Reviews - Crown and Anchor

2

545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 59.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (160)

38% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Martin

  • July 2015

Very poor

The room was dirty, the mattress was unsleepable, had to put duvet on top to be able to sleep on.

The bed was in fact broken at the bottom, headboard too short for the bed. Cups were dirty, did not chance a drink. The room needs a good clean and hoover. I would not stay here again

  • s sullivan

  • June 2015

lovely staff

The staff were absolutely lovely but the first room we were put in was shabby, holes in the towels, loads of hair in the bath and broken springs in the bed.

Complained and was put into a new refurbished room. If we were put in the new room first, there would be no complaints but would definitely not stay there again because the first room was so bad, I wouldnt risk a similar thing happening and really didnt want to be there at all. Staff were absolutely lovely tho

  • Jake B

  • June 2015

......

........

  • A Wright

  • May 2015

The hotel from the outside looked very shabby old and run down, wasn't looking forward to my stay at all, got inside to the lobby it looked better, clean almost professional, till my girlfriend and I got to the room...wow shockingly bad, battered old doors, I actually fixed their windows for them whilst on my stay, floor was sloped, bed was basically snapped in the middle, then late evening to my surprise I see a mouse/rat run across the room and disappear under the bed, I wouldn't stay here again it was that bad

  • KRISTA WEBSTER

  • May 2015

Old hotel but new managment

Both rooms were clean and suitable for our needs.

The double bed in the large room sunk badly in the middle but all the others were fine. The breakfast was on the small side but the gentleman serving was cheerful and helpful. All the staff were nice which made it a very pleasant stay. The hotel is old but the new management are trying to update it and revamp the rooms as quickly as possible.

  • Luke Higgins

  • April 2015

Decent enough value, ideal for Football fans

I've stopped here on numerous occasions now as it is convenient for me to get to the Britannia Stadium on matchdays being situation only a few miles away from the stadium.

Overall, I would say it ticks the boxes in terms of what you can expect for around £20 per night. Cleanliness is always the most important factor for me I have to say I have never had an issue in that regard in all the times I've stopped here. The rooms and have always been clean and there is always plenty of towels provided which is good. I've always found as well that when I've been out for the day and returned back to the hotel at night, my bed was always been made with clean sheets and my bin has always been emptied and tea and coffee supplies refilled etc. There is only two real issues I have from my most rest stay - The sound of music playing from another room as early as 7am which must've woke a number of residents up. And the other issue which concerned me the most was the lack of a door handle on the door to my room. I found that when I wanted to leave my room, I had no other way of closing the door other than slamming it shut and getting out before it closed. This isn't practical and it something that needs to be addressed. Apart from that a decent stay and I will be returning again in the future.

  • John C

  • April 2015

I was playing in a Chess congress at Leek but couldn't find anywhere to stay there.

12 miles wasn't too far to travel though the Leek-Stoke road is infested with revenue-raising cameras. The hotel was good basic accommodation that didn't overcharge me just because I was travelling solo. Check-in and out was easy and quick and I would stay again in similar circumstances.

  • Linda M

  • April 2015

Crown and Anchor

Room was comfortable with a double and single bed in it.

Staff were friendly enough and helpful.

  • L Holloway

  • April 2015

bad

Stayed here as a stop off from alton towers.

We had 3 rooms between 7 of us, two of the rooms were ok but one of the rooms was awful. As we walked to the other room we noticed a sudden drop in temperature from the other side of the hotel. We opened the door and there was an instant foul smell. The windows in the bathroom had no blinds and there was a staircase going up the side of the building so someone could watch you in the shower/on toilet. Also, the windows in the bedroom had a massive crack in it as if someone had tried to get in which scared us so the 2 girls who were meant to stay in that room come to stay in ours because we luckily had enough beds.

The other rooms were ok, very spacious, good TV with free view channels. The first problem we came across was the toilet it didn't flush, we went to tell the lady downstairs and she was very nice but told us there was no maintenence man until tomorrow and she started looking for another room to put us in but we refused as we didn't want to risk staying in a room like the one we seen. Also, the sheets on one of the beds had a brown stain on them which made us feel as if it wasn't clean.

Overall, we had a good night sleep although there we many problems. I understand it is a cheap hotel but when you feel unsafe it ruins your stay, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • John Hattersley

  • April 2015

Cell Block Longton

Someone said hotel for contractors.

Not a contractor on arrival but felt I might have contracted something before leaving. My room (cell) had two small, very high windows only reached by standing on bed. Bed broken so it swayed. Room dirty, with bits on torn carpet, walls by bed covered in ingrained dirt. Well established cobwebs with current 'owner' alive and still working on it. Shower room filthy with broken tiles and broken light exposing electrics. Assume shower installed by Nordic Company seeking swing from cold to hot, and shower head had been replaced and did not stay in place. Sliding shower doors did not slide easily and had not been properly cleaned inside for a long time. Mattress dreadful but helped by folding quilted bedspread under bottom sheet. Bed linen and towels clean but mattress and the one pillow soiled with no mattress cover or under pillow case. Light shade above bed burned and melted (fire hazard?). Back stairs (Fire Escape Route) badly worn and torn carpet (Trip Hazard?) and Fire Door on first floor jammed open by piece of wood long after staff had left area (Fire hazard) (I removed it and door closed correctly). Car parking easy and monitored by CCTV. Back door to car park labelled as a Fire Door with request to keep closed but left open all the time with no automatic closure mechanism. As with 'The Plague' I heartily recommend avoidance.