You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Best Western Maitrise Hotel Maida Vale

4

53-59 Kilburn High Road, London, NW6 5SB

Price From 150.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (73)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Helen R

  • August 2016

Weekend stay

Easy access from euston for match at Wembley.

Then managed trip to Greenwich as so convenient to rail/tube

  • Chris T

  • August 2016

Small but nice

The room was small with no external Windows but was ideal for a short stay within easy reach of the city centre.

The room was clean and fairly modern. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning helped make it a pleasant stay.

  • R White

  • July 2016

A mixed bag

The overall appearance is good.

However, in my room a curtain was missing meaning it was too light to sleep. The double glazing was insufficient and the road incredibly loud. And the air con didn't work so too hot also. Food was average.

  • Helen G

  • July 2016

Disappointing given the price

No lift to room - instead a labyrinth of staircases difficult to navigate with heavy luggage.

Strange smells in corridor and inside room. Bed hard as nails. Shower impossible to turn on without first getting wet. Disturbed by cleaning staff before check-out, despite putting 'Do not disturb' sign on door. Friendly staff and nice decor.

  • lynn f

  • July 2016

Awful bathroom

First room we were given (room 319): the bathroom smelt terrible (there was no ventilation in it and the extractor fan didn't work so it smelt really damp and rancid).

Room was tiny. The alternative room we were given (soon 313): bathroom didn't smell but the room was tiny: you literally fell from door onto the bed, and had to do a sideways shuffle around the bed!

  • Jeremy H

  • June 2016

Not the basement!

Generally well appointed rooms, with decent bathrooms, but as small as you would expect for London.

One complaint is that the window could not be opened, which I find very irritating. Beware of the basement rooms - they have no window, which might be tolerable, but there was no mobile phone signal, which can be a problem.

  • Apurva S

  • June 2016

Best Western Maitrise Hotel Maida Vale

Good stay.

  • Zoe P

  • June 2016

Better than expected

I booked this hotel due to it's close proximity to Wembley as we were watching Coldplay on Sunday 19th June, and also the cheap price.

I was started to get concerned the day before, reading a lot of negative reviews on here, to the point I was considering looking at booking another hotel. 'It's only 1 night' my husband said, so I thought we should just turn up and see what happened. When we arrived at 13:40 we were told by 'employee 1' that check in was at 14:00. Fair enough, but we did think we could have filled in any paperwork while waiting. There was also another 4-5 guests 'waiting' in the reception. At 13:50, and after the first employee told us we had to wait, the girl who took over from 'employee 1' started checking in a new guest who had just walked in the door. I then queued and asked if I could check in and 'employee 2' said yes, so I did. She was polite, smiley and made me feel welcome. The room I expected to be tiny from reviews on here but I thought it was actually a decent size. We were in room 111, which was street side but you couldn't really hear a lot of noise, but it was a Sunday night. There is what looks like a nightclub across the street so I'm not sure what this might have been light on a Friday/Saturday evening noise wise. The room was a little tired but clean enough, and the bathroom was fine, with a lovely shower and plenty of mirrors. When we went down for breakfast on the Monday morning 'employee 1' was there, chatting to the cooks, and didn't even look at us until we walked almost up to her. She highlighted my name on a piece of paper and then walked off, didn't explain what the process was, what was/wasn't included, and just pointed at a table. We helped ourselves, it was continental and quite limited, the bacon muffins (I think they were) were a little stale, so I just had toast. We waited for about 10 minutes for someone to ask if we wanted tea/coffee, and there was no 'drinks station' so we just waited...and waited... I had to get up and ask 'employee 1' (who was still chatting to the kitchen guys) if we could please have some coffee, and then she bought some over. It wasn't great, and I left mine. There were about 3 tables with people eating, so pretty quiet, but 'employee 1' made no effort to clean the tables which had dirty plates. On check out we were greeted by 'employee 2' again, who was her usual happy smiley self. Kilburn High Road station is closed on a Sunday, so be aware of this. Kilburn station is at the other end of Kilburn High Road, which was £1.50 each on the bus, took about 10 mins, and stops in the road next to the hotel. Note to management; we experienced two vastly different employees of yours, one who looked like she wanted to go home/finish her shift and just couldn't be bothered, and one who was making a real effort, had excellent customer service and is an asset to your business.

If you're looking for a plush hotel this is not it, but if you want somewhere close to stations, cheap and cheerful, then this is a great place to stay!

  • A Smith

  • May 2016

Nice hotel with clean room

Had a comfortable stay, the room was well designed, very clean and comfortable.

The only slight discomfort was that the room was very small which was manageable for myself as I was traveling alone but would have been a major problem if you were there with your partner. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • rosina a

  • May 2016

weekend break

room was very small it was not clean enough for a 4* lots of dust.

staff are very good and the breakfast was not all that very few items in buffet was expecting eggs at least but had to pay extra for them!