No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Belfry

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lichfield Road,Wishaw , Sutton Coldfield, nr Birmingham , B76 9PR
Following a £26 million major refurbishment, The NEW Belfry really is the perfect retreat whether it's to escape, meet or play. Nestled in 550 acres of stunning North Warwickshire countryside, it's ideally located in the heart of England, just minutes away from major motorway networks, Birmingham International station, Birmingham airport and 20 minutes from the city centre.

With 319 bedrooms, the resort offers a range of accommodation from the new signature rooms to the new Manor House suites. Not only are they stylish and tastefully decorated, they offer all those little luxuries you would expect when you’re away from home including stunning golf views, a patio or balcony in selected rooms.

With a choice of four dining options, there's something to suit all tastes, from elegant dining in The Ryder Grill, light bites or afternoon tea in the Brabazon Bar, healthy options in the Leisure Café to the vibrant Club House, Sam’s, with a choice of menus and all the latest live sporting action.

The world's favourite coffee shop can now be found at The Belfry serving the finest coffees, cakes and snacks in that unique Starbucks style. If you're on the move, in a hurry or just fancy a Starbucks, the 'Grab and Go' means exactly that, grab a coffee at any time of the day and then just go...

For golfers no visit would be complete without a round of golf, with three 18 hole courses including the world-famous Brabazon there's a course to suit all abilities A visit to The Belfry Club is a must, relax, unwind and enjoy the extensive leisure facilities and indulgent spa, including the unique 'Fire and Ice' experience. If you’re looking for something a little more lively, Bel Air nightclub situated in the hotel grounds offers a fun and unique club atmosphere.

Please note: Bel Air nightclub is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights ONLY
Picture of The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield, nr Birmingham  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Had fantastic rooms on the ground floor overlooking the 1st tee. The quality of the hotel and the makeover it has had is amazing, totally gorgeous.
The only small issue was the queue for breakfast buffet in the morning meaning it was a bit on the cold side once you sat down to eat it.

Reviewed by
Jo-anne Green

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Night with Mr B
The Belfry was everything I had wanted it to be and more, the setting was fantastic, gardens beautiful and secluded. The room was great value for money and had a fabulous view of the garden. We ate in the restaurant, chosing Chataux Briand for two and can only describe it as delicious, probably the best meal we have eaten. The only slight criticism would be we had to ask for bread, as opposed to it being offered. We used the spa facilities before breakfast and found them well equipped and well laid out n. Breakfast was slightly disappointing but probably only due to the fact everything else had been fabulous. We would certainly recommend to anyone looking at this type of break and intend to stay again ourselves soon.

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too hot
no air con far to hot in room told check out did not care or respond

Reviewed by
M Brown

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation Day at Aston Uni
Standard Rooms quite small. Very Tidy.
Busy day for Wedding guests and events etc so service at Reception very Slow.
Room Service also very slow after the phone was eventually picked up.
Room unbearably hot due to lack of A.C. (Exceptional temps for UK though).
Spa was excellent although Sauna under repair.
Breakfast was a disaster for nearly all of those arriving after 9.00a.m. Just one chef working on eggs, omeletes, pancakes, etc. and therefore service was very slow. She was highly stressed by impatient guests and this was visible to all. It shouldn't be the main topic of conversation.
The hot food availability was incomplete, there were no sausages immediately available, no mushrooms for 10 minutes and no tomatoes for another 5 minutes after that. The bacon, sausages and eggs were nearly cold before these finally arrived. Every person in the vicinity who was waiting were irritated and there appeared to be nobody in charge who could help. The delays caused unavoidable blocking of other guests trying to access the hot food bar.
Also no orange juice until after the coffee arrived, a bad start to the day.
Although the restaurant food was fine in the evening, the service again was very slow due to shortage of staff.
My previous visit and accomodation was in contrast to this and that is why I returned. I very rarely criticise hotels or staff as I know it can be a thankless task dealing with difficult guests and I don't want to be associated with them. However I do believe the Hotel Management need to examine their staffing levels, it could be something simple such as they were all granted leave for the start of the school holidays.

Reviewed by
J McCaffrey

From Beckermet, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the relaxing break we were expecting
While debating whether to stay in a central Birmingham hotel or the Belfry we chose the later so we could have a relaxing break. The Belfry has just undergone a massive refurbishment and was evident from the momebt you stepped into the grand reception. .however the room we had over the main entrance was so noisy we heard everyone head to the onsite nightclub between 10-12 and certainly heard them head back between 1-4. Eventually when the hen party went to sleep at 5am we then managed to get some peace and quiet. Very disappointing.
Wouldn't stay again but would come for a drink/golf/spa.

Reviewed by
Kelly B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay prior to golf pro exams.
The Belfrey is world famous, and a top venue for golf and guest accommodation.

Reviewed by
J Bisby

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chargeable WiFi!!
£175 for a nights stay with no free internet. I don't see me staying here again.

Reviewed by
M Turner

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Information
I felt that on arrival we wasn't given all the information about what we could access at The Belfry, receptionist never mentioned that we had free access to the gym and pool area, we had to go back to reception to ask. Plus I feel that the receptionist need to just slow down abit with any information that they are passing onto you, I relaise they must go through the spiel a hundred times but are failing to take on aboard that the person who comes through that door is possibily their first visit. But overall a very pleasant stay was had by myself and my daughter. Thank you

Reviewed by
M Sanderson

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation. recently refurbished room .Breakfast very good.Unfortunately not enough time to enjoy fitness facilities & pool area.

Reviewed by
GILLIAN D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame stuck in the out buildings!
Came with my girlfriends for our annual get together, Spa was lovely, food was good, but accommodation left something to be desired.
We were a group of five women stuck in to separate pods, with rooms not even next to each other, walking to dinner involved walking across a wet car park.
The rooms were freezing, and in need of a refurbish with shabby bathrooms, I rang for a hairdryer as there was not one in room, but did not realize until out of the shower as there is a drawer that says hairdryer in the room!
the hairdryer had not arrived half an hour later, when my hair was pretty much dry, so I decided to go meet my friends!
For the money I want a nice newly decorated room in the main building, as advertised at the desk when go pay!

Reviewed by
Katie R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next