Reviews - The Cottage Inn


36 Stoneleigh road, Kenilworth, cv8 2gd

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (82)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gavin N

  • February 2014

This is a small family run establishment with a good pub/ restaurant atmosphere.

The staff were very pleasant and the evening meal was good quality pub grub. The room was a little on the small side and a bit dated, but still offered over all good value for money.

  • G Bouckley

  • February 2014

excellent service

service was fantastic the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome the food was outstanding would recommend and would definitley stay again value for money

  • David L

  • February 2014

Great Value For Money

Made to feel very welcome on the evening of arrival.

Good atmosphere in the pub/restaurant, (which is the main focus of this establishment) so we stayed in for the evening meal. Food was freshly prepared and tasty - good quality and well priced. The room would have scored higher but for the central heating being off for some reason. It was a cold night and, although our host had thoughtfully provided an electric storage radiator, the bathroom was freezing. Toiletries consisted of one small handsoap but we had brought our own anyway. Very nice tea/coffee & biscuits provided. Bed very comfortable, but wall was thin enough to hear snoring from the guest next door. Fast & friendly service at breakfast, with great food. I mention a couple of shortcomings here only so as you know what you might be getting, but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Harry Moir

  • January 2014

Excellent value for money

Very good place to stay if you are looking for good value.

Rooms are well appointed with showers en suite and coffee and tea making facilities. The staff are very good and look after you well. Meals can be taken in the restaurant or at the bar, well cooked, good selection and excellent value for money. Breakfast is served quickly and there Is a very good selection. Cannot fault the Cottage Inn and all the staff and would definitely stay again if I am in the area.

  • ian fearnley

  • January 2014

weekend break

if you want a short break in this area at a reasonable cost then this is the place excellent food cask ale and whiskey it is a credit to alan the landlord and all his staff who are the best we have had the pleasure to meet in a long time this is the second time we have stayed there and we will be going back

  • Janet T

  • December 2013

Comfortable clean accommodation

I would definitely recommend this Inn for a good comfortable economical stay.

Lovely and clean and the Xmas decorations were really nice and very impressive. The food was very good. The enjoyable breakfast is also included in the price. . No complaints what so ever.

Thank you for our stay.

  • S Hulm

  • December 2013

Friendly staff at The Cottage Inn

Very nice pub with very good customer service, shame the same can't be said about some of the locals who were using the bar on Friday evening.....hogging the bar area and having to be asked to move so we could get passed them.

Car park was on the small side and we had to leave our vehicle on the road. We were shown to our room by a very pleasant female member of staff who offered to carry my bags for me (I'm disabled and use a walking stick). The room was basic but to be fair we weren't expecting The Ritz.... my only criticism would be the shower - not as clean as it could have been around the controls. We freshened up after our journey and returned to the bar area to have something to eat. The food was piping hot and well presented. On Saturday morning I didn't fancy the full breakfast (fried egg, sausage, bacon and beans) but was offered poached or scrambled eggs on toast instead. Would we stay there again. Yes.

  • john c

  • December 2013



  • I Widdup

  • December 2013

Ideal stop over for NEC quiet friendly pub serving reasonable food 2nd time have stopped here basic rooms and ensuite bathrooms priced accordingly would stop again for nec.

  • Nigel H

  • December 2013

Poor customer service

I've never felt the need to leave a bad review for a hotel until i stayed here, so well done the cottage.

First the ok stuff. The room was ok not good just ok. Now the bad stuff, Don't eat anything in the restraunt that can't be cooked in a microwave. We ordered food and it was on the table within 5 minutes, good service you would think, my friends had lasagne which was ok but that can be reheated in a microwave. I hand cumberland sausage lovely and hot but raw one bite was enough, so we went else where for the rest of the evening. Breakfast finishes in the morning at half 8 so ok if your a early riser. The worst thing was i was in my room at half 9 in the morning and a very rude lady walked in to tell us we had to be out by 10 it felt as though we were being kicked out. Needless to say i wont be staying here again.