You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Cottage Inn

36 Stoneleigh road, Kenilworth, cv8 2gd

Price From 84.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (45)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jade S

  • June 2016

The Cottage Inn

We were greeted at the busy bar and payment was taken.

Showed to our room and asked if we had any questions or needed anything. Room was sloping down to one side of the building, we understand there is probably not much that can be done about this but it did make the bed slope down to one side. There was a spider and web in the room on the ceiling not very nice to be sleeping with that, I'm sure a small sweep of the room before guests arrive could have rectified this, instead of bothering staff we put up with it and opened window in the hope it would leave. Sink was in bedroom corner not in or near bathroom which isn't very hygienic, no one wants to go to the toilet then have to open door and go to other side of the room before washing hands. Room was small and a bit cramped. Tv only had a few channels. Tea, coffee and biscuits were supplied which is nice. No hairdryer. Small bar of soap at sink. There was adaquate drawers and space to hang up clothes. There was a small vanity stool to sit on but there was no room to use it. Overall impression is a budget accommodation, friendly staff, breakfast was nice, some updating of rooms could be required but understand it may not be in the businesses budget for these changes. Fine for a one night stay were all really required is a good breakfast and somewhere to sleep. Very close to kennel club buildings stoneleigh which was purpose of our visit.

  • Kirsty D

  • June 2016

Very poor

Welcome was very poor, the nicest person was the owners son.

We were in a hurry as we had been stuck in traffic but if I had had more time I would have complained on arrival. The room was so dusty and floor had not been hoovered. The bed sheets were clean as it was the first thing I did when seeing the cleanliness of room. Ensuite was ok but a few hairs in shower. The mattresswas extremely uncomfortable , we rolled into the middle. All in all disappointing.i would have complained on departure but the only people around were the cook and a cleaner.

  • Alan Jackson

  • May 2016

short stay

nice stop over thank you

  • S Taylor-Chisholm

  • May 2016

Bang on the money

Proximity to Stoneleigh Park for the kit car show, pub underneath good ales and quiet.

Price, very cheap. All you need for a good nights kip. People nice, food all good. This is all I ever need from a hotel. I can never understand why people want to pay £200 a night for corporate rubbish. good old fashioned British hotel. I will stay again next year. Thanks.

  • D Faulkner

  • April 2016

cosy pup

overnight stay.

clean room. friendly staff. only thing id change is check out time to 12.00 from10.00 which was a bit early and put a hairdryer in the room

  • Susan C

  • April 2016

Pleasant B&B-style accommodation above a pub

The Cottage Inn is basically a small family-run (I think) pub with an associated B&B business.

The rooms are en-suite, with comfortable bed, TV and tea/coffee-making facilities, but the one I stayed in (room 5) was quite small. Just the bed and a wardrobe, with a couple of bedside tables but no desk/dressing table (and no space for one). I guess if I wanted to work I could go down into the pub to find a table to sit at--or they'd probably let me sit in the breakfast room--but that might be a bit noisy. So, probably not the place to stay if you are planning to write your important presentation there. Breakfast is Full English, and they are happy to be flexible. If you don't fancy a sausage, just say so. Cereal is also provided, but if your breakfast of choice is a croissant you might be disappointed, hence only a 5 rather than a 6. The pub does food at lunchtime and in the evenings too, but I didn't sample it so can't comment. I stayed here because I was lecturing at Warwick University. There is a nice bike path from Forge Road, just opposite the inn, to the University--2.5 miles, about 50 minutes' walk (probably about 15 if you bring a bike). There's parking at the inn and buses, if you're not feeling energetic. Kenilworth centre is about 15 minutes' walk away. Summary: nothing fancy, but conveniently located, with friendly helpful staff. This is the third time I've stayed there when visiting the university, and I probably will again. Good value for money.

  • Nicola J

  • April 2016

great value for money

great customer service - room clean walls a bit thin - and one of the beds (twin room) very creaky (quite noisy if you're a restless sleeper) - but as staying alone had other bed to sleep in - very comfortable and a good nights sleep.

freshly cooked breakfast

  • R Morgan

  • February 2016

Dated and old fashioned

I was disappointed to find mould on the walls, the room was a very small twin bedroom with sink in the actual bedroom.

Shower would have benefitted from a proper screen rather than a curtain which quickly attaches itself to you!. The mattress was sagging all down one side I think due to the fact the actual room is on a slight slope. I could feel the springs also which made for a poor nights sleep. The old fashioned pine furniture looked dated and dusty in places. Towels were small and you need to remember to take your own toiletries and hairdryer as not supplied. Breakfast served between 7.30- 8.30 so don't expect a lie in if you want this. Breakfast basic but ok apart from sausage which tasted like it had been microwaved. Staff I saw were pleasant.

  • A Bennett

  • November 2015

The Cottage Inn

Nice B&B, excellent value, pleasant staff.

Recommend as good quality budget accomodation

  • E Russell

  • November 2015

Twin bedroom experience

The pub was friendly, helpful and ok food.

The room was out of the 1950s and completely let the establishment down. Damp, faded, overcrowded with furniture etc