No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Paul's Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
120 HOLGATE ROAD , YORK, YO24 4BB
A warm welcome awaits you at this Grade 2 listed building from 1839. Backing onto York's only remaining Victorian Square, in a residential area yet only a 10 minute walk into the City. Licenced bar catering for residents & non residents small functions. (Limited availability, please check on arrival) A hearty Breakfast is served and special diets can be requested. There is a large free secure car park at the rear. Guests have access to wireless Internet free of charge. Most rooms have been refurbished with new modern en-suite's, Flat screen HDTV/DVD,all have complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, hairdryer and iron are available at reception(no charge). Handy for York's historic attractions, railway station, racecourse and the East Coast, Yorkshire Dales etc. On a bus route. Smoking rooms are available on request. Majority of our rooms are large family and we can accept group bookings.
Picture of St Paul's Lodge, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hobbit Room Experience
The hotel overall was OK, the Hobbit room is considerably smaller than it appears in photos with a 4'bed. If you can manage to complete your stay without getting a head injury from hitting your head on the tiny 'climb into your room' doorway.
Seemingly the more senior the staff position held the less competent they were at there jobs and reverse also true with an excellent waitress and Chef.
Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
G Brough

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable beds rooms really clean. Staff very helpfull and accomodating abx a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
NEIL H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast! Went with friends so booked two rooms - superior, very nice, but watch out for the 'cosy atttic' room. Make sure you're happy with the very small door and stairs to private bathroom - all clearly quoted on laterooms - for the price.

Reviewed by
marie ekins

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Family Break
Stayed at St. Paul's Lodge for a short break with the family. Received a warm welcome from Julie, the owner who was helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was in need of updating but was again clean with ample towels. Our breakfast was delicious and beautifully cooked. Would recommend St. Paul's and would definitely consider staying there again!

Reviewed by
Cathryn H

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless

Reviewed by
N TURNER

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotless & friendly
We had a lovely few days here. Our room was spotless & obviously recently refurbished, the bed was huge & incredibly comfy. Yes the floor sloped but that's the charm of an old building & yes the stairwell could do with its own refurb but so what. The breakfast was brilliant (I'd recommend the sausages) & all the staff really friendly. Its probably a 20 - 25 minute walk into town but close enough for cheap taxis if the children get tired so you can still take advantage of the free car park. Loved it

Reviewed by
M Beck

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located near to centre with parking
We had a very comfortable two night stay.The Accommodation, service and breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
A Andersen

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

much needed break
The staff were very friendly and relaxed. We instantly felt welcome. The breakfast was great, a wide selection of choices that accommodated for all the family. We were able to walk into the city, which was great as we didn't have to worry about parking and paying for it either.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit expensive
Had a lovely break in York, St Paul's was very comfortable but really due for modernisation. Bedroom much better than shared areas - really old fashioned. Good sized room and nice breakfast. Not the most welcoming greeting but we were able to check-in early and leave car in free car park - bonus! On the whole I felt St Paul's was a little expensive.

Reviewed by
c saxton

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we needed in our room. Great breakfast. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help and answer questions about York.

Reviewed by
Georgia B

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next