You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

2

545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 52.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (86)

35% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kylie T

  • June 2016

Should have paid us to stay, never again. Disgusting dirty rooms, damp, health and safety issue fire

Checked in looked okay, nice lady on the counter, only nice things I can really say.

First room damp celling, filthy bathroom, broken telly, stain on single bed for my daughter generally disgusting. Complained and moved into another disgusting room, not even legal as no smoke alarm on celling, again dirty bathroom stained shower curtain etc at the least the bed linen was clean. If it hadn't had been so late and my daughter was tired I would have asked for a refund and checked out. Lucky for us it was only one night in a hell hole, avoid at all costs, may be cheap but you at least expect it to be clean and up to health and safety standards. My advice do not stay with your family here

  • andrew boomer

  • June 2016

improving

a hotel that has greatly improved since the last time I was there but should be treated as a value hotel and is not perfect

  • M Wilson

  • April 2016

A good stay

We were very pleased with our two nights.

Room was nice and breakfast was lovely.

  • Stefan P

  • April 2016

Short stay

The room was small and tidy but ot looked like it was last updated in the 90's except for the TV.

  • Joshua H

  • April 2016

Great stay

Very good stay, good stop off point for Alton Towers and is value for money.

Great breakfast and the room was good but no spoons for stiring the tea/coffee. Overall very good stay.

  • V Bawden

  • January 2016

Crown and Anchor

Very nice room, bargain price but you get what you pay for, not overly modern but for sleeping in was perfect, would definitely use it again

  • L Evans

  • October 2015

cheap and cheerful

There have been a lot of negative reviews about this place but I must say that although the place looks like its best days have past, the bed and bathroom were clean and the staff were very friendly.

There was no internet in the room, but this is what was advertised and there is internet in the bar. I think for the money I paid for the room I have absolutely no complaints and would stay there again. If you are wanting somewhere which looks new and shiny, this is not the place for you. But if you want somewhere to put your head down which is cheap, clean and friendly then I would recommend staying here.

  • F Nicholson

  • October 2015

Refurbished room- masses of potential. Poor execution.

I have stayed at the Crown and Anchor on a few occasions.

It's a cheap and cheerful, no frills hotel for when you just need somewhere to sleep. On my most recent trip we had booked to stay in a regular twin but on arrival there were issues with room keys and so we were upgraded to a newly refurbished super kingsize room.

We arrived around 5pm and were met at reception by a very cheery lady who took our information and handed us our key. However when we got to the room, the key didn't work. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation and the room locks are being changed as part of that. We popped back down to reception for help which was gladly provided. After the failed attempt by the staff to manipulate the lock into opening, they offered us another room.

The hotel was fully booked and so they offered us one of their newly refurbished rooms which should have cost £160 in place of our £40 a night twin. The bedding was still in the tumble dryer and so we sat in the bar until the room was ready. After a short wait we were shown up to our room. The room itself was lovely and spacious, modernly decorated and a world away from the rooms I have previously stayed in at the Crown. However, on closer inspection we were left disheartened at the cleanliness of the room. It was a real let down. I know the staff were in a bit of a pickle when our room wouldn't open but it seems all they did to make the other room ready for us was to change the bed. The bathroom was filthy, had visible dirt on the toilet, had the previous guests empty shower gel bottle in the shower, had a mouldy shower curtain and the light above the sink did not work. There were no toiletries apart from one solitary bar of soap (one would expect shampoo at least when paying £160 a night). The poor cleanliness was not limited to the bathroom; the bathroom door was covered in dirty marks which easily wiped off, the headboard of the bed was covered in dust, the hangers in the wardrobe were all lying in the bottom, the kettle was full of old water, and the remote control for the television was bordering on health hazard. It was covered in food and dirt.

Whilst I appreciate that we were staying in a £160 room when we only paid £40, I would always expect a room to be clean. I did try to take the opportunity to go down and talk to the gentleman manning reception however he was inundated. He was on the phone, trying to serve customers at the bar and there was a second phone ringing beside him. I felt really bad for him and had I not been so exhausted (for we had been up and travelling for over 36 hours) I would have demanded to be moved rooms. Not wishing to cause him any more issues I just ordered a drink and retreated back to the room without saying anything. It's a real shame that the standard of cleanliness was so poor as the room was otherwise beautiful. If all if the rooms were if a similar standard I could really see the potential for the hotel to do well.

  • H Mcmichael

  • August 2015

Crown and Anchor

Great for local amenities room spotless staff could not be more helpful.

  • Andrew H

  • August 2015

Poor

Was greeted by lovely hotel staff but then was let down by the standards of the hotel.

Old and run down, in need of some real TLC.