No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

40C Street, Deira, Dubai, 33214
Centrally located in the pulsating downtown area of Deira, the Metropolitan Deira Hotel is a 5 minutes drive to the Dubai International Airport and is within walking distance to Al Riga metro station, Dubai Creek, the famous Dubai Clock Tower and the lively Al Rigga Street.

This four-star hotel features a total of 135 guest rooms and suites. All accommodation is spacious, neatly decorated and well-furnished.

The Metropolitan offers the guest a choice of 4 food and beverage outlets, with the main restaurant serving international buffets.

Al Riqqa Restaurant is a cozy restaurant that offers both, an international buffet with a good range of starters, salads, main courses and desserts, plus an á-la-carte menu. It is an ideal place for a quick bite or a lingering meal, located on the mezzanine floor of the hotel.

The Dublin Arms is the oldest and the most famous Irish pub in the city, an ideal place to relax with friends and colleagues.

Royalton Lounge is the ideal place to relax, and offers a variety of snacks, French pastries, coffee, tea & various other beverages.

Leisure guests at the hotel can make use of the on-site gymnasium and rooftop swimming pool, which offers fine views over Dubai. There is also a complimentary shuttle service to the beach, where guests can use the facilities of the hotel’s sister property for a small fee.

The Metropolitan Deira Hotel is located a short distance from the World Trade Centre and Exhibition Halls. Heritage Village, Mina Bazaar and the famous Gold Souk are a 5-minute drive away.
Picture of Metropolitan Deira Hotel, Dubai at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travel Guide Outstanding Service
Your travel agent at hotel made my birthday special by setting up fishing trip on my birthday and was able to get me additional two hours extra fishing at no charge, please keep him on your staff he is a big asset to your hotel team. Your staff at the front desk were very friendly & house keeping
as well big thanks to everyone on my stay at Metropolitan Deira Hotel. Hope to see you guys real soon!

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Lee, I'm very delighted to read your review. It's nice to learn that on your birthday you have choosen to stay with us and we are all happy that we were able to make your special day a wonderfull experience. All your kind comments are greatly appreciated and please let me thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the services provided by our tour desk, front office and housekeeping staff. I will certainly share this with them and to the rest of the team. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Khalid Saeed, General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

Reviewed by
Lee Geist

From x, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When in Dubai stay at the Metropolitan
I have stayed at the Metropolitan over many years and the service and piece & quiet is fantastic, staff always offering assistance and a great place to call your second home while travelling through Dubai

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Ronald, Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visits here in Dubai. I'm very please to read your comment "a great place to call your second home while travelling thorugh Dubai". It is such a great compliment for us to have made you feel that way during your visits. I look forward to meet you in person in your next visit to welcome you back in your second Home, Metropolitan Deira Hotel. Best Regards, Khalid Saeed General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

Reviewed by
ronald d

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good compromise when it is a late rooms booking

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Olivier, Thank you for review, we truly appreciate the time you have taken to leave us your comment. We look forward to your next visit at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel, in the near future. Best Regards, Khalid Saeed General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

Reviewed by
Olivier LE THIEC

From CARRIERES SUR SEINE, France
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel good! Only problem had to pay again because I had to change dates.
The hotel its self is good, but you have a feeling that everything is all about money, and not quality of service.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Grindrod, Thank you staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel! We truly appreciate your favorable comment that the hotel is good. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that we are not focused on the quality of service but let me assure you that it is always been our main goal to provide our guest with good quality customer service. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit in the near future. Best Regards, Khalid Saeed General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

Reviewed by
B Grindrod

From La Nucia, Spain
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay away from this so called hotel
The hotel is absolutely rubbish.
I booked 3 rooms for 6 persons and all of them were rubbish specially the smelly bathrooms
And the bar noise with all the hookers coming in and out of the hotel.
I would highly recommed you guys to stay away from this filthy hotel.

Reviewed by
Mohammed A

From Saudi Arabia
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was excellent it was a pity that the staff let the place down. Very unfreindly staff could do with some training on how to treat paying guests.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Peter Dowdy, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to give us your valuable comments. I have taken serious note of your comments concerning our services, which you found to be less than satisfactory. You can be assured that we will be acting upon to rectify our shortcomings as constructive comments such as yours help us improve our standard of guest services. On behalf of the Management and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropolitan Hotel-Dubai in the near future. Best Regards, Khalid Saeed General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel

Reviewed by
Peter Dowdy

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 4* hotel, by any stretch of anyone's imagination
Having stayed in Dubai a few times before, we thought that we may have found a really good deal with this hotel, as it is advertised as 4* accommodation.
Our expectations and the reality were, sadly, poles apart.
Check in was slow. We were asked if we would prefer a smoking or non-smoking room. After stating our preference of a non-smoking room, we there then immediately directed to a smoking room. When we phoned reception they initially said that there weren't any non-smoking rooms available (so why gave us the choice, just 2 minutes before?!). They then offered the chance to upgrade, for a substantially higher rate. After declining this, they remembered that a non-smoking room was available on the 5th floor.
The second room was okay, although the patio doors didn't completely seal, so the noise of the traffic from the road directly below was quite loud for the duration of our stay. We also discovered that the mini-bar fridge wasn't working, although this was replaced by the evening.
The bathroom was average. There was a sample-sized bottle of shampoo and shower gel, but no hair conditioner, and the body lotion had already been opened, with a little already used. The towels were well-worn, practically grey, and didn't smell particularly nice. I'm sure they had been washed, but they were so old and well-used, that they no longer sprang back to freshness after being washed.
Other amenities in this 4* establishment included a gym and a bar. The gym was tiny, containing no more than 5 machines. The bar was small, unwelcoming, and the beer tasted awful.
Wifi in the hotel is not complimentary. It equates to £10 per day, per device. We had some trouble accessing some sites and checked the Internet speed....... It was half a megabyte.
Upon checking out, after our stay, the desk staff were again extremely slow. It took us about 15 minutes just to hand back our key cards, sign the invoice, and obtain our receipt.
We would definitely NOT stay at this hotel again, and would not recommend it to others. Our advice would be to spend £20 more per night, and stay somewhere far nicer.

ManagementResponse

Dear N. Bretten, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to give us your valuable comments. We truly appreciate the points that you have raised. It is forwarded to the concerned department and being look at now. You can be assured that we will be acting upon to rectify our shortcomings as constructive comments such as yours help us improve our standard of guest services. On behalf of the Management and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropolitan Hotel-Dubai in the near future. Thank you, Metropolitan Deira Management

Reviewed by
N Bretten

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just about OK
I stayed in the hotel because if the price and location to the airport. I had hoped it would be closer to central Dubai and its other attractions but it was not. The room was quite large and clean, bathroom very old. Wireless Internet access was not included, and while hotel offered a shuttle to the airport it was clear they did not want to run it charging 50 AED to the airport where taxi is only 20AED. The Italian restaurant was quite nice. For the price it was OK but I am sure there are better places at about the same price level.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr D McKain, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to give us your valuable comments. We are happy to hear your comments about the room was quite large and clean and the Italian Restaurant quite nice. This we're shared to our staff who's very happy to know that we we're able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The Al Riqa Metro Station is walking distance from the hotel which makes it easier and accessible for guest to move around the Dubai area. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Metropolitan Deira Hotel. Thank you, Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Reviewed by
D McKain

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service
poor servcie at this hotel, breakfast very poor service as they staff dont seem to know what they are doing.

Reviewed by
D ATWILL

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very good
Place was clean and staff were nice

Reviewed by
paul levenston

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next