No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sycamore Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
19 SYCAMORE PLACE BOOTHAM, YORK, YO30 7DW
An elegant Edwardian Town house. Built as a 'gentleman's residence' in a quiet cul-de-sac in1904, it is full of character in keeping with its over 100 year history.

The owners are proud of the friendly, warm atmosphere
cultivated to welcome every visitor as a personal guest.

It is a just 5-minute walk, through the lovely Museum Gardens, to the Minster and city centre. The York B&B is a 10 minutes' walk, or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England.
The guest house also offers free wi-fi.
Guaranteed on-street parking opposite.

" No Smoking Establishment"

Facilities Include:

Guaranteed on-street parking (opposite) at two pounds per day.
5 Minute
Walk from City Centre.
Access to Rooms at All Times
Choice of en-suite Double, Twin, Family or single room plus one with external private facilities.

Picture of The Sycamore Guest House, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and terrible shower
We stayed here for one night after finding a 'deal' on a website. I thought the price was far too much for the quality of the room- the en suite was tiny with no basin, when you say on the toilet your face touched the door, and the shower flitted between scorching hot and freezing cold, making it impossible to shower at all- all whilst putting up with the whirring of the electric toilet.
The owners were, however, very pleasant and friendly. I would have liked to have been informed about the parking charge before arrival though, and I thought the charge for paying by debit card was ridiculous and not justified at all.

Reviewed by
Emily M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very Good
we enjoyed our stay friendly hosts very good breakfast

Reviewed by
paul cowking

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sycamore Guest House
Nice hostess, welcoming and pleasant

Reviewed by
Lynne T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking Sycamore
Had a wonderful stay at Sycamore Guest House. Elizabeth and Spyros were both very friendly and helpful. Accommodation is just a few minutes walk from centre of York, through the lovely Museum Gardens. Area is quiet with no noise keeping you awake at night. Room was a good size, clean and with a very comfortable bed. Towels were changed each day and bedroom tidied up. Breakfast was well prepared and there was plenty to eat. Next time we go to York I hope the Sycamore has vacancies as it will be our automatic choice.

Reviewed by
D Findlay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good location
Friendly, helpful and very clean. Location is ideal-if you visit by train check out the shortcut through the short stay car park

Reviewed by
Sue L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, friendly owners and great food. Room a little dusty in places but other than that clean.

Reviewed by
T W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel friendly food good

Reviewed by
a rodgers

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly b&b
Everything you could ask for , good food , very clean , friendly helpful staff with tips on where to go , I would recommend and return .

Reviewed by
I McCool

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and comfort
We enjoyed our stay - lovely welcome and comfortable twin room - compact clean en-suite was all we needed - lovely clean sheets and we slpet well!! quality breakfast and perfect hosting - nothing was too much trouble - we would definately recommend this b & b with it's period decor and comfort!!

Reviewed by
k stannard

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sycamore guesthouse
Fantastic hosts who looked after us and made us feel nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
jeremy a

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next