Reviews - Hostel 639


Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (13)

23% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • William A

  • September 2015

Reasonable stay at Hostel 639

Reasonable accomodation for the price.

You get what you pay for. The only reason I wouldn't recommend to a friend is because my friends wouldn't dig that type of dormitory accomodation but if you are flexible then it's good enough.

  • Christopher D

  • February 2015

Get what you pay for

As hostels go it was pretty cheap, on top of that it being in London too was amazing.

The communal areas were fairly clean. Staff were amiable. Didn't appreciate all my stuff being turfed off my bed during the 5 hours I was out for the evening, having mistaken for someone that hadn't returned to collect there stuff that was also in the same dorm. Still as title says you get what you pay for and for a tenner it was some where warm and dry of a night.

  • L Horvat

  • January 2015


I can't say anything positive about this hostel, except it's cheap.

Customer Service was terrible, really unfriendly and unhelpful. Wouldn't stay there again!


  • October 2014

Good hostel but too far from centre

Staff,room and cleaning ok but location.....too far from the city centre.

mattress is destroyed.

  • andrei baron

  • October 2014

Everything great

  • alan wood

  • September 2014

you get what you pay for!

this hostel is good value for the price, and ok for someone on a tight budget to stay for a short while.

However, it is rough, quite a long way from the city centre and definitely not suitable for a family with young children. if you book for a 'single' room, do not expect to have the room to yourself!. I suggest if you can afford extra money, to go somewhere else more comfortable, and more safe and secure....... also helps if you can speak Spanish or can communicate in pidgeon English.

  • Marc B

  • August 2014

Avoid like the plauge!

Stayed here on August 10th and 11th to attend a concert in London the following day, and since its only two nights to stay in a hostel rather than a while week for example, I thought I would pass it by without any problems, but even two nights was enough and I only went there to sleep after being all day out in London.

Firstly upon arrival, I was greeted by a receptionist speaking in broken English, in which three times I had to ask her why I had to pay 10 pounds deposit for a key, then when I explained the storage of luggage, it was not explained very well due to her broken grasp of English, after a second explanation she said that my bag can be stored behind the reception desk for a pound extra, which made me think "not a good idea, this lot seem untrustworthy". She later gave me a written receipt, which I luckily kept and did not throw away, as it was needed to claim back the deposit although my name was written in pencil in a book. She never told me to keep the receipt. On my way up the stairs, it looked okay for a hostel, but as I walked through the corridor leading to my room, the old looking wooden doors made me think this was going to be bad. On entry to my room, there was two beds free (appeared to be), there was only one from what I was told, I later found out two people being a couple were sharing the bottom bunk. The pillow was thin as if somebody stuffed cotton wool in the pillow case; my head could feel the mattress, while the duvet was the same. Also, the window was open and was cold outside, there was no power points to charge my phone or tablet, while the cold tap on the sink did not work, the hot tap only provided cold water which was a dribble while the shower was a manky looking cublicle in the corner of the room, while the sink had hairs in it. I also every one of the two nights I stayed, set my bag down beside the bed, when I woke up in the mornings, there would be a hair on it (a long one). The toilets had a hand dryer which did not work and the soap dispenser had no button on it. Along the corridors was these manky looking posters for the downstairs restaurant. I for one upon a single gaze at it, did not want to go in there and the food looked going by the posters quite awful. Didn't even want to have breakfast there, so went off to McDonalds at Oxford Street. At nights there was a bunch of randoms standing round the door who looked quite dodgy. The only best thing about this dive was the location being near Kensal Green tube and the pub down the road, although there was a girl trying to steal off me there who was most probably staying at the hostel, since I've read reviews on this place where guests have had stuff stolen and hostel staff did nothing. I've stayed in hostels in Newquay, Brighton, most of Europe and had a very pleasant stay with brilliant hosts and fellow roommates, but Hostel 639 is one hostel which has put me off London hostels completely!. Even if its an overnight stay you'll be doing, don't bother and look elsewhere, you'll thank yourself for it, maybe a guesthouse in Shep's Bush or anywhere but here if Hostels are your preferred stay. I only stayed here because of the price and needed to save money I'm putting towards a 5 star hotel stay with my girlfriend next year, while wanting to see my fave band play, but if I knew what I was getting myself into here, I would have never gone and the experience and poor cleanliness of this dump, made me feel quite manky. In a nutshell do not stay here under any circumstances!!!!!!!!!

  • A Stewart

  • July 2014

Overall quality matches price.....

  • T Law

  • July 2014

One night stay

The accommodation is a hostel, an interesting way to travel and great people.

Rooms are shared and basic but it was very clean and everyone very friendly. Great value and good experience.

  • Jim H

  • June 2014

Overcrowded and terrible service

This hostel is very large and hence really noisy.

Staff woke me in the middle of the night to ask for my receipt and would I move to another bed. It's located in a very boring residential part of London's outskirts and a longish train ride into central London. There is one pub in the area which is great, but expensive. Wi-fi in the hostel costs extra. There are no bathrooms in the building, just one cubicle in each dorm room.