No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Corse Lawn House Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Corse Lawn House Hotel, , , Corse, GL19 4LZ
Corse Lawn House Hotel, Restaurant & Bistro.

Charmingly situated in the Severn Valley between the Cotswolds, the Malverns and the Forest of Dean.

Corse Lawn House Hotel is an elegant Queen Anne Grade II Listed building, set back from the village green and fronted by an unusual ornamental pond (originally built as a coach wash into which you could drive and turn a stage and four horses) and surrounded by twelve acres of its own gardens and fields.

The house has belonged to the Hine family (of Cognac fame) since 1978, and during that time has been carefully extended, refurbished and restored to create a stunningly attractive Country House Hotel with eighteen beautiful bedrooms, all individually furnished, many with antiques, and all with private bathrooms, colour TV, telephone, hair dryer and trouser press.

The hotel still revolves around the restaurant but Baba Hine who has been chef/proprietess here for over thirty years, has handed over her kitchen to Andrew Poole and Martin Kinahan, who have worked beside her for many years and are now running the kitchen with great success and keeping to food flag flying for Corse Lawn. Meanwhile Baba is running the Front of House with Gilles, Ludo and Vikki, all of whom have been at Corse Lawn for many years, and so are familiar faces to our many regulars. There is a relaxed which together with superb food and wine make the hotel a perfect place to unwind and relax.

On arrival you will find your larger-than-average bedroom, filled with Hine family antiques as well as thoughtful details such as bathrobes, a bowl of fresh fruit, freshly ground coffee, tea and home-made biscuits, all as standard.
Picture of Corse Lawn House Hotel, Corse at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corse Lawn
Always a pleasure to go back to Corse Lawn. Relaxing after a busy day at my office nearby and having a glass of wine in front of a fire wonderfully relaxing. There is a genteel elegance about this lovely coaching house set in beautiful countryside.

Reviewed by
D Macdonald

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday surprise
I took my husband for a surprise birthday present, we were greeted immediately at the front desk.
The hotel was very comfortable, quiet just we wanted after a hards week at work. The food was fabulous and the service second to none. My husband likes a drop of brandy so where else to get the perfect tipple. We will definitely go again in the future.

Reviewed by
T Wilkinson

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midlands visit 2014
Loved the hotel with its friendly atmosphere. It makes such a difference when the owners are so actively involved. Is it mandatory to use these energy saving light bulbs that give such a poor quality output? A great base from which to visit so many interesting sites/places and a delight to drive on empty roads and not to have aircraft flying overhead as we do living near Gatwick! Enjoyed the endless quantity of fruit in the very comfortable room and the comprehensive supply of real tea and fesh milk. Excellent staff creating a friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Charles van der Lande

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really lovely hotel with just a few small negatives
We did really enjoy our stay at the hotel last weekend although unfortunately I did get ill and needed to leave promptly (nothing to do with the hotel!!) Corse Lawn is really quaint and has an 'old school' style of service and decoration, which really adds to the experience. Our room was a good size with fresh coffee and tea waiting on our room as well as fresh fruit and homemade shortcake.The en-suite had a large bath and modern shower which was welcome after a swim in the hotel's lovely indoor pool. We really did have a great time and I regretfully only have a few negatives. The room had quality antique furniture with a lovely feel, so I'm not sure why they let it down by having a dirty marked ottoman at the end of the bed. The wheels were broken and it was dirty marks over it which just let the room down. There were also a few issues with cobwebs, over the headboard/drape behind us and around the lights and on the ceiling in the bathroom, the room needed more of a detailed clean before we checked in really. There were also a few small holes in the bed sheets. The only other thing I would say is that I can't eat high fat products so at breakfast and dinner, my needs weren't really catered for. I asked for skimmed milk at breakfast and unfortunately there was only full fat available so I couldn't have the branflakes option. The mango I had was very nice though. I know this is more to do with my specific dietary requirements and not a fault of the hotel but it would have been nice to have the option of skimmed or semi skimmed milk. I would definitely visit again as we really did find the hotel a lovely spot for a quiet weekend and there were just a few negatives, otherwise it would have been perfect.

Reviewed by
E Robinson

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful stay in a lovely setting
This is a very comfortable hotel with friendly, efficient and alert staff. Large well furnished bedroom. All had a very homely feeling whilst being a rather special experience - traditional furniture, pleasant country aspect.
A lovely one night break and I am looking for an excuse to stay again!

Reviewed by
ANN B

From SOLIHULL, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corse Lawn
always a pleasure to stay in such a lovely in gorgeous surroundings

Reviewed by
Deirdre Macdonald

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting and an interesting building. Good food. You will need a car as it is fairly remote

Reviewed by
B Hicks

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Could not fault this hotel. Small country hotel. Food was excellent! Everyone friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had everything we needed.Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
P Long

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique and Fabulous
Great to stay in such a unique and fabulous room - such a nice change.

Reviewed by
Hazel F

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We look upon Corse Lawn Hotel as our bolthole to take time out to relax and enjoy good food and wine in a beautiful setting. It is always a pleasure coming here.

Reviewed by
Claire S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next