARKET SQUARE , Appleby in Westmorland, CA16 6XA
Nestled in the medieval town of Appleby, just outside the Lake District and 20 minutes from the M6, this intimate family-run hotel offers award-winning dining, luxury accommodation and free Wi-Fi.

Originally a 16th Century coaching inn, it is now a Grade II listed building. Lovingly restored and refurbished, it blends the contemporary and the classical creating an atmosphere that is infused with both the traditional charms of the past and the sophisticated elegance of the present.

Each of the 22 en-suite guestrooms is beautifully appointed and individually furnished and decorated to the same exacting standards as the main building.

The elegant Conservatory Restaurant has garnered an impressive local reputation. Their chefs are skilled at using fresh locally sourced produce to create delicious classic dishes with a unique modern twist.

On the edge of the Lake District and within easy reach of the North Yorkshire Moors and Dales, it’s perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the spectacular scenery and unspoilt beauty of the area.

Picture of Tufton Arms Hotel, Appleby in Westmorland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A late booking on line
Friendly reception - dining room very busy with a local group, so had my evening meal in the lounge, reading the papers provided.
Very early departure, so a tray with restricted breakfast left in my room the night before.
Staff helpful

Reviewed by
Brian B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant break
We broke our journey from Scotland to York with a night in this pleasant hotel. Thé staff were all pleasant and helpful - the hotel was charming and we had a good breàk enjoying our walk along the river and a good meal at the hotel xx

Reviewed by
Jacqui S

From West Kilbride, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break at short notice
very accommodating and welcoming everything you could want for a stay.

Reviewed by
D Briggs

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
John Frankland

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There were only two rooms available with twin beds and bath. One was outside and the other on the top floor with no lift. The bathroom was cold - heater didn't work. The room was fairly basic.
The food was good but we were not aware that the restaurant had changed to a fish menu the previous day. There was a basic non-fish menu which didn't appeal to us. However, the dishes we chose were excellent and breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
S Shaw

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tufton
Arrived on a very wet afternoon and had an easy no fuss check in, guided to the room and shown about by reception. Room very large with period furnishings but modern facilities. Very good breakfast with very attentative staff. All in all highly recommended, would stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced for what you get
The room set us back £135 for a double with breakfast. But the room was quite cramped, with an outdated bathroom. The furniture in the room looked quite authentic but this didn't really make up for the rate. The breakfast was the usual fare although we had a much better one the next day in another hotel, so it put everything into perspective for us. The town itself is rather a let down - there's not much of interest and 'eating out' is an experience. A few rough looking pubs, an Indian restaurant and a Thai was what we had to deal with. The Thai was quite good considering the area.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.