No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wayside Cheer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grandes Rocques, Grandes Rocques Bay, GY5 7FX
One of the most informal and friendliest 3 Star Guernsey Hotels, an ideal family hotel in Guernsey, overlooking the beautiful sandy beach Grandes Rocques Bay and close to it's other adjacent picturesque west coast beaches, with there beautiful sunsets. The Islands excellent bus service has a regular stop near by to take you around the Island and to the Islands Capital St Peter Port.

The Wayside Cheer Hotel is one of only a handful of Guernsey hotels near the beach with the closest just a stones throw away, There is Plenty of parking for our guests including special reserved handicapped parking and for those guests without a car, the bus stops just across the road, The Wayside Cheer Hotel’s Award Winning Food is some of the best in the Island.
Picture of Wayside Cheer Hotel, Grandes Rocques Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work
Poor wifi connection and although quite remote location, was very pretty location.

Reviewed by
Joyce S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My one night stat in the Wayside Cheer Hotel.
I should have heard the warning bells purely because of the name. I have stayed in worse hotels, but I can't quite remember when. Bill and Betty Beefcake enjoy your pie and chips !

Reviewed by
s carter

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Weekend Away
We really enjoyed our stay at the Wayside Cheer Hotel the staff were very obliging and we would recommend it.

Reviewed by
J Horne

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
Staff very pleasant, room was clean and tidy the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Main hotel area was a bit dated.

Reviewed by
Aaron Hunt

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wayside review
Hi, this hotel is now dated , for the same charge I have stayed in plenty of hotels much better in decor and food etc, quality of food was poor in my opinion with a very basic menu with some specials, on the plus side plenty of parking space and a clean roomand it is only a short walk to the beach,

Reviewed by
stephen l

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and welcoming
Very welcoming staff, friendly and helpful. god accommodation, pool to cool down in. Need more stable seating outside with larger umbrellas, but generally good

Reviewed by
ANNIE B

From BISHOPS WALTHAM, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short trip for my husband's birthday.
The Wayside Cheer hotel is in a very interesting part of the island of Guernsey. Great for walking and, when the tide is right, lots of places to swim. This hotel would benefit from a bit of an update but without spoiling the character of the place. The staff are great and are happy to do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it and we had dinner there for the three nights of our stay and it was delicious. We met lots of nice and interesting people, quite a few being locals and they were all really friendly.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location, on the west coast, good value accommodation
This hotel is, by Guernsey standards, at the lower end of the market. As such it is not 5 Star luxury but pretty well delivers what it says it will. Rooms are comfortable, staff are all friendly and the hotel food is decent and reasonably priced. Best of all for us was the stunning location right on the bay. The bus stops right opposite the hotel so well located for seeing the rest of the Island too.

Reviewed by
Christopher Quine

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit old-fashioned but OK
The Wayside Cheer is obviously a very popular place so it must be doing something right. It kind of grew on me as the days went on. Excellent food both at breakfast and in the restaurant at night. good bar, reasonable prices. Wi-Fi can be a bit dodgy in the bedroom but fine in public areas.

Reviewed by
Gerard Burns

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

september trip to guernsey
wayside cheer is in a good location. lovely beach 1min walk from hotel and bus stop just across the
road which will take you to st peter port for £1. The hotel staff are very nice and makes for a good
atmosphere.The hotel itself could do with a little facelift, but overall not a lot to complain about,. although breakfast could vary a bit with maybe the introduction of some fruit and yogart. This is my
second stay here and you get what it says on the can.
.

Reviewed by
j lawrence

From , Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.