Reviews - Crown and Anchor


545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 62.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (126)

37% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • H Mcmichael

  • August 2015

Crown and Anchor

Great for local amenities room spotless staff could not be more helpful.

  • Andrew H

  • August 2015


Was greeted by lovely hotel staff but then was let down by the standards of the hotel.

Old and run down, in need of some real TLC.

  • Katie S

  • August 2015

Crown and Anchor

Bathroom light didn't work and the bath obviously hadn't been cleaned as it was full of used hair removal cream, the bed was 100% springs and very uncomfortable and didn't smell too pleasant and when we went to put a blanket over the top to make it more comfortable we found it to be smelly and stained, a very poor quality room and I don't consider myself to be a fussy person when it comes to accommodation.

Couldn't get out of there quick enough but the staff were very friendly.

  • C Davis

  • July 2015


We didn't stay for breakfast !.

There was a hole in the wall. The bathroom was disgusting !. bath dirty and mouldy. toilet was full of stale pee that stank the room out . The ceiling was damp and looked as though it was going to fall down!. On the pillow was another persons pjs.

Too scared to say anything as the disclaimer by the reception stated that any injuries sustained in the hotel or in the car park the hotel was not responsible for!. also rats in car park !!. Never ever go to this place!

  • L Martin

  • July 2015

Very poor

The room was dirty, the mattress was unsleepable, had to put duvet on top to be able to sleep on.

The bed was in fact broken at the bottom, headboard too short for the bed. Cups were dirty, did not chance a drink. The room needs a good clean and hoover. I would not stay here again

  • s sullivan

  • June 2015

lovely staff

The staff were absolutely lovely but the first room we were put in was shabby, holes in the towels, loads of hair in the bath and broken springs in the bed.

Complained and was put into a new refurbished room. If we were put in the new room first, there would be no complaints but would definitely not stay there again because the first room was so bad, I wouldnt risk a similar thing happening and really didnt want to be there at all. Staff were absolutely lovely tho

  • Jake B

  • June 2015



  • A Wright

  • May 2015

The hotel from the outside looked very shabby old and run down, wasn't looking forward to my stay at all, got inside to the lobby it looked better, clean almost professional, till my girlfriend and I got to the shockingly bad, battered old doors, I actually fixed their windows for them whilst on my stay, floor was sloped, bed was basically snapped in the middle, then late evening to my surprise I see a mouse/rat run across the room and disappear under the bed, I wouldn't stay here again it was that bad


  • May 2015

Old hotel but new managment

Both rooms were clean and suitable for our needs.

The double bed in the large room sunk badly in the middle but all the others were fine. The breakfast was on the small side but the gentleman serving was cheerful and helpful. All the staff were nice which made it a very pleasant stay. The hotel is old but the new management are trying to update it and revamp the rooms as quickly as possible.

  • Luke Higgins

  • April 2015

Decent enough value, ideal for Football fans

I've stopped here on numerous occasions now as it is convenient for me to get to the Britannia Stadium on matchdays being situation only a few miles away from the stadium.

Overall, I would say it ticks the boxes in terms of what you can expect for around £20 per night. Cleanliness is always the most important factor for me I have to say I have never had an issue in that regard in all the times I've stopped here. The rooms and have always been clean and there is always plenty of towels provided which is good. I've always found as well that when I've been out for the day and returned back to the hotel at night, my bed was always been made with clean sheets and my bin has always been emptied and tea and coffee supplies refilled etc. There is only two real issues I have from my most rest stay - The sound of music playing from another room as early as 7am which must've woke a number of residents up. And the other issue which concerned me the most was the lack of a door handle on the door to my room. I found that when I wanted to leave my room, I had no other way of closing the door other than slamming it shut and getting out before it closed. This isn't practical and it something that needs to be addressed. Apart from that a decent stay and I will be returning again in the future.