No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear!
It looked nice in the picture,and thought it would be a nice enough place to bed down after a day at alton towers. When we arrived all tired, we were greeted by a lady at the front desk. We gave her the booking name and ref number but guess what! They had no record of it. I pulled the details of the booking confirmation up on my phone and showed them but she seemed to be insinuating that it was some how our fault and became cold with us nd move straight on to other customers.
the saving grace was that the gent who was also working managed to get us the rooms... At a different hotel about 15 mins away called the plough motel and they honored the price of crown and anchor. Yes i had to pay again so when i receive my bank statement, i shall be looking to recover the extra.
personally i would not stay here in the future.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Previous bad comments all true, the corridors were smell , a kind of unclean toilet smell, also the room was smelly, the carpet was not vacuumed and there was dust all over the TV, not much cleaning had been done at all, the only good things was clean sheets ,clean big towels and hot water , reception staff not much help and no personality, did not eat there but dining room, dismal and dark.
Ok for a good location if business is close by , low price but because of reviews I paid an extra 2 pounds for a double room , room was cold on October 8th and there were not enough covers on the bed , very basic but better than sleeping on the street .

Reviewed by
Barbara L

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not under any circumstances stay here.
When we first arrived we didn't want to leave the car on the car park for a start, as we was walking to the 'reception' all the windows were boarded up as if people were trying to break in (which was why we didn't want to leave the car). When we walked in we was hit by a disgusting smell of old ladies and stale smoke, we were given our keys and as we walked into the box/room which was supposed to be a double room we was absolutely disgusted. Cig burns in the bedding, pubes on the pillows, a huge red stain down the side of the bed, the bathroom floor was nailed down with big gaps between it, window wouldn't shut, table that was up posed to be attached to the wall just slid off, most definitely would not of used the shower! We was in the room for less than 10 minutes, turned around, gave them they beys and went and found a new hotel. Wouldn't even let my dog stay in this hotel overnight.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good..
Our room was so small that our door didnt fully open. I refused to use the bathroom as it was vile, dated and stained. We did not shower as we believed we'd of gotten dirtier by stepping into the bath tub. The shower wasnt even attached to the wall. We checked in, dropped our bags and left for about 3 hours and when we came back our kettle was roasting which was very strange...! Theres a sign asking you to leave your room key before leaving-no thanks!!! The steakhouse is not a steakhouse, its a dingy bar with creepy clientelle.

Reviewed by
N Burns

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Crown and Anchor or otherwise known as the Crown Hotel.
Arrived Sunday evening, on entering the room Number 221 I knew that this was a very poor quality Hotel but didn't realise just how poor it was going to be, the pungent smell of cigarette smoke hung in the air, I looked around the room and the Dacorum was old and tired there were damp patches on the wall and the wall paper was starting to fall of the wall at the joints, the bedroom furniture was cheap Formica from the 1980's and not in good condition, the TV was from the same era and with a 10 inch screen and a 20 inch back, the room was en suite, the bathroom suite was a light brown colour with a white toilet seat making it look darker than it was there were cigarette burns all a long the top of the bath edge where people had been placing there cigarettes on the edge while on the toilet, there were no towels or bath mat available in the room and the lack of cleanness put me off having a shower, I decided to go to bed, I pulled back the throw over and unveiled a brown blanket and sheets, I then pulled back the blanket and top sheet to reveal a bottom sheet you could see the colour and pattern of the mattress, as it was now late and I had drove 200 miles plus to get there I was very tired and got into bed the mattress had no padding and I could feel every spring, I lay there most of the night thinking what beasts where crawling over me and if I did drop off I was soon woken by a spring poking me in the back or side etc. I went to work the next day and spoke to other colleagues at work they all knew of the Hotel and said that they knew it was as bad as I said, I was given another number for a pub with rooms at £13.50 cheaper per night and a 100% better quality than the Crown Hotel, as it was past check out time I had to suffer another night in the Crown, that night (Monday) I spoke to the receptionist Nick Kay and made some excuse that my work had finished early and hade to return to Kent early, I was sure that they would not be able to give me a room of a better standard, I asked to be refunded the 3 nights I would not be staying and he informed me that he was unable to do a refund but the accountant would do it in the morning, as I booked on line he would have my card details to do the refund, he gave me a receipt for the two nights and I went to my room, the next day I rang the Hotel to confirm my refund and the same receptionist Nick Kay told me the account had my details and that he would be doing the refund in due course as he had a few to do, I rang the Hotel on the Wednesday and spoke to the Accountant who told me that it was company policy to not give refunds, I told him I was erasures by there receptionist that I would get a refund, otherwise I wouldn't have check out and paid for another hotel, I also informed him that under the supply of goods and services act 1982 I was entitled to be refunded the 3 nights I had not received there goods or services for. I rang back later that day and spoke to a Manager whom I explained the situation to he told me he would investigate the issue and would get back to me in 24 hour, I then receive an email from the Hotel Manager saying that because I booked through Laterooms.com where it states that there are no refunds or transfers at this Hotel, and all further correspondence must be through Laterooms.com, I spoke to Laterooms and was told that nothing could be done if the Hotel don't admit that the receptionist had told me that I would receive a refund, it is now 4 days later and no one has contacted me in relation to my refund, I have now logged a purchase dispute with my credit card company as under the consumer act 1974 the credit card company take joint responsibility for any purchase made with the card over £100. I hope to get my refund one way or another, but would highly recommend that nobody stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Mills

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check reviews before you book
I booked last minute and it was cheaper than travelodge, holiday inn etc in the area BUT not a pleasant experience. I recognised our room from other peoples description so no improvements have been made by the owner. Neglected and dirty. Hotel Inspectior should be brought in, though in all honesty a hostel would be a better description. Would never stay again.

Reviewed by
Mary F

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever!!
Dirty smelly room! No room to move inside the room.
Faulty electrics, the light blew above the bed when turned on, the TV turned on and off by it's self and when it did stay on the picture would go black and just get sound. The carpets were all coming up and the wallpaper all bubbles and hanging off the walls.
The room had an awful smell but we were unable to undo the window as it was hanging from one hinge. He mattress was filthy and springs poking out, the shower trickled out and fell off when touched, I felt dirty after having a shower!
I wouldn't put my worst enemy through that experience! Tried to complain to the hotel manager and no such luck

Reviewed by
Harriett R

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uni drop off !!!
Good value for money twin room . Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jeanette Andrew

From Ferndown, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somebody forgot the cleaners
Very very basic. For the cheap price I'd at least expect the last guest's rubbish to have been cleared away and to have had bed sheets. Instead I had to bring in my own duvet and sheets and pillows/pillowcases, and clear away the rubbish. Had no cups as the dirty ones were still there. Was too tired to complain at the time, but definitely not even worth the price for the night. Guy on reception was nice though.

Reviewed by
Abigail G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely disgusted there were previous stayers underpants between our sheets the radiator was on full in august and the bath tap would not turn off

Reviewed by
Katie Y

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next