You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - St Paul's Lodge

3

120 HOLGATE ROAD, YORK, YO24 4BB

Price From 123.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (52)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Mooney

  • June 2016

Quirky, elegant and extremely friendly.

I stayed in the Hobbit room for a night on Monday the 20th of June and found St.

Paul's Lodge extremely pleasant and very endearing. Even though I was only there for a night I was treated like a long stay guest with dressing gown, slippers et al. The hobbit room is a very fun little spot to sleep in and as a man who loves curiosities it really set the stay away from the usual big chain hotels. If you love the more unusual spots to travel this place is perfect - I definitely intend to come back. A lovely Victorian townhouse with a great character.

  • Paul Shepherd

  • June 2016

Very satisfied

Very nice stay, lovely welcome by owner.

Would recommend and use again.

  • K Walker

  • June 2016

York

Lovely place to stay and very peaceful because your just away from the centre of York .

Walking distance to the centre is a 10 minute walk . St Pauls Lodge is a very lovely place to relax . The room we had was excellent with a huge comfy bed and the room had everything you needed . Hairdryer, iron and tea making facilities. Breakfasts are excellent and had a great choice of food.

  • Patric J

  • May 2016

Generally good but was given a tiny room

Was not pleased with the fact that I was given the 'hobbit room' - as a couple who are both atleast 6 ft tall having a tiny bed in a tiny room was not suitable.

Have been put off staying in B&Bs due to this issue.

Response from hotel

This review is factually incorrect as the customer was given the room which

they booked and it clearly states on your booking site that this is a very

small room which is not suitable for Tall persons so why did they book it?

The hobbit room is the nick name for the Budget room.

  • allan h

  • March 2016

Excellent place to stay if coming to York,

Within easy walking distance to city centre, really friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was a delight, real value for money

  • B Hall

  • February 2016

Great weekend spoiled.

Hotel was excellent, the only downside to the weekend was because I had to park on the main road outside the hotel my wing mirror was vandalised along with three other vehicles by some idiot(s) who must have thought it was "fun!"

  • M Hill

  • December 2015

City B&B.

Our preference is usually to stop in a hotel, but opted for B&B as we booked rather late.

Accommodation is on the outskirts, 10 - 15 minute walk to city or station. There is a short cut if you walk out of the back / side of the station car park, if you're not too loaded with luggage. We booked a superior room, which was very large (both the room and bed), with a sofa and bunk beds and en suite. Room was 1st floor on the front. It is on a main road, but this didn't bother us. Not disappointed, very pleasant, seems recently done. Complimentary /coffee, fruit and water in room on arrival, toiletries, robe and slippers (only one of each?) Included breakfast was continental, with toast. Full cooked breakfast available at extra cost.

Had a pleasant stay, the entrance on arrival doesn't really create the best impression, seems a bit dark, cluttered, and dated. The lounge seemed dark, and not very inviting. I realise York is a popular place, and room prices are likely to be inflated,(along with pre - Christmas rush), but I felt the accommodation was a bit overpriced, for it's overall standard.

  • Catherine H

  • November 2015

Extended family city break

We booked a family room for parents and kids and a superior double for my parents.

There is plenty of free parking. It is walking distance from the centre just about. Ok for able bodied grown ups but a stretch for small children and grandparents.

The communal areas are chintzy and there is a slight smell of smoke but our rooms were clean, modern, spacious and smoke free. There was a wide selection of cereals, pastries, toast, cold meats, fruit and yoghurts for breakfast. The tea was good the coffee not recommended. Cooked is extra but we didn't feel we needed it. Service was friendly and welcoming. York is a great place for a family break we had a great time at Yorvik, DIG, the castle museum and the railway museum. We ate at the Italian around the corner on Blossom St and it was really good.

  • Ralph W

  • October 2015

The Excellent St Pauls Lodge

We enjoyed a very relaxed weekend at the St Pauls Lodge, a short walk from all the wonders of the city.

Our room was the quirky 'Hobbit room' ...a small double bedroom with all the facilities, it's a non-ensuite, but we had a private, lockable bathroom which was absolutely spotless. There is ample, safe parking at the rear and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely return in the future.

  • Martin M

  • October 2015

Saturday last minute break

room was clean and staff friendly but for £127.00 for a nights stay would have expected a breakfast to be included in the price not a £20.00 extra on top apart from that the quite close to York city centre free parking and an 11am check out which was all good.

would stay again