Reviews - Falcon Hotel


1 London Street , Whittlesey ,, Peterborough, PE7 1BH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Felicity S

  • August 2015

Falcon Hotel

Room was a bit dated probably needs some return.

The floors were uneven but as it is a listed building maybe that is inevitable. Fortunately it was summer...the bathroom would be somewhat cold during the winter months as the frame had rotted and had come away from the glass panes.

  • debbie usher

  • July 2015

never again unless desperate

A run down place where they dont really care about the guests the elderly gent who works there just has no heart in the place, wanted a drink from the bar had to go find the old man who was asleep on the sofa in the restaurant where no food is served, the cleaner was lovely, such a shame as could be a real nice place if someone else took it over.

  • Dean C

  • June 2015

  • Lindsey Simmonds

  • March 2015

The Falcon Hotel

Old Country Pub/ Hotel, uneven floors and all, friendly staff, couldn't do enough for me.

The room was nice and big, but only had a bath, (could have done with a shower as well).

  • A Villaschi

  • March 2015

Not for an early night

VERY LOUD music from downstairs until very late meant no chance for an early night.

Room was quite cold also, electric heater provided did not work and wall mounted radiator was struggling, but duvet was warm enough. Staff were polite, breakfast was OK. No hand-soap provided for the bathroom.

  • david and sue johnson

  • September 2014

weekend away

room reservation was not on hotel computer .we was told no evening meals available but later 4 people turned up for evening meal In restaurant.

we did get a very excellent sunday dinner and breakfast but sunday night no meal so we managed with a chocolate bar upon checking out we mentioned about no meals or snacks on sunday evening and was told that the evening staff should have offered to make us a sandwich at the very least as we were residents

  • Nick D

  • August 2014

Good value for money and a quirky experience to boot

A character pub in the middle of a quaint village.

For the price (£30 incl. breakfast, en-suite double, for a Sunday night), this represented good value for money. An interesting and somewhat quirky experience; the noise from the pub quiz being held downstairs was actually quite warming although at the same time I was pleased that it dissipated at around 11pm. Room was spacious with a nice picturesque view of a village street. Apart from a few strange noises from the saniflo system in the water closet it was generally a comfortable night's sleep, in what was generally speaking a clean room. For the price, the place is perfect for contractors (like me), fishermen and those passing through, although like most places this does tend to vary depending on demand. Breakfast, whilst included in the rate, was the only let down in otherwise what was a pleasant and somewhat memorable stay.

  • L Simon

  • August 2014

Very comfortable stay.

Extremely good value.

  • P O'Brien

  • June 2014

Saturday night / Sunday morning at the Falcon

The room quality could do with a few minor enhancements.

For example, we found the wallpaper peeling from the ceiling somewhat enchanting and in keeping with the age of the building - but were not sure this would be to everyone's taste. Having popped out for a few beverages, we returned to the room and tried watching TV - at this point we both thought we had gone blind - however, on closer inspection (with a high power telescope) it was discovered the TV screen was not much bigger than a small childs hand. On a positive note, we believe there are some decent models at bargain prices at Currys and Argos at the moment. The en-suite shower was particularly good but not the same could be said for the lighting unit above the sink - it appeared to have been fitted by an electrical dimwit - when the light cord was operated, the unit tilted at a crazy angle and appeared to be trying to commit suicide by diving down the sink plug-hole. Perhaps someone more qualified to fit a shelf should have been employed: when a toothbrush was placed in one of the tumblers on the bathroom shelf, both tumblers tried to slide off and crash to their doom in the cracked sink below. Fortunately, due to having the lightning reflexes of a striking cobra, both tumblers were saved and re-located to a safer environment. We would like to sing the praises of the lady chef: she cooked a terrific breakfast, had great personality and nothing was too much trouble for her. Overall we had a lot of laughs and would recommend the Falcon to any discerning, short-sighted bon-viveurs!

  • Susan G

  • June 2014

Overnight stay

Friendly host, perfectly pleasant room and a nice breakfast.