You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown and Anchor


545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 49.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (54)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kasim A

  • October 2016

Crown and Anchor

Cheap and cheerful, staff friendly, room a bit basic but did what I needed it to.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • elizabeth mcarthur

  • October 2016

Crown and Anchor

Good food and good sleep will be going back.

  • Jason C

  • October 2016

C&A Stoke

It is what it is, a place to put your head down after a day's work, the staff are friendly enough, the room is clean, but the building is old and need of an overhaul.

At the end of the day, for the price, it was ok.

  • Chris M

  • October 2016

Never been in anything this bad.

This must be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The room was dirty and dimly lit. The decor was extremely dated and the bed uncomfortable. It was also very warm and noisy so I got hardly any sleep. Breakfast in the morning was served in a dirty dining room and they couldn't even get my order right even though we were the only people eating. I would never stay here and would advise others not to go near this place or any others owned by the same lot.

  • Timothy Hallam

  • September 2016


Used card details to pay for the room before arrival date.

Very poor standard

Charged extra for breakfast

  • p Moorcroft

  • September 2016

Crown and Anchor

Very very basic...

but that's what you pay for.

  • L Bentley

  • August 2016

Very poor

My original room was given to someone else.

No television. Springs poking through mattress. Holes in the wall in the bathroom. Trickly shower. Didn't return for our second night.

  • Richard Emra

  • July 2016

My stay at the Crown and Anchor

If you are looking for caviar and butler service then go elsewhere.

However, if all you want is a good night's sleep then 'the Crown and Anchor' in Longton does the job. The hotel is also only five minutes from the local train and bus interchange and also a big shopping centre.

  • Thomas A

  • July 2016

“This place is the arm-pit of hell”

This establishment must be the WORST hotel in Europe.

I say Europe because only the original Bates Motel (Psycho) would be inferior in quality, condition or desirability. There was dirty linen on the bed – stains on the pillows and sheets. The unwashed bath came with flotsam that appeared to be the creation of a ‘productive cough.’ There was a split along the side-panel of the bath, and the sink had no means to prevent something entering the untold mess that lay in wait. The bed was so old and uncomfortable, springs dug in to one irrespective of how one laid. Towels smelled so bad – they appeared to have been left unwashed and simply dried and folded. The view out of the window was beyond belief (see photo) Floor boards creaked alarmingly. To watch the very old TV one had to re-fit all cables, and lodge the aerial cable in its socket with great care and hope it did not fall out. The bed was placed very close to the wall (see photo) and there appeared to be mouse droppings on a shelf that ran beside the bed. The un-vacuumed carpet presented with a burn in it. We attended our room late at night and failed to see the state it was in until morning broke. Despite paying in advance for two nights, we booked out a day early. The receptionist seemed less than surprised on our leaving – it was a common event. Do not visit – sleep in your car, or spend a day bathing to rid yourself of the itch and smell imparted.

  • Kylie T

  • June 2016

Should have paid us to stay, never again. Disgusting dirty rooms, damp, health and safety issue fire

Checked in looked okay, nice lady on the counter, only nice things I can really say.

First room damp celling, filthy bathroom, broken telly, stain on single bed for my daughter generally disgusting. Complained and moved into another disgusting room, not even legal as no smoke alarm on celling, again dirty bathroom stained shower curtain etc at the least the bed linen was clean. If it hadn't had been so late and my daughter was tired I would have asked for a refund and checked out. Lucky for us it was only one night in a hell hole, avoid at all costs, may be cheap but you at least expect it to be clean and up to health and safety standards. My advice do not stay with your family here