No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
My family and I stayed there for one night during visit to Alton Towers. I expected a lot worse after reading previous reviews, but it turned out to be fairly pleasant stay. Great customer service. Rooms need doing up, but it' was not that bad as I thought it would be

Reviewed by
AGNIESZKA R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible place
Dirty hotel. Dirty room. Do not stay there!!

Reviewed by
J Goodyear

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
We had a "non smoking" tar stained room that stunk of old settled in smoke that resembled a cheap dingy charity shop with non fitting carpets that just didn't feel clean, we chose not to stay as it was not at all what we expected there is a difference between value for money and cheap poor accomodation, the "hotel" room was more like a homeless hostel.

Reviewed by
James D

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bygone era
After entering the post apocalyptic area known as Longton I then found myself thrust through the portal that led me to "Hotel 1970's". I shan't wax lyrical of the décor and a bar that was threadbare of any real choice, or my key tag that was held together by sellotape and I won't even bemoan the poor young lady whose unfortunate endeavour was to have to work in such a place. I will however attempt to describe the horror of entering my room, whose number I have chosen to dislodge from my somewhat disturbed memory. Was it the cigarette burn on the... Errmm.. Well what was it? A duvet? A sheet? An amalgamation of both making it a shuvet, or a deet?? Regardless to say it was as worn as a tramps vest and as if the cigarette burn wasn't enough then the paint on the edges almost had me thinking it was neither a duvet or a sheet but a painters dust sheet, somehow mistaken for an item of bedding? And that's just the bed which I had to sleep in. The extensive scribbling's on the wallpaper that had been put up by Blind Pew himself. All this along with the grubby, bordering on mouldy shower curtain certainly brought on the distant memories of travels that I once enjoyed in underdeveloped South East Asian countries.... Twenty years ago!! I was all but waiting for Philip Glenister to come and fetch me in his Ford Cortina to collar a couple of local scumbags. It's safe to say that not normally indulging in such activities as writing reviews, In this particular instance the memory has not been scratched in the sand only to be washed away by the incoming tide, but permanently etched in the bedrock of my brain. I can only recommend that whoever it was/is that inspects such places and passes them should maybe spend the night there and wearing a stronger pair of spectacles.

Reviewed by
s bain

From Brodick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly Fantastic
August 2014 family trip to Alton Towers. Top floor rooms excellent facilities, standard, 24hr service We will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Kasim S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds very uncomfortable springs coming through mattress , lights not working in room on arrival reported and one light bulb replaced in room 206. Hotel needs serious make over !!! Staff agreed at reception .

Reviewed by
Debbie S

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds were awful, my sister had bed bugs in her bed, be careful with giving your card details. Had no hot water in my room. Strange transaction started showing up on my card statement. This was a brand new card which I used only at that hotel.
The night shift manager on duty was helpful.

Reviewed by
A Miah

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will never stay there again as it happens we did not stay
Room was rubbish as I went with my son we set off from home at 6.00 am wentvto alton towers for the day thought we'd stay and travel back home in the morning that was until we saw the room big damp patch in the bathroo m as well as mould round the bath the double bed had all the springs coming through the mattress, the single bed was as hard as wood so nither were able to be slept in, as for the room unexplained white marks on the carpet kettle had been stained for god knows how long one of the lamps had been put on top of an energy saving bulb not fixed also there was a burn hole in it . All in all there was no way of us staying at this place so I drove all the way back home which by the way wasa 400 mile round trip I got back to my house at 3.30am with means that I had been awake nearly 24 hours not happy withbthis place at all

Reviewed by
D Bell

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No

Reviewed by
M Connor

From Ballina Mayo, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could've been better, could've been worse.
Turned up at roughly 8:15pm to check into our rooms before going out to get something to eat/drink. Everything seemed to be going well until we were shown to our rooms - the lock was stuck on one of the doors. The description of the room on the website was really quite deceiving as it was not a 5-person suite, but the top floor of the hotel with a twin and one room with a double bed and a single (presumably, as we didn't manage to get in there in the end). The "ensuite" bathroom was a small bathroom in which the flush for the toilet was broken and there was no hot water. By about 10pm (2 hours later!!) we were finally sent to another room, a private flat on the top floor. This seemed more like the description I booked for, but we still had no hot water. The rooms weren't very clean and the entire hotel seemed as if it were falling apart - the radiator falling off the wall, paintwork loosening, doorknobs loose etc. and the glasses at the bar were disgusting and appeared not to have been cleaned at all. Although we were waiting a long time for a solution, the customer service wasn't awful. In fairness, the man at reception was dealing with various other issues other customers had (which probably says something in itself about the standard of accommodation there) but often re-assured us he was working on a solution and the flat we were put up in wasn't bad at all. Wouldn't stay here again as there was more bad than good, but that's not to say it was 100% awful. In summary, you definitely get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
S Ridyard

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next