Reviews - Keystone Hotel


Higher Bulstone, BRANSCOMBE, EX12 3BL, Branscombe, EX12 3BL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Diane S

  • November 2015

Comforts of home

Family run hotel in quiet surroundings.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable and the service excellent. Good home cooked food and plenty of it in a friendly atmosphere. Comfortable lounge and separate TV room. Excellent facilities for children.

  • Norman Rudd

  • September 2015

Keystone Hotel, Branscombe - excellent for a quiet break

A family-run hotel just a mile or two from the sea, accessed down little country lanes and away from it all.

Husband and wife team were both exceedingly friendly and helpful. Food was superb and all home-cooked. Ginormous breakfast - even I couldn't eat it all. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet holiday (not suitable for cities and clubs). Family/children rooms available. Highly rated by me for personality and friendliness - almost like staying with friends or relatives rather than in a hotel.

  • Emma M

  • August 2015

Hotel needs a lot of updating.

Looks tatty outside and very old fashioned inside. Garden area in dreadful state but we were still offered to sit there. Generally clean. Conservatory playroom area needs demolishing!

  • Pamela M

  • June 2015

Lovely B&B

Had a lovely stay great for families and the breakfast is great lots to choose from it will set you up for the day.

Plus lovely coffee. Really friendly owners, nice and quiet area. Great location plenty of places to go, you don't have to drive far.

  • L Foster

  • May 2015

Keystone Hotel

How lovely to wake to birdsong, with no traffic or other machine noise.

This is an ideal place to be if you are wishing to escape the chaos of towns and cities, or crave peace and quiet. Great for ramblers and nature lovers.

Great home cooked breakfast, and they even had soya milk. The only drawbacks are an infrequent bus service, and expensive local taxi companies, and I couldn't get hot water from the shower, so I had a hot bath.

  • Victoria L

  • November 2014

Excellent for young families

The owners were thoughtful and very helpful, and could not do enough to make our stay as easy and comfortable as it could possibly be.

The breakfast was excellent and there was a playroom for children which was well stocked and clean. My only disappointment was that we did not stay longer to get to make full use of the resources. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • A Sandford

  • October 2014

very friendly and room clean and comfortable.

Fine for an overnight stay.

  • J Woolley

  • July 2014

When we arrived at this hotel we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the room we were staying in, we didn't stay in the end because it was not a nice place.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • f gillie

  • May 2014

One fantastic night in deepest, darkest Devon!


The room was comfortable, clean, warm and with TV, wash basin, hair dryer, tea and coffee etc. Unfortunately not en-suit, but at that price I didn’t really expect it. The food was great and the staff very friendly. The children’s play room looked fantastic, if my four year old granddaughter was with me we would probably still be there. My only gripe; the kettle lead went behind the shelf mounting, forcing you to either pull the plug out of the kettle,(with difficulty) or pour into your cup whilst standing on tiptoe to see how full it is. But all in all, a very nice place to stay. 10/10

  • Paul Hewitt

  • May 2014

Well worth a visit.

If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay then this is ideal.

The hosts are very welcoming. Both the quality and the quantity of the food is superb. The Dinner is restaurant standard, made using fresh, local produce. Exceptional. If I was in the area again I would definitely stay here.