No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 182 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 52% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor communication
We booked this as we were going Alton Towers the next day and as we live 2.5 hours away thought it would be next to stay nearby. Got to the hotel to find they didn't have my booking. Turned out it wasn't a buy now pay later as originally advertised and they'd tried to take payment which declined and the hotel failed to notify me of this. They informed me there were no double rooms available! There was an other guest in reception who was refusing to stay in their room as it smelled of stale smoke so told the guy at reception if we could handle the smell, couldn't we have their room. Took us to the room and there was a smell, but it wasn't smoke, it was dirt. You could smell the filth, old and musty, the room was barely bigger than my daughters box room with a double bed in the middle of it but the assistant manager offered it to us complimentary and after driving more than 2 hours I just wanted to settle down and get something to eat. There were dinner menus and meal times in the lobby so I asked if I could take one of the menus to my room to have a look, I was told there would be no point as they weren't serving dinner at that present time!!! I asked where there was to eat and was told there was an Indian restaurant at the top of the road but that was it. In the end we had to drive to find somewhere to eat.
The next morning we ordered the small breakfast, egg, sausage, barely warmed beans and bacon that had been precooked and heated up! Just ate what we could and checked out so we could enjoy our day. Whilst at the theme park I received a call from the hotel about the mix up and was told it would be looked into.
The following day whilst at work I receive a call from a different person at the hotel regarding my stay and they fact they'd been unable to take payment. She then asked me for a card so they could take payment for my stay!!!!! I informed her it was given complimentary and the assistant manager said to speak to him if there were any problems. She appeared to be unable to understand what I was saying so then said "you stayed in our hotel 19th July and you haven't paid for the room" I informed her I was aware when I had stayed and that I hadn't paid but I had cash to pay for it but it was given to me complimentary. She then said "but you need to pay"! At that point I told her to speak to her assistant manager before calling me up.
The communication from and between this hotel is poor, it stinks, it's old but it's cheap (ish) so good for budget! I, next time, will be paying a little extra and going elsewhere!

Reviewed by
Siobhan R

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in I would not keep pigs in it and strongly advise you to drop this hotel from your list

Reviewed by
paul roberts

From hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

okish
Hotel was not doing evening meals so was looking forward to cooked breakfast that was advertised. 5 of us stayed and in the morning we got told they only had 3 sausages no bacon or anything but we could have an egg! Lol. Also no milk for cereal. Ended up going without breakfast. Rooms need updating. No cold water. Both taps ran hot!! No lemonade at bar and people swearing etc in bar. Manager was nice though

Reviewed by
derek p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy! And very bad customer service
I stayed here as it was close to alton towers and fairly cheap! I stayed here 2 years ago and i wouldn't of moaned but the hotel has gone seriously downhill! And I know you get what you pay for but it isn't even worth that!!
Firstly, the carpet in our room looked like it hasn't been hoovered in a good month.
Secondly the bathroom, the toilet wouldn't flush..the shower head didn't even fit the pipe properly. And the shower leaked..down to the other room!? Also the cold water tap came out hot. It was terrible..
Thirdly, the light switches were filthy. The walls had all dirt marks on them..
And finally the customer service. Everyone in the hotel came across very rude, we stood there for at least 5 minuets a day waiting at reception to hand our key in! Clearly they were too busy on their fag break. Then when someone finally came they just took the key, didn't say sorry or anything. And when we checked out it wasn't a "hope you had a lovely stay" "hope to see you soon" nothing like that! Just a simple "see ya' later".
I'm usually not someone to moan, but I wouldn't recmmond staying here! I know it's only a 2 star but I would stay it worst than that!!

Reviewed by
Ryan N

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
It's a basic room. Smells slightly bad, like..old. Bed was comfy enough and tv with freeview worked fine. Would only use again for same purpose which was a quick nights rest after travelling for Alton towers.

Reviewed by
maureen m

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much but our room was fine yeah it's not luxury but neither is the price you pay staff were very friendly our shower worked the bedding was clean overall pleasantly surprised after seeing other reviews :-)

Reviewed by
Leanne f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad
We stayed for a hen weekend and it was close enough for alton towers. The staff were extremely friendly! Went out their way to help us. The hotel could do with getting refurbishment. Our room was on the top floor with two rooms and a bathroom to share which didnt bother us, although we could have done with a lock on the main door not just the bedroom doors. The beds were very uncomfortable with springs digging in your back, bathroom was ok not to bad. We read some reviews and thought crikey but to us it done us fine. Its what you make it. We saw another room which was really nice but like i say we got the very top room.

Reviewed by
Louise N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel not brilliant but you cant expect 5* for the price
Receptionists not very helpful at arrival and check in. The room was okay, TV remots did not work and side buttons on side of TV were dodgy. We stayed in warm weather so it was okay but the beds did nothave a duvet on it-just a sheet. We were charged extra because we booked on Late Rooms and the fax had not been sengt through (extra £10 on double room). Location is not very good as it is situated right by a railway line and busy road so was loud at night. But like I said, you cant really expect amazibg rooms for such a low price. Would not recommend staying for more than one night though.

Reviewed by
Colin P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were lovely, effiecent and answered all our questions when we checked in. However the rooms smelt damp and were extremly basic. Beds were tiny and uncomfortable. There was also a lot of flies, and spiders in the room and bathroom.

Reviewed by
L Murray

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't recommend
When we arrived at the hotel and entered our room it didn't smell too pleasant and it was boiling! We opened the windows which aren't child proof as they open very wide and the 'child lock' can easily be broken. We went downstairs to ask for a fan with the reply that they didn't have any yet 10 minutes later we saw another couple walk upstairs holding a fan from reception! Hardly any toilet roll supplied, some rooms had none. Room was not the cleanest and bed sunk in the middle. After a not so great night we thought that we could at least enjoy a nice breakfast... We had been given the menu the night before so knew what we were having. Woke up early and walked down ready to have it to be told that the chefs hadn't turned up for work so we couldn't have anything! Ended up having to go 15 miles up the road as no where in the area served it!

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next