No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 189 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for what it is!
The room I had was a little cramped, the carpet was knackered and there was some mould on the walls. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and there was a faint smell of vomit coming from near the sink area in the bathroom. Having said all that, I paid £22 for this room and it could've been a lot worse. The location is good as it's less than 15 miles from Alton Towers, and opposite a train station. It's great for somewhere to crash for the night, not ideal if you're staying for a few nights though, I would advise spending a little more money, but at the end of the day, for the price you pay for the room, you can't go wrong. Staff seem friendly, I didn't stay for dinner or breakfast so cannot comment on the food. I would be happy to stay again for a night in the future if I had to

Reviewed by
Parminder Ryatt

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and clean
Although recently under new management, the accommodation was value for money and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The new management clearly have a lot of work to do to bring the lovely old building up to spec but this did not detract from the good night's sleep which was much needed.

Reviewed by
Pauline S

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
If you're expecting The Ritz, head to London.
When I pulled into the car park, I realised that I had stayed at this hotel before a couple of years ago.
The staff were friendly, jovial and attentive. Although the hotel has a 'lived in' feel, everything was extremely clean, the room spacious and warm and the bed was comfortable and the breakfast couldn't be faulted.
What more could one want for a budget B&B ??
David S. Kent

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly hotel
This nice, friendly , warm clean hotel was great value for money. I will definitely use this again and I am happy to recommend it.

Reviewed by
mark boulton

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

budget hotel under new management
This is very much a budget hotel and the new management will presumably be updating the bed rooms in the future. Having said that, the beds are surprisingly comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms well supplied with hot water. There are also tea and coffee making facilities and digital TV in the rooms. WIFI is available downstairs. The public rooms display many original features e.g. ornate plasterwork, and copper covered bar counter and are nicely decorated.
Where this hotel really scores is in it's staff who are both helpful and compassionate. Our car broke down whilst we were there and the staff member on duty not only did what she could to assist us, but seeing our distress and fatigue, offered us a drink and refused payment. On our last night, the hotel was hosting a function so other meals were not being served, but realizing that we were very tired, the member of staff on duty offered to cook for us, producing an excellent serving of lasagne at short notice.
For these reasons we would use this hotel again when next we come to Stoke-on-Trent.

Reviewed by
Barbara D

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Television broken (volume stuck on max). Light above bed not working only 1 light in room. Bed very uncomfortable. No hangers in wardrobe. Very thin blanket and cover on bed. Door wouldn't lock. Only paid a small amount for room and you certainly get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
C Pearce

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms/staff
As the owners have only acquired the hotel for a month I think it would be inappropriate to comment on the rooms as they have not had a lot of time to upgrade/renovate them. I believe that they will eventually get the standard they want and the hotel will become a hotel that has where people will be glad to return to. The staff were polite, very professional and knowledgeable, the receptionist could not do enough when asked where a certain place was, she went out of her way to get directions. The housemaids were very helpful and when asked for items for the room they went out of their way to assist,

Reviewed by
Allan Sheen

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No better than a hostel
This place was the most run down and horrible place I've ever stayed. But the worst part was that I couldn't even get a good nights sleep as the mattress was completely shot and it felt like I was sleeping on bare springs to the extent that I was scraping myself on them any time I turned over!

Reviewed by
K Robinson

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
If this is just a stop off then it is well worth the stay. Yes the whole place could do with a refresh but for what your paying you can't go wrong. It has a clean room with a squeaky bed and the shower did not work properly but overall would stay again if this was just a stop off

Reviewed by
ravi b

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerless
If you like architecture and history this building is for you. Beautiful bilding from yesteryear and no doubt full of memories. Unfortunately doesn't look like it has been updated or invested in since yesteryear. Rooms basic. Shower room miniscule. Cleanliness - no comment. Went down for breakfast in the morning and nobody had turned up to make breakfast so the night porter (who was very nice) had to turn us all away. A useful hotel for a stopover point but nothing more. Evening dinner cooked by a new cook - that was delicious and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next