No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Paul's Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
120 HOLGATE ROAD , YORK, YO24 4BB
A warm welcome awaits you at this Grade 2 listed building from 1839. Backing onto York's only remaining Victorian Square, in a residential area yet only a 10 minute walk into the City. Licenced bar catering for residents & non residents small functions. (Limited availability, please check on arrival) A hearty Breakfast is served and special diets can be requested. There is a large free secure car park at the rear. Guests have access to wireless Internet free of charge. Most rooms have been refurbished with new modern en-suite's, Flat screen HDTV/DVD,all have complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, hairdryer and iron are available at reception(no charge). Handy for York's historic attractions, railway station, racecourse and the East Coast, Yorkshire Dales etc. On a bus route. Smoking rooms are available on request. Majority of our rooms are large family and we can accept group bookings.
Picture of St Paul's Lodge, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Good location short walk to city excellent breakfast on site parking good size family room hotel a little old fashioned but very clean

Reviewed by
gillian g

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean hotel with friendly staff
Reasonable priced hotel for York. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and we'll equipped with hair dryer , iron , tea and coffee etc. Excellent choices at breakfast .Only a steady 10 minute walk from the city centre.

Reviewed by
Robert h

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay over
We just stayed the one night. It was a little noisy in the room with it being on a fairly busy road and the shower in the room was a little cramped. But the breakfast made up for this, all in all, we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
B Evans

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room fairly discribed as small attic, which was very clean and with everything we might need but noisy from traffic. Good breakfast with prompt service.

Reviewed by
linda Gough

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night family break
On arrival we were greeted by nice big friendly smile and shown to our room. As they weren't sure of our boys ages (9 & 11), they had set up two bunk beds and a camp bed as well. The room was set up with everything that we needed, including iron and hairdryer and when we asked if they had a spare fan again it wasn't a problem and was there when we returned. We also asked if we could leave the car behind for a couple of hours when we checked out again if was greeted with no problem. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hopefully we will be back.

Reviewed by
Nigel Abrahams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stairs could pose a problem to anyone with a slight disability.

Reviewed by
P Cross

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hobbit Room Experience
The hotel overall was OK, the Hobbit room is considerably smaller than it appears in photos with a 4'bed. If you can manage to complete your stay without getting a head injury from hitting your head on the tiny 'climb into your room' doorway.
Seemingly the more senior the staff position held the less competent they were at there jobs and reverse also true with an excellent waitress and Chef.
Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
G Brough

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable beds rooms really clean. Staff very helpfull and accomodating abx a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
NEIL H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean and friendly place
The building itself is a bit worn down, but since everything else is fine, it doesn't really matter that much.
Nice place with walking distance to the city.

Reviewed by
Anders L

From 1394 Nesbru, Norway
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and Noisy
This room was far too expensive for what it offered

Reviewed by
S field

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next