You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

2

545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 53.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (61)

41% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Bentley

  • August 2016

Very poor

My original room was given to someone else.

No television. Springs poking through mattress. Holes in the wall in the bathroom. Trickly shower. Didn't return for our second night.

  • Richard Emra

  • July 2016

My stay at the Crown and Anchor

If you are looking for caviar and butler service then go elsewhere.

However, if all you want is a good night's sleep then 'the Crown and Anchor' in Longton does the job. The hotel is also only five minutes from the local train and bus interchange and also a big shopping centre.

  • Thomas A

  • July 2016

“This place is the arm-pit of hell”

This establishment must be the WORST hotel in Europe.

I say Europe because only the original Bates Motel (Psycho) would be inferior in quality, condition or desirability. There was dirty linen on the bed – stains on the pillows and sheets. The unwashed bath came with flotsam that appeared to be the creation of a ‘productive cough.’ There was a split along the side-panel of the bath, and the sink had no means to prevent something entering the untold mess that lay in wait. The bed was so old and uncomfortable, springs dug in to one irrespective of how one laid. Towels smelled so bad – they appeared to have been left unwashed and simply dried and folded. The view out of the window was beyond belief (see photo) Floor boards creaked alarmingly. To watch the very old TV one had to re-fit all cables, and lodge the aerial cable in its socket with great care and hope it did not fall out. The bed was placed very close to the wall (see photo) and there appeared to be mouse droppings on a shelf that ran beside the bed. The un-vacuumed carpet presented with a burn in it. We attended our room late at night and failed to see the state it was in until morning broke. Despite paying in advance for two nights, we booked out a day early. The receptionist seemed less than surprised on our leaving – it was a common event. Do not visit – sleep in your car, or spend a day bathing to rid yourself of the itch and smell imparted.

  • Kylie T

  • June 2016

Should have paid us to stay, never again. Disgusting dirty rooms, damp, health and safety issue fire

Checked in looked okay, nice lady on the counter, only nice things I can really say.

First room damp celling, filthy bathroom, broken telly, stain on single bed for my daughter generally disgusting. Complained and moved into another disgusting room, not even legal as no smoke alarm on celling, again dirty bathroom stained shower curtain etc at the least the bed linen was clean. If it hadn't had been so late and my daughter was tired I would have asked for a refund and checked out. Lucky for us it was only one night in a hell hole, avoid at all costs, may be cheap but you at least expect it to be clean and up to health and safety standards. My advice do not stay with your family here

  • andrew boomer

  • June 2016

improving

a hotel that has greatly improved since the last time I was there but should be treated as a value hotel and is not perfect

  • M Wilson

  • April 2016

A good stay

We were very pleased with our two nights.

Room was nice and breakfast was lovely.

  • Stefan P

  • April 2016

Short stay

The room was small and tidy but ot looked like it was last updated in the 90's except for the TV.

  • Joshua H

  • April 2016

Great stay

Very good stay, good stop off point for Alton Towers and is value for money.

Great breakfast and the room was good but no spoons for stiring the tea/coffee. Overall very good stay.

  • V Bawden

  • January 2016

Crown and Anchor

Very nice room, bargain price but you get what you pay for, not overly modern but for sleeping in was perfect, would definitely use it again

  • L Evans

  • October 2015

cheap and cheerful

There have been a lot of negative reviews about this place but I must say that although the place looks like its best days have past, the bed and bathroom were clean and the staff were very friendly.

There was no internet in the room, but this is what was advertised and there is internet in the bar. I think for the money I paid for the room I have absolutely no complaints and would stay there again. If you are wanting somewhere which looks new and shiny, this is not the place for you. But if you want somewhere to put your head down which is cheap, clean and friendly then I would recommend staying here.