No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sycamore Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
19 SYCAMORE PLACE BOOTHAM, YORK, YO30 7DW
An elegant Edwardian Town house. Built as a 'gentleman's residence' in a quiet cul-de-sac in1904, it is full of character in keeping with its over 100 year history.

The owners are proud of the friendly, warm atmosphere
cultivated to welcome every visitor as a personal guest.

It is a just 5-minute walk, through the lovely Museum Gardens, to the Minster and city centre. The York B&B is a 10 minutes' walk, or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England.
The guest house also offers free wi-fi.
Guaranteed on-street parking opposite.

" No Smoking Establishment"

Facilities Include:

Guaranteed on-street parking (opposite) at two pounds per day.
5 Minute
Walk from City Centre.
Access to Rooms at All Times
Choice of en-suite Double, Twin, Family or single room plus one with external private facilities.

Picture of The Sycamore Guest House, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good location
Friendly, helpful and very clean. Location is ideal-if you visit by train check out the shortcut through the short stay car park

Reviewed by
Sue L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, friendly owners and great food. Room a little dusty in places but other than that clean.

Reviewed by
T W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel friendly food good

Reviewed by
a rodgers

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly b&b
Everything you could ask for , good food , very clean , friendly helpful staff with tips on where to go , I would recommend and return .

Reviewed by
I McCool

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and comfort
We enjoyed our stay - lovely welcome and comfortable twin room - compact clean en-suite was all we needed - lovely clean sheets and we slpet well!! quality breakfast and perfect hosting - nothing was too much trouble - we would definately recommend this b & b with it's period decor and comfort!!

Reviewed by
k stannard

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sycamore guesthouse
Fantastic hosts who looked after us and made us feel nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
jeremy a

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant. Ideal venue for city break - left car outside B and B and walked everywhere in the city. Lovely breakfast. Welcome glass of sherry on return from day and evening out was a nice touch! Would stay here again if we came back to York for another long weekend.

Reviewed by
Jo S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My visit to Sycamore Guest House
Sycamore Guest House is a pleasant quiet facility close to the centre of York. It has average rooms that are tired and require upgrading. The entire suite was small and needed a good clean. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were both very friendly and very helpful. My main gripe would be the price, £85 for B&B and a further charge of £2!! For on street parking.

Reviewed by
Bernard C

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Guest House
Would stay here again , good parking and easily walked into the city centre !

Reviewed by
john mackerill

From lanchester, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loverly
Fantastic venue. Really clean and comfortable and although expensive, about right for the Xmas market weekend
The owners were loverly, couldnt do enough for you
Will see you again in 2014

Reviewed by
J Oliver

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next