No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sycamore Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
19 SYCAMORE PLACE BOOTHAM, YORK, YO30 7DW
An elegant Edwardian Town house. Built as a 'gentleman's residence' in a quiet cul-de-sac in1904, it is full of character in keeping with its over 100 year history.

The owners are proud of the friendly, warm atmosphere
cultivated to welcome every visitor as a personal guest.

It is a just 5-minute walk, through the lovely Museum Gardens, to the Minster and city centre. The York B&B is a 10 minutes' walk, or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England.
The guest house also offers free wi-fi.
Guaranteed on-street parking opposite.

" No Smoking Establishment"

Facilities Include:

Guaranteed on-street parking (opposite) at two pounds per day.
5 Minute
Walk from City Centre.
Access to Rooms at All Times
Choice of en-suite Double, Twin, Family or single room plus one with external private facilities.

Picture of The Sycamore Guest House, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VG B&B!!
Stayed a couple of nights at the Sycamores, having found it on LateRooms. What a lucky find that was! Ok, parking is a little bit of a pain, but it's worth it! The welcome, the accommodation, the breakfast (the breakfast!!) all excellent, the hosts as friendly as you like, all in all, excellent. Not going to spread the word though, or I'll never get booked in again.....keep it quiet......

Reviewed by
Stuart Selkirk

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again
The room itself meets all your basic needs, good value for money. However it was the BnB owners that really made our stay special... Warm and ever so friendly couple, made us feel very welcome. Its the little details that make the difference, we will always remember the Star shaped toast in the our breakfast. Put a smile on our face.

Reviewed by
Vicki H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and terrible shower
We stayed here for one night after finding a 'deal' on a website. I thought the price was far too much for the quality of the room- the en suite was tiny with no basin, when you say on the toilet your face touched the door, and the shower flitted between scorching hot and freezing cold, making it impossible to shower at all- all whilst putting up with the whirring of the electric toilet.
The owners were, however, very pleasant and friendly. I would have liked to have been informed about the parking charge before arrival though, and I thought the charge for paying by debit card was ridiculous and not justified at all.

Reviewed by
Emily M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very Good
we enjoyed our stay friendly hosts very good breakfast

Reviewed by
paul cowking

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sycamore Guest House
Nice hostess, welcoming and pleasant

Reviewed by
Lynne T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking Sycamore
Had a wonderful stay at Sycamore Guest House. Elizabeth and Spyros were both very friendly and helpful. Accommodation is just a few minutes walk from centre of York, through the lovely Museum Gardens. Area is quiet with no noise keeping you awake at night. Room was a good size, clean and with a very comfortable bed. Towels were changed each day and bedroom tidied up. Breakfast was well prepared and there was plenty to eat. Next time we go to York I hope the Sycamore has vacancies as it will be our automatic choice.

Reviewed by
D Findlay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good location
Friendly, helpful and very clean. Location is ideal-if you visit by train check out the shortcut through the short stay car park

Reviewed by
Sue L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, friendly owners and great food. Room a little dusty in places but other than that clean.

Reviewed by
T W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel friendly food good

Reviewed by
a rodgers

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly b&b
Everything you could ask for , good food , very clean , friendly helpful staff with tips on where to go , I would recommend and return .

Reviewed by
I McCool

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next